We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the Maridadi wing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in the Maridadi wing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent 'all-in' hotel. Great service, great food, great location, magnificent views !
We stayed in the Deluxe room in the Maridadi wing and it was worth the upgrade. Spacious room and bathroom. Big terrace with great view on the beach.
Different swimming pools spread over the Resort as well as bars and restaurants. We liked the Maridadi section since much 'calmer' than the Baobab section. I don't think I would have get the same experience and satisfaction in the Baobab part (rooms look rather small), but the area if splendid all over the resort.
Local people immediately address you when you put 1 foot on the beach but they are polite (even if they will not hesitate to insist) and if you tell them a couple of times in a calm & polite way that you are not interested they will leave you alone.
The food is good and the staff is excellent.
We even could get a late check-out (gathering together in 1 of our 2 rooms till 3 pm) without any cost.

Room Tip: If you like a more calm area go for the Maridadi part. If you like a more 'mass' feeling an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    224
    55
    16
    5
See reviews for
210
593
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are a family of seven from three generations and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Baobab. The setting is glorious with the hotel grounds going down to the beach, a long spacious white sandy beach and warm sea. Swimming is fine when the tide is higher- at low tide there is coral underfoot so best to wear beach shoes. With 5 swimming pools to choose from this isn't a problem. The beach sellers are quite persistent when you first arrive but are less so as your holiday progresses. Be polite, firm and walk on!

The staff. are helpful and kind and there is plenty of discreet security. There are lots of beautiful trees in the grounds which are home to the colobus and other monkey species. The babies are a delight. Keep your bags zipped up on the sunbeds as the monkeys can unzip bags easily and are very partial to any food and malarone! Please don't feed them! The staff are vigilant about chasing them off!

The rooms are spacious and clean with either two singles or a double bed. The bathrooms are perfectly adequate but could do with a little updating. You do need to keep your doors and windows shut to keep the monkeys out. Rooms are cleaned every day provided you put out the green sign. If you don't, the room will not be cleaned.

The food is superb- especially good are the curries! There are lots of foods being cooked in front of you such as fish, meat, kebabs, pasta as well as prepared dishes. The tables are beautifully laid and different every night. Alcoholic drinks are pretty good, house white wine mediocre but house red quite good.

Plenty of activities during the day- I did keep fit, stretching and a dance class most days whilst the guys joined in the water polo and volley ball. If you want to be quiet- plenty of opportunity round the quieter pools.

Five of us had a massage- all rated five star by us and very reasonably priced.

We went on a safari for 3 days. Ignore the literature which says the drive is 21/2 to 3 hours- it is actually 5-6 hr drive but worth it!

In summary- a great hotel in a beautiful location with lots of good facilities. Don't hesitate to go!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

this was our second visit to The Baobab and it was just as good as the first time. Hotel is kept in an immacutate condition and spotlessly clean. There seems to be endless places you sit have a drink or just watch the world go by. The place overall has a very laid back feel with the activities kept low key with the exception of the water polo which is pure entertainment! and only takes place for 30 minutes each day. There are 3 buffet resturants that are spread over the complex all with views of pools and beach. Food is excellant with a large choice at every meal. Service overall at the hotel is faultless with staff striving to ensure your holiday. The entertainment team are in a league of their own! their evening shows are great especialy Lion King, Mama Mia and the acrobat night, David as the wart hog is so funny! Day activities are run by them as well Pepe tring to teach my husband salsa must have been the challenge of a lifetime! if you never joined in have a go because it was fun. Thank you Pepe for your patients and humour :-)
We got a taxi from the airport £63 return well worth it to get there ahead of the others, we were in our room and by the pool before the coach had arrived!
Overall Staff and hotel were great would go back tomorrow. If the manager ever reads these reports please give your staff a pat on the back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

All positive reviews about this hotel turned out to be 100% true. Hotel is located in a tropical garden on a wee cliff, overlooking Indian Ocean - the views are just amazing! Rooms are spacious, lovely decorated even the basic ones - no to mention that we got a free upgrade to Kole Kole wing after returning from our safari. There are 3 restaurants (plus 2 a la carte restaurants) and 3 bars to choose from - food is varied and delicious. Staff is super friendly - nothing is a problem for them. Everyone greets you with a big smile and a obligatory "Jambo" even at 6am. There are lots of acitivities to choose from - tennis, archery, volleyball, water polo, aqua aerobics, darts, table tennis, windsurfing, snorkeling etc. Even the evening entertaniment was not too bad and I'm usually not a huge fan of such things. The highlights: infinity pool, cheeky monkeys stealing food (they really don't bother people, you just have to be careful and not leave your food laying around) and friendliness of the staff. And last but not least safari organised by Pollmans, but that requires a separate review. This was by far the best holiday of my life & Baobab Resort ot only met but also exceeded my expectations. I would love to come back one day...

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit more money go for the Kole Kole wing. Rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned after two weeks of stress wondering if I will be able to get a sunbed around the pool.We traveled with Thomson flying premium class (total waste of money) paid for the most expensive room (superior Meridadi) lovely room with great veiw of the early morning bribes to the pool attendants for extra towels and sunbed reservations.One night we witnessed 19 towels on sunbeds at 7 pm ready for the morning,this was reported to reception and our Thomson rep they were removed to be replaced with magazines.Couples were slipping the pool attendents a few Ksh to get two extra towels so they could reserve a couple of beds by the pool and a couple of beds down by the beach, where they would spend most of the day returning for the last hour by the pool.This was reported to the managment not only by myself but two other couples, nothing done or any feed back.This is the 4th time I have been to Diani beach, all differant hotels but this is the first time I have been all inclusive.The bar staff expect tips every round and I still felt like a second class citizen asking for a drink of watered down beer served in a half pint mug containing half of it froth.I don't think they got the all inclusive bit right, in Mexico,Jamacia 5 star hotels for the same price all inclusive means international brands mini bar all free served in decent size glasses with a smile.I will definitely go half board again if I return to Kenya.The food quality leaves a lot to be desired, but that is the same right across Kenya.As for Thomsons this is definitely the last time we will travel with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Baobab is paradise, from arrival after a long journey we arrived weary but were welcomed with songs and dancing and a cocktail from the staff. Smooth check in and lovely rooms. My sister was married here during our first week and the staff were so lovely and accommodating, the restaurant was even opened just for us to eat after the service. Nothing is too much trouble for staff here, we went on beach walks, played games in the bar and loved the Jambo Jambo welcome song which they sung every morning. Baboons a bit of a pain but the hotel was built on their home. Kenya is beautiful and its such a same that the pirates gave the country such bad press but we were never in any danger at all. The hotel is well equipped with three pools and a swim up bar. Food is amazing and so much choice all the time, all fresh and certain meals cooked whilst you wait. Fab views and set by the white beach, If you do go for a beach walk, just beware of the Beach Boys, they do tend to follow and accost you quite a bit which can be a little off putting but they are nice people who show an interest in you and where you have travelled from.

We tried the glass bottomed boat trip and the snorkelling which the hotel arranged from the water sports section. Cats round the bar which was nice and lots of places to relax and chill out.

Entertainment every night regardless of the weather and the staff worked tirelessly for us all holiday, we were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Baobab after a long flight and long transfer to the resort due to being caught up in the aftermath of the ferry accident.We was greeted with a much needed wet cloth and a drink, we was then alocated our room which was an upgrade to a superior room.The hotel is awesome and the staff were fantastic, always happy and cheerfull.After a couple of nights we had to check out of our room as we were going on a two day safari (this is our only complaint.because we booked the Safari through Thompson as part of the package deal we had to check out and loose our room, however if we had booked the Safari when we arrived through either Thompson or a local provider, then we would not have had to check out.Also we think we would have saved a few pounds along the way).

On returning to the hotel we was given a standard room (still nice) with a sea view.The food choice was excellent, with plenty of choice and three resteraunts to choose from, we tended to stay in the Kole Kole side of the hotel as the Mrs prefered the infinity pool and it was a bit livelier with aquafit, waterpolo and various other activities going on throughout the day. The entertainment team where the best we have ever seen both through the day and the nightime performances.

All in all a fantastic holiday, time now to save and go back soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.