We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Bucharest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Together with my wife I spent five days in this resort at the end of 2012-beginning of 2013.
There are three areas in this resort: Kole Kole that was populated mostly by Italians, Maridadi and the Baobab areas where stayed especially German and British people. Each one has its own swimming pool, bar and restaurant but you can move freely between them.
We stayed in the Baobab zone in bungallow and the room was very cosy and clean.
The service at the restaurants and bars is not bad, but with a tip of 1$ or 100 shillings you will see improvemets. In spite of 90% occupancy rate, the bars and restaurants were not crowded. The food and the beverages (even the local ones) were not bad at all.
The landscape is amazing, especially from the Kole Kole area where the swimming pool seems to enter the ocean.
The new year's eve night was very nice, starting with an ellegant gala dinner and followed by a wonderftul beach party till the dawn.
The animation team was not perfect, still they managed to keep our attention. They have to do more for a bettter evening animation (they usually left us alone on the disco after 23 in order to catch the bus to the city) and also with sport activities.
All in all, we had a pleasant stay and the Baobab resort, so it is a place to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    224
    55
    16
    5
See reviews for
210
592
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a super duper holiday at the Baobab Beach Resort. The rooms are spacious and very very clean, gardens immaculate, food good, pools second to non. The safari was superb, and the three lodges were first class accomodation. The driver on the safari could not have been more helpful, and all in all we had a superb time. We would recommend this resort and the safari to anyone. The beach boys were very friendly, and the first day we got friendly with Eddie and Sabastian who ensured we did not get pestered with the others, as we purchased from them, and gave them t-shirts, trainers and other clothes of which they were very grateful. We would not return to Kenya purely for the fact they we like to see other places around the world, not any other reason. If you are thinking of going to the Baobab then book it you will not be dissapointed, we met some lovely people, and all in all a FAB time was had

Room Tip: We had a garden room and this was in beautiful grounds, around a 5 minute walk from reception, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from our two week trip on the Best of Kenya Safari and Hotel stay. I am stuck for words, it is so hard to say what a wonderful place the Baobab is. The staff are wonderful cannot help enough, the food is brilliant there is something for everyone, and I am a fussy person. I went for two massages and was really relaxed afterwards the young lady who attended to me was Veronica she was very good. The entertainment was very good we had walks along the beach and I must say did not feel uncomfortable at all. The monkeys and baboons are really entertaining the young are so cute. like all animals they are just looking for food, I did not find them a nuisance I found them really pleasing. We had a room attendant called Andrew he was a pleasure to have around, the room was spotless and he was very nice he made sure that we had milk tea and coffee we stay in rooms 107 and 108 on the Baobab. On one occasion we had left our safe open and he got in touch with reception to let us know what a star. The ambience at the hotel is wonderful I cannot say how pleased I was with my stay. The staff from the meet and greet to the pool staff are wonderful. Well done Baobab will definitely stay with you again hopefully next year. The Thomson Rep Andrew is brilliant He went out of his way to make sure my Grand daughter was ok whilst in hospital there, he also managed to get her camera battery and charger back for her as she had left it at Lion Hill Lodge what a wonderful young man. Thank you one and all. The shops at the Baobab are great some of them will Barter with you for their goods which is really good. Some are fixed price so you pay what they ask for. Go to the ones that Barter as you can get your gifts for a good price. Cannot wait to return to the Baobab.

Room Tip: We had rooms very close to the reception area, it could be a little noisy in the evening as you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got back yesterday after two weeks at the Baobab as a single traveller. Not a great location if you are hoping to meet up with other single travellers but I was very lucky and made some great friends with people travelling as families and couples.

The location on the beach is second to none but the beach boys hassle to the point of being intimidating which means that the vast majority of people do not go on the beach and for this reason I will not return to the hotel. I have spoken with other travellers who have advised on other hotels which do not have this problem so my advice to the hotel is get this sorted.

The hotel is immaculate with lovely trees and flowers. Lovely friendly and homely atmosphere. The fact that the resort has three hotels may make it sound a big resort but in reality it is three sections to one hotel with everything very compact. The only other gripe I have about the hotel is that it has limited areas for a nice walk given the fact that the marketing brochure makes it sound as though it is situated on a vast amount of land. I had hoped to perhaps be able to do walks or cycles but that was not an option.

The room again was lovely. Large bed but very hard which seemed to be a common complaint with others. I think that Kenya prefers hard mattresses as I stayed in three other lodges on safaris and it was the same issue (but my only gripe). The view from the balcony is blocked by trees but to be honest the sound of the sea is still strong and I loved the jungle feel of the trees.

Animals - you will see plenty of monkeys, baboons, bush babies, large lizard, nice birds just around the hotel. Word of warning, be careful when leaving your doors open as the monkeys will come in and snatch stuff. they also sometimes get cheeky and come into the restaurant but there is a guy who tries to keep them out. some guests were feeding the monkeys which does not help the situation. Cute to look at but remember if you get scratched or bitten you need to do the whole rabies and hospital stuff.

Swimming pools are great and no problem with being too cold. All were great. Aqua aerobics in the morning was great. Occasional organised beach walks. Some fab shows at 9.30 pm which give you a sense of African dance and music. Great Massai market one day and then Massai dancing that evening.

In summary, I could not fault anything (sorry food was also delicious!!!!! and plenty of options so you won't go hungry. Everything was great but my only reason to not return is the beach boys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in August after booking through Hayes & Jarvis who arranged all transfers to and from Mombasa airport. The journey from the airport was long as there were long queues at the Likoni ferry. Don't let this put you off as it is a great experience to see the real Mombasa.

Hotel - the hotel is made up up three hotels really. The Kole Kole which seemed more family orientated with games in the infinity pool etc, the Baobab situated in the middle of the complex and the quieter Maridadi wing with its 3 tier pool and swim up bar. We used the Maridadi pool the whole of the time and found the Maridadi restaurant easy for breakfast and lunch too. We ate in the main Baobab restaurant in the evenings and found the food superb with a huge choice every night from salads, pastas, meats, fish, vegetables, curry dishes, soups and toasted baguettes followed by a large selection of deserts and fruit- the fresh pineapple is to die for!! Our room was huge and cleaned daily. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room although we didn't always have enough milk. Do make sure you keep your patio doors closed as those monkeys will come in any small gap and help themselves to the sugar and coffee sachets! We took plenty of 100ksh notes (about 75p) to leave as tips to the staff. However, there are so many staff that we hardly ever saw the same person twice so to tip at the end of the week didn't really work. There is a staff tip box in reception which we used at the end of the holiday to reward all staff as they all work extremely hard for what we would consider low wages. "Jambo" to them all as they were all so happy and friendly.

The Beach Boys- lots of people have commented on the lads on the beach. Our strategy was to chat to them on the first day and make a 'deal' with one of them-Daniel- to go to his shop and buy a gift or two at the end of our holiday in return for being left alone! This worked well as when someone else came up to us we could say that we were dealing with Daniel and they left us alone. The boys all seem to work with each other as a co-operative. We even saw an official inspector who makes sure there are not too many boys at one time and that they're abiding by rules set. Please remember that these lads are only trying to earn a living and we spent a pleasant morning walking along the beach with 'The Captain', Emanuel chatting about Kenya and his life. It was a real eye opener to hear about the hardships they face. We bought a couple of souvenirs from the boys at the end of the week and even swapped a couple of football shirts for some carved wooden animals!

Orphanage- please find some time in your holiday to visit a local school or orphanage. We contacted Kerry Watson at Footprints orphanage in Shimba Hills before we arrived in Kenya. She collected us from our hotel and we spent a really moving and enjoyable day with the children. We took 2 suitcases full of clothes, toys, sports equipment, books and educational supplies - Kenya airways allows each person 2 cases at 23kg each so plenty of luggage allowance to take supplies! I gather that other airlines will do the same if you contact them and say why you need higher luggage allowance. Seeing these children's happy smiling faces was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Safari- while in the UK we booked a 3 night/4day safari through Hayes & Jarvis to Tsavo East and West, Amboseli and Taita Hills run by Pollmans. We shared our 7 seater van with just one other couple which gave us all plenty of room. The lodges we stayed at were great. All provided towels and 2 of the 3 lodges had hair dryers. Voi safari lodge had the most spectacular view from the room that I had ever seen, it was breathtaking to see and the elephants at the watering hole were wonderful, especially when viewed from the eye level tunnel next to the watering hole. Don't worry about footwear as you don't leave your safari vehicle during the game drives unless you visit Mzima Springs where you have a 1km walk to the water. Most of the safari drivers have CB radios so they can let each other know where the animals are. We had some wonderful game drives, especially the before breakfast ones. Don't expect to see rhinos as we were told there are only rhinos in the rhino sanctuary at the moment. Whenever you stop on route, for example on entering a park or waiting for a guided escort, local people come up to the safari cars with goods and souvenirs to sell. If you want to buy, always barter, a good rule of thumb is only pay about one third of their first asking price. Also we were able to reduce the price by giving a couple of football tops as part payment- they also asked us for shoes!

All in all a fantastic holiday and I'm already looking forward to returning hopefully next year to do another safari at the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow what an amazing place. Stayed here for Christmas and New Year. Staff were always very helpful and welcoming. Everyone was greeted with a "Jambo". It was an ideal place to relax and spend quality time together. The way that you are looked after and the staff take every step to make sure that you are not pestered by the cheeky monkeys. The gala dinner on New Year's Eve was phenomenal with over 1km of food stalls. We were greeted by all the staff at the resort as we entered the dinning area. Breakfast was always a relaxed affair, with no problems at all in getting what we wanted to eat. The same can be said for the dinners as well.

New Year's Eve party on the beach with a fire and limited fireworks was really good.

We paid for a four hour spa session as a couple. It was really nice to have the treatments in the same room as each other, and the staff were very professional at all times. It was extremely good value for money.

IF we weren't the kind of travellers that like to stay somewhere different each time we would certainly be back.

The service was great, the safari we went on over the Christmas period was awesome.

This resort is a must stay, and the best holiday we have ever had. Will always look back fondly on this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughters and I spent a great week at the Kole Kole. The reception and service we received there was warm and friendly. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and spacious with great garden and sea views. There were lots of activities for the girls and I throughout the day. The menu was varied from day to day and the meals were really good. I recommend it to anyone who's looking for an all inclusive establishment. We'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.