We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands at Nomad to your Saves list
The Sands at Nomad
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not only is the hotel decorated in such a beautiful way, but the staff makes the experience at the hotel all the more wonderful. Security guards are present to ensure safety--didn't feel threatened at all--and the rest of the staff goes above and beyond to make sure all guests have a comfortable stay. My husband and I were at the hotel for 4 nights and not once did we experience anything negative at the hotel. I also loved that the pool was open until 11 and the bar is 24 hours!

Due to location, just be sure that you book a taxi 2-3 hours in advance of when you want to be at the airport in Mombasa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    37
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
131
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just went for a night. The hotel did not disappoint us at all. Perfectly located by the ocean beach, has a wonderful ambiance. The relaxed beachfront is cleverly separate from the beachfront dining area. The pool is also used for diving training if required (5m depth).
Pros:
1. Beautifully located and good ambiance.
2. Good service
3. Good room condition.
4. Easy access to beach

Cons:
1. Less option on food. Virtually no option on sea foods.
2. Taxi and/or cabs from Airport can easily drain a $100

Room Tip: Forest View Rooms are good for quick trips (quite inexpensive). Sea view and beachfront rooms are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The best hotel I have stayed in coast of Kenya so far!! Amazing restaurant, views and great staff!! The rooms are very comfortable all with AC and big beds. The hotel is very clean and high quality service. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just back from a week at the Sands and had an extremely relaxing break. The beach is just beautiful and the accommodation top notch!

The only real criticism I have is the restaurant and bar! Lacking lots of items off the food and drink menus, service very slow and the waiters tend to have a perplexed look on their faces most of the time and unfortunately when the food arrives it is not always what you ordered, particularly at breakfast. Such a shame as if they undertook some staff training I'm sure this would improve things and less mistakes would be made.

Room Tip: Ocean View Suite is perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Forgive me for appearing to be rather critical from how I have titled this review, but growing up knowing the sands at Nomads as being close to perfect- i was highly disappointed by what we experienced when my partner from Zimbabwe and myself visited in December.

They hardly had much available on their food menu for the few days we were there. Also, i was absolutely horrified at the overall drop in food and service standards. A sea food platter was hardly aesthetically appealing and the presentation was horrifying.

On the upside, the staff were friendly and this place offers fantastic views of the Indian Ocean.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We've just come back from Sands and enjoyed every minute of it. I was skeptical at first thinking this would be a resort-like experience but I found it to be quite the opposite a tastefully decorated (large) boutique hotel. I could hardly see more than 5 customers at any given time or place and I was told we were at one point 65 in the hotel. So privacy-wise this is great. My family stayed in the beach bungalow which was to die for in every sense of the word but I strongly recommend the standard room next to the reception which I initially thought was going to be a major hassle due to distance to the beach but it turned out to be a 45 second walk. The only disappointment really was the food at the restaurant which has commanding views over the indian ocean. Breakfast is flawless but the lunch/dinner menu is too extensive with every cuisine in the world on offer. The inevitable result: 3 different seafood starters followed by 3 different seafood mains and the quality of the 6 dishes, especially compared with nearby restaurants, is unfortunately only average. Soggy octopus, chewy calamari, overcooked fillet of fish and all the usual mishaps of sloppy seafood cooking. Having said that, this doesn't take away from the overall satisfaction from the hotel and we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our favourite place to stay at Diani Beach. We went with our 8 week old baby for some sun, sea and sleep and had a marvellous time. We love the swimming pool and the boutique feel of the place. The food in the restaurant's great (try the massive, extremely tasty pizzas!) but being B and B means you can explore some other fantastic restaurants along that stretch (Sails is our favourite). We'd love to go back every year. See you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands at Nomad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands at Nomad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.