We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel and I always look forward to returning there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands at Nomad to your Saves list
The Sands at Nomad
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel and I always look forward to returning there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This for me is my favourite hotel on the Kenyan South Coast and I always look forward to my next visit there. The staff are friendly and helpful and the ambiance is second to none. It is also located on a beautiful coral sands beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    46
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
148
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at a few places in Diani and the Sands was pretty average.
Staff were ok, but the vibe not great. If you like your bigger type resorts then this is the place but if you are looking for a more boutique place, then suggest lookign elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The main pros about this hotel are:

1) It is very relaxing/quiet and a lovely place to unwind. We spent 5 nights at Swahili Beach hotel, followed by 5 nights at Sands at Nomad. Sands at Nomad was a complete contrast as the hotel is more boutiquey with fewer guests (and less hawkers on the beach), and therefore feels more intimate/relaxing. There is a greater sense of privacy as the bungalows on the beach each have their own sunbeds and private area.

2) The beautiful stretch of beach it is in front of - the beach along Diani is variable and this is the best stretch with super fine, unspoilt, soft sand and clear, green water. We were excited about how beautiful the beach was every day that we stayed there! The wind conditions whilst we were there looked good for windsurfing and kitesurfing.

We stayed in the main building at the front of the property (rooms with forest view). I would describe the rooms here as fairly basic (probably of 3 star quality), with good beds and good showers. There are not so many facilities - there is a spa, the gym has v few pieces of equipment and is outdoors, so guests were generally sunbathing/reading/resting.

The hotel owns the forest area around it, which adds to the beautiful surroundings. It also has a good restaurant on the beach. The breakfast buffet is served here, and you can get lunch and dinner from here too. There aren't many other food places within walking distance so we mainly ate our lunches here and had a few dinners here too. I thought the food was good quality - there is japanese sushi (including vegetarian sushi which was delicious), a wood fire oven serving pizzas, and very good pasta dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights here, 18-20/01/2013. We booked a cottage on the beach, location fantastic.the cottages are the best place in the resort. Booking a cheaper forest view room we would not have enjoyed the pleasant view and "noise" of the Indian Ocean from the room. We had two dinner à la carte: food very good, maybe a bit expensive. As it was off season, I suppose, there were also many trainees as waiters: maybe too much invasive, often asking whether everything was good or trying to take plates away while they were still full of food. They'll learn how to be good waiter. However, everything here is fantastic and relaxing. Beautiful place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

While i do not stay at tbe hotel,as I have my own place i do like to take the family to the beach bar and know that all will be well nevcer a disappointment.But that is to be expected romthe same owner as Leonardos.Attention to detail in furniture etc is fine a man who is very obviously in love with wood as a material.
The staff always in clean uniforms and good with children.
The food is what a lot of people call good and it is for Kenya ,however If compered to what you would get from a hotel in Europe of the same quality it is still 10 years behind but then 99% of Kenya food outlets have not cjhanged in the last 10 years and I feel this may cost them in the future.Yes the prices are "for Kenya" at the higher end but again for a European less than a high stret cafe .If you want a quiet relaxing afternoon in a family friendly (no drunks) atmosphere then this is the place to go and do so while the kids play on a perfect beach in clear sight.Hopefully a restauranrt in DIANI will start to offer some high end cuisine soon especially as the raw materials would make this easily affordable.
Finally the only thing I not so much disliked but found a bit of a mish mash was the Christmas bazaar where all the staff were wearing SANT CLAUS hats in a 35c heat wave
Plus points for the owner who eco credentials in helping to maintain some of the last remaining natural woodland on Diani commendable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hargeisa
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I just spent a super nice weekend at the Sands at Nomad. We arrived to the hotel without any previous booking and in the first night we stayed usual Sea Breeze hotel room. In the next day we changed the room to sea view room, which was just AMAZING! it was directly on the beach and had even a jacuzzi on the balcony with view to the sea. We were welcomed with a plate full of fresh fruits and a with the friendliest smiles. In addition to wonderful location and very professional and friendly staff it was also surprising how privet we felt there while there were actually quite a number of other guests.
It truly was very nice and relaxing experience even though it was just for the weekend. I am definitely planning to stay there again when i take my holidays on Diani. My family is coming to visit me in Africa in the beginning of 2013 and to give them the best holidays when visiting Diani i am planning to book them at the Sands at Nomad as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved the hotel. this is our third visit and their consistency is commendable.the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.The beach is awesome and the atmosphere is so peaceful. The food is great too... we had a wonderful time and look forward to going there again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands at Nomad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.