We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked with Thomsons for the Dreamliner, this wasn't available on the way there but was on the way back. We had booked 2 superior twin rooms and ended up in the Maridadi wing with adjacent rooms. The staff are so amazingly friendly, and we decided to tip at the end of our stay this did not affect the service we received (as we had experienced in Cuba) they still carried on providing exceptional service. The waiters, waitresses and chefs in the Maridadi restaurant were fantastic, especially Sammy the chef (always smiling).
Plenty of pools to choose from, each one a little different so something for everyone. Our favourite was the Baobab pool.
Never in my life have I seen so many people taking part in organised activities as I did here, even though it was so hot.
We went to the beach a few times and did chat to the beach boys, ended up buying some items from them, you soon learn to be firm with them. The water was lovely and warm but I would recommend some footwear to go in the sea.
The monkeys are very entertaining, especially the baboon who walks round like he owns the place, just be careful round them they are wild animals.
I am someone who is attractive to mosquitos as is my dad, so we were very pleased to leave with only 3 bites each (and we think some of those were ant bites).
Although my phone was forecasting rain for everyday we were there we only saw 1 short shower. I would recommend November as a brilliant time of year to go.
We did all our excursions through JT Safaris (reviewed separately) couldn't say enough positive comments about him and his team and it meant we got to keep our rooms whilst out on safari.
I wouldn't normally return to the same place twice but this place really captured my heart, I didn't want to come home, and I would love to go back. I loved the place, the food, the people, the rooms, the weather and yes the entertainment is a little cheesy and mimed but still good fun to go and watch.
Thank you for our best holiday ever!

Room Tip: 2206 and 2207 get a pool view and a glimpse of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    213
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
201
568
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Baobab beach resort in April with my husband and baby. We stayed at the Kole kole resort and it was breathtakingly beautiful!
Although it was an off peak season an extremely rainy, we absolutely enjoyed the beauty and serenity of the hotel.
First off the room was extremely gorgeous and well designed with two four poster beds and all the furniture In a natural wooden design.
I was extremely impressed with the cleanliness which is saying something as I am a clean freak!
What amazed me was that all the rooms were cleaned and aired even though they were not used and because of that, when we needed to change our room to the ground floor, it could be done do immediately without need of the room being 'prepared'.
It being a dusty country, I was amazed that there wasn't a speckle of dust even on the white cloth that draped the four poster beds!!
Wasn't amazed at the design of the bathroom which was incorporated in to the bedroom design but points for creativity there!!

Food was extremely fresh and tasty and amazing. Everything from the fruit and starters down to the delicious and creative desserts! Just watch out for the baboons and monkeys who decide to make sudden appearances and startle guests during their meals (although they are usually taken care of quickly from the watch guards)!!
The beach was clean and empty and breathtakingly beautiful (and we didn't encounter any beach boys insisting us to buy goods which was a refreshing change!) and the pools were brilliantly clean. The Kole kole has we didn't encounter too many a spectacular infinity pool and beautiful views!! Would only wish it was a heated pool for certain times of the year!
Beautiful place that I would totally recommend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely staff always smiley. Food ok, not 5 star, but something for everyone, yes repetitive as per other reviews but you'll always find something. A few instances of deli belly when we were there , personally think it could of been the rice. Beach boys not too much of a problem, just be nice to them and firm. Safari we booked with thompsons and their operator being Pullmans, we had the most wonderful driver called Dawood, informative, knowledgable and loves his country , this made it for us. The lodges we stayed in with Thompson whilst in spectacular surroundings we're basic and food dire but then we weren't on safari for the food or lodgings! I would recommend the hotel for sure as a package holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel and spa is is located in the centre of three hotels, you can use all three. They all have a beautifully clean pool and resturant. Good location, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, excellent food and good entertainment. All rooms are well presented, set in beautiful gardens and most have sea veiws.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have recently returned from a week long trip to Baobab, and therefore only spent 4 nights there after our safari. On arriving the hotel staff made check in very painless and we were quickly shown to our rooms and left to explore. The room we were given was large, with two twin beds, despite booking a double, nice big bathroom and a small balcony overlooking the beach or a place to watch the monkeys which roam the resort.

We then explored the resort which is huge, actually made up of 3 separate resorts. There is 3 different pools, our favourite at the miridadi is 3 infinity pools split over 3 levels all with views of the sea, the bottom pool even has a swim up bar. The other pools were also nice, however we found that during the day they played annoying music and had aqua aerobics etc which was a bit 'Brits on tour' for us. However the hotel is that large that you can move away from it and find a nice relaxing spot.

When it came to the evening we had 3 restaurants to choose from that are in the all inclusive package. We found that they were all very similar with buffet style food in a variety of styles. However it is worth noting that 2 of these restaurants require gentlemen to wear trousers which caught me out on the first night. But overall the food was nice and plenty to choose from.

Throughout our stay the staff were amazing, very friendly and always willing to help out, having booked with Thompsons we also found their rep very helpful providing us with lots of useful information on places to go and also explaining the tipping culture in Kenya.

Overall the hotel was really nice with all the facilities and good food. The staff are friendly and it was a nice place to spend a week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have just come back after a second time at Baobab and would like to thank all the staff for another remarkable holiday. From the time we arrived we was treated remarkably well .I would like to say a big thankyou to Mamma Africa .The Jambo Team all the guys in the reasturant and Bars especially Robinson on his explicite Service to us everyday, his happy smile every time he greeted us one of the nicest people we have ever meet .The only issue we had while we was there was how 1 guest decided she was going to complain about everything she could find to complain about .The german lady should know after visiting the resort for so many years that if she requires peace and quiet then there is a quiet pool for her to bathe by .Also the Jambo team work extremly hard to keep the guests happy and they dont need or deserve the grief they get from this guest .Keep up the good work guys we hope to see you all again next year Love to you all. Ian, Cheryl& Ben Broughton Tony&Haley Broughton Room 321&322 .The Creme de la Creme of Diani Beach

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely no tips needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Well, what can I say other than amazing. We booked this holiday for our 30th wedding anniversary and certainly wasn't disappointed! After 2 nights in a more basic room (far from basic), we went out on safari and returned to complete our holiday, for this we upgraded, and again we weren't disappointed. All the staff were extremely cheerful and nothing was to much bother for anyone, food was amazing, always plenty of choice. Amazing holiday and we will be returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.