We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELP!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat

Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat
Save
You added Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   P.O Box 80, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HELP!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Can someone tell me how to get in touch with the Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat? I have been looking on line and can only find a couple of numbers that lead to reservation services. If someone has an email address or a website that links directly to the resort that would be greatly appreciated. Can anyone tell me about the area in general. Please leave some details here as to contact, I will be checking back regularly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and loved it. The staff were lovely and very attentive and the daily yoga classes were fantastic. The rooms weren't 5 star but the food was delicious and they catered for my cancer curing diet. Our room opened out to the gardens and then the sea so it was nice to wake up and jst go straight into the sea to wake up. you could order a juice in your room and hten go for breakfast.The grounds were lovely and the pool at the back was always empty so we had it to ourselves and the sunbeds were nestled in amongst the palm trees so it was very quiet. The massage and treatment huts were really nice in the gardens and quite private. The a la carte restuarant was fantastic. Yoga-The morning and evening classes were Ashtanga and definitely for advanced but my friend who didn't practice as much and struggled was taken off by the other instructor and given a more gently private class which was great. The only down side was the hassle on the beach from hawkers, I still get calls from one boy we sent some parcles to when we got home. The beach and sea are lovely though and it is a small spot of paradise. Definitley recommend if you want to eat healthily and do yoga and meditation. i will never forget opening my eyes after a meditation and the gorgeous view of the sea.

Room Tip: get a view of the sea but i think they all have that. I liked being a few doors down from the yoga p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were very sad to find out that a resort that claims to represent holistic health, and charges its guests an arm and a leg, pays its staff the minimum wage (which is impossible to live on in Kenya), and doesn't even cover their transport or meals. Perhaps that explains why the food is just plain bad, and the yoga instructor reels off the same formulaic, one-size-fits-all class every morning and evening, in a singsong voice, without eye-contact, adjustments, or inquiry about injuries or special needs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is now called Galu Beach Resort and is part of the Destination Adventures' offering of exclusive resorts along the Kenyan coast.

The stay was a gift from my husband, and is ideal for an individual, a couple or a small group of friends. I would love to go again next year. Stephanie - the owner - is absolutely fabulous. Her team were helpful, friendly and extremely good at ensuring that I had a relaxing, enjoyable time: there was also an excellent personal butler service.

The yoga teacher was unfortunately unwell, but I was able to do my own yoga practice in the designated yoga space. The beach is spectacular and extremely quiet: no one bothered me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ind
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Looking forward to re-visiting as soon as the opportunity arises. our stay was over 7 days. The place is small in capacity hence great if you looking for peace and quiet, engaging enough to enjoy, reflect and re-energise to be ready for the world again. attention to service and detail managed perfectly by owner/ manager (Tas) . Its the people that make wonderful memories possible. Committed staff and a can do approach all add to the wonderful experience. Daily yoga tops it all up.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed at Shaanti for a few nights and it was incredible! The relaxing quiet environment was peaceful and the beach was divine. The majestic breath of the beautiful bright white sand beach and sparkling blue clear water simply took my breath away. It was clean and untouched land.

The staff at Shaanti were friendly and knowledgeable. They always appeared smiling and willing to assist the guests. I had experienced a few occassions when they went beyond their duties to ensure that I was well taken care of. Wow!

Overall it was time and money wel spent! Loved it and would go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Dear Salim, Doris and all,

Thank you for making our stay in Shaanti memorable.
The hospitality was really special and unique. We felt at peace and relaxed just what we needed.
Thank you all and God Bless SHAANTI.
You will definitely see us more often and would not hesitate to recommend the place to our friends and collegues.

Regards
Suhaila

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat

Address: P.O Box 80, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on stunningly white beaches, a boutique hotel with only 8 rooms, designed to provide guests with a choice of treatments and activities so they can find their own personal peace. Whether it's watching the sun set at the oyster bar with a chilled glass of white wine, a sunrise yoga session, an Ayurvedic massage, a walk on the beach or lying on a deck chair and reading, this is the place for you. Discount for NGO, humanitarian aid workers or UN staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat Hotel Diani
Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaanti Holistic Health Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.