We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Einfach PERFEKT !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Save Saved
You added The Sands at Nomad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sands at Nomad
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Einfach PERFEKT !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Alles war einfach PERFEKT, von A bis Z !!!
Already the ARRIVAL and check-in at the NOMAD is an event ! They welcome you with the flowers, with the coctails, with the smile on their faces, they are friendly and assist you in anything you need from the very beginning. Your STAY in this hotel is like a perfect dream, fairy-like experience.
Every single day brings you the feeling to be in a paradise and the only sad thing is that ... someday you will be leaving.
Still, there is always the positive thing - you may always come back here.
WE WIL CERTAINLY COME BACK TO NOMAD as soon as possible !

Perfect service everywhere - at the reception, in the restaurant, in the therapy center (best regards to Pamela there !), on the beach, in the room (room-service possible at any time)
Richard - General Manager and Claudia - his wife make you feel like at home and their professional way and engagement is simply amazing.

The rooms are big, beautifully furnished, clean and professionally taken care of (we were living in a Cottage No. 30). You have the TV-set (satelite TV), mini-bar, air-condition and all these things at your disposal, even internet, tefephone, etc.
Bed-clothes changed every second day, towels - everyday.
The room is cleaned every morning.
Make sure to take some old T-shirts, clothing and the things like that with you to Kenia - they might be of use for the local personnel and some other people you meet there - they will be delighted to get some souvenirs from you. Prepare some Kenian Schillings (100 banknotes at the best) for the tips and skip on US Dollar or EURO, as these are not of a big use for the gardners, weiters and some other personnel. You may use the Barclay's Bank around to collect Kenian Schillings. Do not take too many things (clothing, cosmetics, etc.) with you to Diani Beach. You may get these things locally, even in a perfect boutique at NOMAD or in a Shopping Center nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    32
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
108
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel describes itself as boutique - but it misses the mark on several counts. Bedrooms OK, but beds uncomforatable, bathroom OK, but when you shower, the floor swims in water, which doesn't dry for hours. Restaurant OK, but really mixed up menu, so much on it, including daily buffet, that you get the feeling nothing can be that fresh - simpler would be be better

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna via USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed three nights in a beach cottage and were very disappointed that we choose to stay at this resort. The resort itself is old and is need of a major renovation. The bedding, sheets, and towels are dingy and old. There is poor lighting throughout the cottage, and the shower is nothing more than a stall. While the food is satisfactory, the restaurant and the furnishings are dirty. In addition, cats and a dog roam freely throughout while patrons are eating. On the positive side, the local staff are extremely nice and they try their best to make everyone feel welcome. Also, the spa services were above average.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We only had 4 days here after safari, but they were gorgeous!!
Our room was with one double, one twin, bathroom and a sitting room with a terrace over looking the beach KOMBA. Very comfortable beds, mosquito nets and loads of towels. We did have an attack of cockroaches that left us nervous but staff came and dealt with them and left us with cans of spray in case they returned!!
The food was fantastic, with some amazing buffets (seafood was such good value) breakfast was cooked in front of you at your order. The hotel's ice cream counter was very well stocked with good quality ice cream. The two bars were well equipped to give you any cocktail, but this was at hotel prices. The beach was the widest, longest and whitest i had seen. Beach boys were around but the hotel's friendly security kept an eye out and approached them the minute you gave them a sign. We found the locals very friends and not solely interested in your money but in where you were from and what you thought of their country.
The craftsmen on the beach were also very fair and did not let us down.
I wish we could have stayed for longer - next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Reviews from Tripadvisor lead me inquire about a stay with Sands at the Nomad. The reservation manager promptly replied to my inquiry. I asked a lot of question as this was the first (but not last) visit to Sands at the Nomad and Kenya. All of my questions were promptly and delightfully answered regarding the rooms, the food, the location, along with recommendations about a safari.

Upon my arrival in Mombasa, the driver was waiting with a friendly smile and sign from the resort. upon my arrival at the hotel a short while later, 3 more friendly smiles welcomed me with Jambo Jambo. (hello, hello).... my arrival to the hotel was approximately 2am yet the staff was happy and welcoming. The porter showed me to my room with a smile and informed me of the time for breakfast and the location of the restaurant. once to the room, a quick tour was given showing me location of the lights, drinking water and rest of my very spacious and comfortable accommodations.

the next morning i woke to the beautiful view (5 meters away) of the ocean and 10km of perfect beach. the sand is soft and the ocean is warm and clean.. after a short walk down the beach i headed for the restaurant.

the hostess and staff all greeted me with a smile.. they prepared my order with pleasure along with a sincere smile. the restaurant menu is "westernized" yet offers flavors of a local taste.. The selection of food and beverages for breakfast are sure to please any appetite.. The view of the ocean from the open air restaurant is endless and breath taking. the wait staff is friendly and sincere. lunch and dinner are plentiful and excellent in quality. the sushi selection is good and the fish is always fresh. the wine list is extensive and well rounded. the food will not disappoint.

a short walk of the property introduced me to a majority of the staff who all welcomed me with a smile and "jambo jambo".... at first you ask yourself if everyone is "really" this friendly.. after two weeks of relaxation, excellent food and service, you realized, yes, they are as happy and friendly as the rest of the world should be.

my days continued with nothing less than perfection and warm smiles greeting me with every jambo jambo.

the resort size is perfect, the staff which caters to your every need is perfect and the happiness and friendliness of everyone you encounter is a reminder of how people should treat each other..

a return to Sands at the Nomad has already been booked for near future.

without a question or doubt, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

ARRIVAL :- We were made welcome and then greeted by a surly manageress

ROOM :- Beach view superior suite (No 23). Location and room fabulous apart from air conditioning useless (so much so that it was too hot to sleep in there the first night until the aircon had been on for 24 hrs - and even then it was never cool enough), television antiquated, little fitments broken. insufficient soap, tissues. leaking shower.

BEACH :- Beautiful, but impossible to walk without being driven mad by the local sellers

AMENITIES :- Gym a joke, Internet room kept losing connection. Only 1 person could re-connect and he was only there at certain times

SERVICE :- Apart from surly manageress (who once said to me 'well this is Africa you know'. I replied 'well charge African prices then'), the service was impeccable. Lovely staff who couldn't do enough to please

FOOD :- Poor to very poor (sufficient selection, but overall poor quality meat, fish & vegetables, and poor cooking skills - I am a caterer). Dirty tablecloths, poor quality cutlery & crockery.

OVERALL :- Purports to be a 'Boutique Hotel', and with more effort & investment could be. But certainly isn't at this moment in time. Shame because parts of it are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We spend 7 days off our holiday here.It was our third visit to diani beach.The location is the best off all at Diani.You have a very long beach nice for walking and it is just a few steps from our beach cottage no 32.In front you have your own sunbeds and a very nice seat outside .Negative was the bed to small for European and not comfortable also the airco was noisy the cottage is too big to cool it.For that price we have paid they can do better.The spa is great and proffesional.
The restaurant is very good there are lots off choice and buffet were you can choose for.It is right on the beach.You can enjoy the stars and moon coming up while you are having dinner.
There are enough sunbeds for all guest who not booked the cottage so you don,t have to get up early.
When they place new beds we will go back with out any doubt.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands at Nomad 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands at Nomad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.