We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel - Everything was perfect - except the cheeky monkeys - The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for you even at 5.30 am when we were leaving for a 3 day safari. We took this with WT Safari's, and our driver Kim was amazing. The animation team were so good and we made some good friends among them. We took a visit with Benson to a local orphanage with Benson and the kids there although had very little were so happy it really was an emotional visit. If you are thinking of visiting Kenya do consider this hotel

Room Tip: We had ground floor room but had no problem with anything except the cheeky monkeys which were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear AnnieC60,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a perfect one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Good service, friendly staff & Good animation team are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit and thank you for being our good ambassador.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    164
    63
    31
    18
See reviews for
115
319
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went during the low season (May), and the hotel was practically empty, and we found it delightful. Good pool, great beach in front, and some fantastic spots for relaxing by the pool and beach. The restaurants had all sorts on offer, and the breakfast was just great. No complaints at all about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ajarvis_12,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a delightful one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Good sservice, good food & good pool, great beach front, Fantastic relaxing spots, good rariety of food & Great Breakfast are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. However, this hotel is seriously let down by the quality of the towels which were only fit for rags. Also not impressed by the bed linen which felt horrible, together with the bed being hard and the pillows uncomfortable this resulted in 5 nights of very little sleep. The beach is stunning but to walk on it you have to run the gauntlet of beach sellers. Obviously this is out of the control of the hotel! They do, however, provide company if you do want to take a walk. My sister and I took them up on this offer and had a fabulous walk with 2 of the Animation Team: Hafsa and Esther. Thank you both so much, you and your team are an asset to the Diani Reef, we thoroughly enjoyed all the evening entertainment you provided. I must also mention the staff in the dining room, particularly Peter, who were lovely and our Room Attendant, Omar, who saved us from a particularly aggressive monkey who had his eye on our Pringles!! Travellers beware, they can smell a banana from 100 metres!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear HilaryH1957,

It is great to know that in general you found our resort to be a lovely hotel and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the hotel being beautiful, Friendly & Helpful staff, Great animation team and in particular Hafsa & Esther (Animation), Peter (Dining) & Omar (Rooms) are well appreciated communicated to the said staff. We also noted your feedback on the poor quality of towels & bed linen which is being addressed with a plan to replace the same at an advanced stage.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms, grounds,pool areas and restaurant are all good, the only thing that let's this hotel down is the quality of the bedroom linen! The towels,sheets and duvets are awful! However the staff are lovely, I especially want to mention Omar our room attendant, Peter our waiter and Esta and Hafsa who took us on a lovely beach walk and entertained us in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Angela705,

It is great to know that in general you found our resort very nice especially Rooms, Grounds, Pool areas and Restaurant and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the lovely staff and in particular Omar, Peter, Esther & Hafsa are well appreciated and communicated to the same staff. We have also noted your feedback on the poor quality of bedroom linen and the same is being addressed with a paln to replace the same at an advance stage.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had our wedding here a month ago & it was amazing!! with the help of a wedding planner, the event was exactly as i pictured it to be & the pictures prove it! The food was amazing, the cake...not a crumb was left! :) all our guests really enjoyed themselves. No complaints except housekeeping would take too long to clean the rooms & having children, it could get quite messy :)

Room Tip: the tall coconut trees block the clear view of the ocean but we had a good room though we spent most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear gazonx,

It is great to know that your wedding event and stay with us was an amazing one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the help from a wedding planner, amazing food, excellent wedding cake eaten to the last bit are well appreciated. We also noted your comment on housekeeping taking long to make your room and immediately implemented giving priority of cleaning to guests with children.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and a venue for family reunion in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice resort on the beach. Lobby is very impressive, spacious, with coral reef under the glass tile floor. You can sit there on comfortable sofas and watch fish swimming under your feet!

Beach is pretty, tropical, same goes for the resort pool. Lots of activities available, staff tries to engage everyone to play water sports, attend evening disco, etc.

Hotel has a good number of restaurants serving variety of local foods. My favorite was a seafood restaurant on the beach. While dining in the Japanese restaurant in the main building my first dinner choice wasn't available, my second choice- I didn't care much for it. The manager noticed it and it was written off the bill and I was also treated to a different dish which was much better and no charge! It was a nice touch.

Pool closes a little early at 6 pm but it gets dark shortly after anyways, so no problem.

Staff was extremly friendly and came to talk, ask questions about my trip, life, etc frequently. Their attentiveness was nice but I like to keep to myself so it shortly started to bother me. I don't know if this was because I woman travelling solo and maybe they thought I need company?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ladybug_Midland,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great experience and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Impressive Lobby, Engaging Staff, Seafood Restaurant at the beach, very friendly staff & the spot on gesture of the manager are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived having got a late deal off the internet and both my wife and I loved it here. Sure the hotel and a worn feel and may need a bit of love and attention but the place was clean and friendly with free wifi. Our seaview room was clean and comfortable it could have done with a make over but hey this is Africa and the whole experience was glorious and made an ideal 7 day winter break.
Our biggest surprise was the standard of food . My hopes were not high but how wrong we were. The food was excellent, well presented tasted great with good variety and fresh. One dinner was outside on the front lawn and a local Masai tribe were in attendance and it was great to see them dancing and it gave us the opportunity to buy a few trinkets off them.

We did a one day safari and hired a guide and land rover through the hotel with 3 other ladies who we met which meant we had a private safari for a very reasonable price.

Tea and cakes were served in the afternoon - delicious :)

I'm not into hotel entertainment but a couple of the shows put on we're really good.

Much better than we anticipated and we certainly would like to come back .

An ideal beach holiday with the safari opportunity if you so wish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was an ideal beach holiday and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the clean and friendly atmosphere, Clean & Comfortable Seaview room, excellent standard of food offered, delicious afternoon tea & cakes offered etc are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.