We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. Great for the kids had a wonderful time. Great food hospitality. Rooms are fantastic would ask for C20 anytime again.
The rooms set up is really well geared to families. The girls loved the Kids club. Kudos to the management team keep up he good work.

Room Tip: Cottage 20 private and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Chris d,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a fantastic one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the kids enjoying the kids club, great food & fantastic rooms are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    163
    63
    32
    18
See reviews for
115
320
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew were in for something special - and we were not disappointed,
The hotel, staff, food and setting could not have been better. Everyone was very friendly and most helpful. The view from my window was out of this world - looking out to the wonderful beach which was kept clean and there were always loungers and towels.

After being on a four day safari it was just what we needed luxury and pamering.

The Manager was always about asking if everything was o.k which was good customer relations.

Room Tip: Choose second floor for best views - cannot say room number I was sworn to secrecy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear lesley k,

It is great to know that your stay with us was something special and a wonderful one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Excellent hotel, staff, food & setting, Room with excellent beach view, Clean beach with loungers & towels, Feeling of Luxury & pampering are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a stressful couple of months in Nairobi needed a break down on the coast and was looking at different options. Diani Reef offered a great package included with a return flight to Nairobi. It turned out to be a great trip. Everything went smoothly with airport pickup. Great service throughout our stay. Adjoining rooms for our group. Rooms were clean and modern. Had a problem with the air conditioning and this was promptly fixed. A great selection of delicious foods at every meal. A really beautiful hotel, with a lot of extras like a pool hall and a modern work out room. Will definitely visit the Diani Reef again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Isaac J,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great trip from a much needed vacation and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the smooth airport pick up, Great service, Great selection & delicious food & beautiful hotel with extra facilities are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Pros:
Location
Beach
Cons:
No customer service
Bad food
Terrible rooms
Dirty linens
Outdated and rusty bathrooms
Faulty AC units

All in all, wouldn't recommend but from what I've seen maybe you won't find better options. Diani beach is not very popular(at least in October) very quiet. So maybe standards are low

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Q A,

Thanks for taking your time to give a review on our resort/property. The entire team has taken the raised issues into consideration and all effort has been put so as to address the same, the results of this is already seen from the other various reviews. However, we are also glad to note that you found the location and the beach to be great. We will be happy to have you staying with us during your next visit, this particular experience not withstanding and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel - Everything was perfect - except the cheeky monkeys - The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for you even at 5.30 am when we were leaving for a 3 day safari. We took this with WT Safari's, and our driver Kim was amazing. The animation team were so good and we made some good friends among them. We took a visit with Benson to a local orphanage with Benson and the kids there although had very little were so happy it really was an emotional visit. If you are thinking of visiting Kenya do consider this hotel

Room Tip: We had ground floor room but had no problem with anything except the cheeky monkeys which were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear AnnieC60,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a perfect one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Good service, friendly staff & Good animation team are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit and thank you for being our good ambassador.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went during the low season (May), and the hotel was practically empty, and we found it delightful. Good pool, great beach in front, and some fantastic spots for relaxing by the pool and beach. The restaurants had all sorts on offer, and the breakfast was just great. No complaints at all about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ajarvis_12,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a delightful one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Good sservice, good food & good pool, great beach front, Fantastic relaxing spots, good rariety of food & Great Breakfast are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. However, this hotel is seriously let down by the quality of the towels which were only fit for rags. Also not impressed by the bed linen which felt horrible, together with the bed being hard and the pillows uncomfortable this resulted in 5 nights of very little sleep. The beach is stunning but to walk on it you have to run the gauntlet of beach sellers. Obviously this is out of the control of the hotel! They do, however, provide company if you do want to take a walk. My sister and I took them up on this offer and had a fabulous walk with 2 of the Animation Team: Hafsa and Esther. Thank you both so much, you and your team are an asset to the Diani Reef, we thoroughly enjoyed all the evening entertainment you provided. I must also mention the staff in the dining room, particularly Peter, who were lovely and our Room Attendant, Omar, who saved us from a particularly aggressive monkey who had his eye on our Pringles!! Travellers beware, they can smell a banana from 100 metres!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear HilaryH1957,

It is great to know that in general you found our resort to be a lovely hotel and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the hotel being beautiful, Friendly & Helpful staff, Great animation team and in particular Hafsa & Esther (Animation), Peter (Dining) & Omar (Rooms) are well appreciated communicated to the said staff. We also noted your feedback on the poor quality of towels & bed linen which is being addressed with a plan to replace the same at an advanced stage.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.