We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Baobab Beach Resort and Spa is a wonderful hotel set in a beautiful location we stayed at the Baobab from the 10th to the 24th July

Booked before we left the UK we took an amazing 4 day 3 night safari to Tsavo East, West and Amboseli with Shadrack and Glorious Safaris (see separate review) this also gave us the added advantage of not having to check out of our hotel room.

The hotel itself is spread out around 3 areas, the Baobab which is the main area, the Maridadi the quiet part and the Kole Kole area which is more family orientated. Each area has its own pool and the grounds and gardens are all nicely kept immaculately clean and tidy and everything looks very well looked after.
Our hotel room, in the Baobab section of the hotel was very nice and spacious with a balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean. There was air con, a mini fridge, dressing table, hair dryer, TV and large comfy king size bed, along with a little sitting area. The en-suite has shower gel and shampoo and lots of hot water. Perfect for us, no need to upgrade.

There are 5 restaurants in total, spread out around the resort two of which are A la Carte so you have to pay extra (but you do get a hotel guest 20% discount)
We mainly ate breakfast and lunch in the Maridadi restaurant, which had a lovely atmosphere and our waiter, the “Lovely Jubbly” Justin who really looked after us, he always had a huge smile and made us feel welcome. Our evening meals we ate at the main Karibu restaurant, again a lovely atmosphere, look out for the bush baby who visits in the roof rafters about 8.30pm on most evenings, so cute. Food was fantastic and there was lots of choice it felt like such a luxury having a full buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food choice is amazing, all freshly prepared, the red snapper fish is delicious.
The food choice changed daily with different themes, so there is always something good to eat. Compliments must go to Brian (wye aye man!) and his wonderful team of chefs who all produce such a brilliant selection of food every day. All the staff in the restaurants cannot do enough for you and are always happy and smiling. We found all the hotel staff including the lovely security guard at the main reception polite, helpful and friendly, we always said good morning to them in Swahili and they were over the moon that we made a little effort and taught us a new Swahili word every day, Fantastic.


The Monkey's are amusing, amazing, mischievous and hilarious. They are so cheeky and gave us a good laugh every day. Don’t leave anything lying around because they will have it, they rake through unattended beach bags looking for snacks and tip over fizzy drinks and lap them up greedily. Make doubly sure that you keep your balcony doors shut because they will try and get in your room. They will also pinch the food right out of your hands, especially the doughnuts served with the afternoon tea and coffee. Not everyone liked them, and some people got annoyed, but after all it is their home/habitat we are visiting. I loved them and would watch them for hours and I thought the Colobus monkeys were magnificent.

The hotel’s animation team, who work really hard to keep guests entertained, really do an excellent job. They carry out various activities during the day from Swahili lessons, aerobics and archery, then put together whole mini shows on a night. We went to a couple of shows at the amphitheatre and thought they were very good, especially the lion King and Mamma Mia.

The beach is amazing white sand and warm turquoise water, you’ll be mad not to visit it. The beach boys are there just desperately trying to make a living, I agree with another reviewer Kim-Marie R, that “just remember that they will never in their life time have the sort of money that you or I will spend going to the Baobab for one holiday”. We are so rich compare to them, please don’t let them put you off going to the beach, they just want to be friendly and make a living to put some food on their table at the end of the day. We had a lot of fun with them and they took us on a lovely walk along the beach, pointing out some of the marine wildlife, we were polite to them and they were polite and friendly back to us. At no point did we feel intimidated, hassled or threatened. We visited their “supermarket” and had a lot of fun haggling with them; we didn’t pay anything we didn’t feel was reasonable and had no problems at all. We even, after buying most of our souvenirs from them, gave them our old t-shirts, old sandals and toiletries at the end of our holiday, they did not want to take them as gifts so we exchanged them for some small items.

Kenya is an amazing holiday destination, great climate, amazing wildlife and great people.
Please feel free to ask me any questions; I’ll be more than happy to respond.
Jane

Room Tip: Visit the spa and have a massage. I had one of the best massages there and I would definately recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    224
    56
    16
    5
See reviews for
210
593
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What to say about this hotel..........my friend and I stayed there for 2 weeks in June, (we have travelled extensively and can honestly say the Baobab is the best hotel we have EVER stayed in, for service, food, hospitality, position, cleanliness there is nothing negative to say about this beautiful hotel. We had booked our safari from the UK with JTSAFARIS that is JULIUS TACT SAFARIS IN THE LITTLE ORANGE HUT the service we received from julius was incredible nothing was too much trouble, and believe me we did give him a few headaches....it was an amazing experience from start to finish, please see my review for julius on tripadvisor. If you are considering a holiday in kenya go to the BAOBAB you will not be disappointed,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My daughter and I had an amazing two week holiday at the Baobab and we will certainly be returning.
Before we left the UK we had booked a 4 day / 3 night Safari with JT Safaris which was absolutely fantastic. This also gave us the added advantage of not having to check out of our hotel room. I have written a separate review for our Safari.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to the Maridadi and had a lovely spacious room. The Hotel has 3 main areas: Baobab which is lively, the Maridadi which is quieter and more relaxed and the Koli Koli which is popular with the Italians and more family orientated. All 3 offer the same food in the “all inclusive” restaurants which is of high standard with plenty of choice. The Animation team offer a variety of activities during the day and evening but they are not pushy and if you want to be left alone a polite no thank you is accepted.
I agree with LincolnshireFoodie’s review of the hotel and also the beach. We wish we’d had the courage to go on the beach earlier in our holiday, it is really beautiful. The beach boys do come and talk to you and of course they want to try to make you buy but they are friendly and polite and will take no for an answer.
The monkeys are hilarious and they will steal your drinks and food and if you leave your balcony door open they will come into your room. I get cross when reading the reviews by people who have complained about them. If you don’t like animals living in their own habitat save your money and go to a zoo!
Tips we would have found useful:
•Make sure you use your mosquito repellent, we missed one day for just 15 minutes and were bitten over 20 times.
•Shop around and barter for your purchases, we had good fun trying and think we got some good bargains!
•Don’t worry about taking USD for the airport they accept GBP and KES.
•We got our visas prior to travelling but this did not save us any time at the airport as the majority of people hadn’t and ended up costing us more with postage.
•We took pens, pencils, crayons and footballs and visited a local orphanage - we wished we’d taken more!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Baobab late January/early February this year so this review is a bit delayed but I felt it necessary to write now after reading some of the recent reviews.

We were fortunate enough to stay in the Maridadi Wing, the room was just beautiful - large and well decorated. It was cleaned every day and replenished with fresh bottled water, small touches like putting down the plug holes in the bathroom to stop insects coming up make all the difference. I agree that the mattresses can bit a little hard, we asked for a cover to help but instead they changed the mattress for a softer one - all you have to do is ask.

One thing that I think they do need to address is that we were under the impression that the Maridadi pool is the quiet pool, we had to ask a couple of children to be quiet (their parents had left them and gone to their room) - we weren't being grumpy - if they want to play then there are other areas and a children's pool, we were three adults together that wanted to read, listen to music and relax.

We ate in the Karibu restaurant mostly as it had a lovely atmosphere and the food was just amazing, nothing was too much trouble for the incredibly hard working staff. We heard a couple of people being rude to them and it just beggars belief really - they work so hard for so very little and have to take everything with a smile. We have nothing but praise for them, we were warmly welcomed every day with a smile and the service we received was excellent.

The beach boys are there just trying to make a living, just remember that they will never in their life time have the sort of money that you will spend going to the Baobab for one holiday - we were polite to them and received the same treatment back. At no point did we feel intimidated.

The monkeys - you have to remember where you are and behave accordingly. We saw people actually putting out food on the tables for the monkeys so that they could take photographs when they leapt on to the tables to take it and then screaming when they did! It's people like that that encourage the monkeys - it's not their fault they're being taught bad manners by stupid people and the monkeys then think that everyone has food for them. Apparently the hotel can fine people if they see people putting put out for the monkeys, perhaps they need to start enforcing that. Tip - don't have fruit in your drinks as I think that attracts them, it worked for us.

We had booked a trip to Masai Mara staying at Governors Camp with JT Safaris (separate review), this outfit is professionalism personified - book with them and you will be well looked after.

The resort itself is just stunning, with white sand and azure clear blue. Everywhere we went we were greeted with 'jambo' and welcome 'karibu' - if you have already booked then you will have a great time - if not what are you waiting for, you won't regret it?!

We hope very much to go back one day but it's a big old world out there and we have other places we want to see so for now we will look back and remember Baobab with very happy memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Well we were expecting a very relaxing holiday after reading the reviews for this hotel. Recommended for honeymooners and couples for a relaxing peaceful holiday experience......not.
We were shown to our upgraded room in the Maradadi part of the complex and we were very pleased with the accomodation. The first 2 days were idyllic. Pure peace then the 145 teenagers arrived from Nairobi and decided that after sleeping off the excesses of the night before would all descend on the Maradadi pool area where they would transfer the supposed quiet area of the complex into the latest addition to the 18-30 brochure. It was intolerable, they were abusive to both staff and fellow guests, very intimidating,rude and above all noisy. After several complaints made by numerous guests the sole total action taken by the management was to put up a 400mm square sign on a stand placed at the poolside of the Maridadi pool bar area saying 'Quiet Area' this was duly ignored and the guests forced to endure the noise or move to other areas of the complex. We were told that they would be leaving on the 4th July which would leave us 5 days of our holiday to enjoy the peace we enjoyed for the first 2 days. Teenagers were followed by an Indian wedding. 400 guests who also decided that the Maridadi restaurant was to be for there sole use on the Saturday before we were to leave. The day after the wedding the Maridadi pool area seemed to be the area of choice again the peace and relaxation eluded us. Add to this that should you manage to drift off into an out of body experience on your sun bed be safe in the knowledge that any number of monkeys will run off with your fruit cocktail or rifle through your bags and empty the entire contents of your purse in the pursuit of a snack.
The selection of food in the restaurant is at best average and we felt a bit repetitive at times. With regard to being 4 star? I am not aware of another 4 star restaurant that allows almost ferrule cats to roam at will around during meal times begging food from the diners. Nor am I aware of any other 4 star restaurant where the waiters constantly patrol the dining areas with catapults tucked in their belt loops being duly at hand to dissuade any errant monkeys that would decide that your bread roll was fair game as you were about to put it in your mouth. They would often descend from the roof jump on your table fill both hands with booty and return to the safety of the roof before you could choke out a warning. The beach boys were a total nuisance and would not take no for an answer and despite being told we did not want to buy anything would continue to shadow you for the entirety of your stroll along the beach just in case you would change your mind occasionally reminding you that they were still there. This was supposed to be off season for this hotel in June / July and we expected pure peace and quiet. Due to the above it was not. It seems the hotel will take any booking to fill what would normally be low season. Beware if this is low season god help those going in high season it will not be relaxing. We were glad to be going home and will not be going back. As a bonus my wife was admitted to hospital 2 days after we returned with salmonella, 90% dehydrated and in need of 4 litres of fluids. We followed all the rules re bottled water even to the extent of using bottled water to clean our teeth.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior Room
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Baobab Beach Resort following our safaris at the Masai Mara (amazing) and Lake Nakuru (not as amazing - restricted so felt a bit like Woburn Safari Park). The staff were so lovely and friendly. We spent most of our time at the Maridadi end as that was quieter but the resort is quite big with a choice of 3 pool areas and AI restaurants (we didn't bother with the a la carte ones). We stayed in the garden rooms (607 & 608) which were spacious and quiet, although the shower rooms need a bit of an update (discoloured grout etc). Between us we had a couple of problems (air-con, toilet not flushing) but they were quickly sorted. The beds are very firm but we had no problems sleeping. The AI restaurants all serve the same food, which was excellent, and the other pool areas had entertainment in the form of water aerobics, keep fit, volleyball etc.
We had fun watching the antics of the monkey's although be wary of the Baboons as they will try and take your bags and can be aggressive. Just let the staff know they are around and they will scare them off (they have catapults lol). In the middle restaurant (Baobab section) there are Bush Babies in the rafters of an evening which are really cute. At 10am there is a tour of the hotel which is worth doing just to get your bearings and then you know you won't miss anything.
The beach boys are a bit of a nuisance, even calling to people sunbathing on the private bit of 'beach' of the hotel. If they weren't so in your face they would have a lot more business but they did stop a lot of people going on the beach. One couple said it took them 10 days to muster up the courage to go on the beach !. We found if we went for a walk along the beach (turn right) before breakfast at about 8am you miss them and can have a lovely hassle free stroll for about an hour. If you go up/down the steps further along the beach by the spa it's even easier. We did visit their market (left turn on the beach) and bought some things a lot cheaper than what they were charging on the safari stops but you must haggle and don't go more than you want to pay - just walk away. They will come after you if they want to do a deal. They will ask for any left over soaps etc but we gave ours to the gardener and other staff who we were more friendly with as we felt they'd done something for us. We bought a few things from the sellers that were allowed in the hotel one day and they were very reasonable too. Wait until they are there before buying from the hotel shops too...
We went to a couple of shows at the ampitheatre and thought they were very good. They also had a beach party one night which was good fun too - bonfire, bar and disco were all on the beach.
Overall we had a great time at the Baobab.
The only negative part of the holiday was the journey back from Monbasa to Heathrow via Nairobi (22 hours door to door) but Kenya Airways were excellent (Virgin could learn something from them !). Also our friend wasn't very well for a few days (nothing to do with the Baobab) and had to visit the local tourist hospital (about 4km away) but after being put on a drip and receiving antibiotics she was almost back to normal the next day so don't hesitate if you're taken ill to go there.
If you're thinking of a holiday in Kenya then go for it - I'm sure you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Firstly I would like to say, that the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa is a wonderful hotel, beautiful location, wonderful food and the staff cannot do enough for you and always happy and smiling. The Safari was wonderful and I shall never forget the sites we were lucky enough to witness, like the elephants at the watering hole...... However, there is a but, I would like to ask the Managment of the hotel why oh why did they allow over 100 Asian students ( hard to guess their ages, but I would guess anything between the ages of 16 and 18) into their hotel unchaparoned and completely a law upon themselves. They were rude, arrogant, extremely rude to the bar and waiting staff and had no thought for anyone else staying at the resort. They were allowed to be unruly, Management never seemed to intervene and tell them that their behaviour was unacceptable.....an example of this is my husband and I were booked for an early trip to meet the coach at reception at 5.20am and they were all in reception, making a row, swearing and again disregarding their surroundings. there were security guards plus reception staff witnessing this, but nothing was said to them. Meal times were horrendous, we always tried to have our meals at times when they werent in the restaurants, but because there were so many of them, we could not avoid them at all. In fact it got to the stage whereby I would have rather missed meals than to sit anywhere near them. The hotel has strict rules about men wearing long trousers in the evening to the meals in the restuarant and the majority of the students came in their pyjamas and got away with it. I have to say it was almost as if Management were scared of rocking the boat with them. They are obviously kids from rich families and we understand that they were guests as we were but why would a group of youngsters want to come to a hotel such as the Baobab other then to drink from 10am to 12 midnight (which is exactly what they did) because it was all inclusive and cause a nuisance. A couple who were also on holiday at the same time (Late June to early July) witnessed one of the kids punch his girlfriends lights out right outside their apartment in the early hours of the morning! Shocking to say the least. Another guest mentioned how the kids were all made to wear wrist bands to stop them bringing in more youngsters from outside of the resort. I have to say I would be ashamed if they were my children!! My husband also had to speak to one of the youngsters who demanded a whisky shouting above everyone else that were at the bar waiting for a drink. I believe the manager of the hotel is is Barry, so please Barry reply to this review and let me know your reasons behind allowing this to go on. I have to say we complained as so many others did in the hotel and we were always told they are leaving tomorrow, but tomorrow never came and they stayed 10 days and nights in all, 10 days of their unruliness. thankfully we went on safari for two of those days and so had a break from it for a short while and they left 3 days before we did, so at least we had 3 days of bliss and so many people were releived at their going home..........This is a holiday we saved up for as we are both 50 this year and it was so dampened by this and I still feel angry and disappointed by Mangement. Barry did say he would welcome any comments on Trip advisor, so here you go Barry, here is one to reply to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.