We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands At Chale Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Sands At Chale Island to your Saves list
The Sands At Chale Island
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Xxxx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little corner of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Wonderful location. Ideal if you seek peace and quiet.
Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Superior banda accomodation is very nice, quiet and secluded. Just what we seek.
Negative: the electricity is cut off from 10h00 till 18h00.
Would be nice if the air conditioning could be put on a couple of hours in the afternoon for "siesta" time !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    18
    9
    0
See reviews for
23
147
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very serene location and friendly staff. Great food. Ideal for a romantic getaway. Clean beach. Lack of beach boys very refreshing. Tractor ride from the mainland to the island was a very unique but nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been there the last week of october:
small private island isolated and submerged by nature.

Main attraction: astonishing coral beach, you will be surrounded by hundreds of small crabs, hermit crabs if you don't scare them! That small, white beach is really a piece of paradise.
Superb breakfast (I love waffles just made). And if you avoid pasta for the other meals of the day the rest is quite good and healthy.

Rooms are a lot comfortable, there is no tv (perfect), but an old radio. Unfortunatly the bathroom has no peculiarity but it looks something less than "typical". For ecological reasons will not be provided hot water and electricity during the afternoon.

Great athmosphere but what is the only reason to be there? Extreme needs of relaxing during cold season in your country. This must be your only purpose. You certainly will not discover Kenya.

The staff is really kind, available and competent. Everyday they organize something like boat trip, snorkeling, easy walking around the island with some explanation about local wildlife...just if you want to take part to it. After dinner some artists are invited (snake tamers or Masai dancers and musicians..), you can enjoy the show or spend the evening to the beautiful bar of the resort or just go to bed( ...you are on island at least during high tide...).


A lot of the staff is involved in gardening and I haven't been bitten by a mosquito during my stay.

There were few guests in that period (good!), mainly italians, and mainly not so well mannered in my opinion...I suppose that in high season you will find more guests...so take it into consideration reading my review: I think that being a dozen of persons on the beach instead of one hundred makes a differences...

Pay attention to sea urchins and just enjoy your stay in this piece of paradise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent several days after Xmas and I have to say that from right the begining it didnt cover our expectations. Due to tides you only can swim early in the morning or in the evening. Risky by the way as the coral reef is rocky and full of urchins! BEach even if the staff kept cleaning it was always messy of alghae. The rooms are old and poor, mosquitoes are annoying at night and whot is more terrible is the lack of taste at the Buffet. The recycling of everything was embarassing sometimes. Moreover if you order wine they dont have ice cubes!
Even if the staff was friendly the quality of the resort itself couldnt save the holiday. Dont do it if you think it's a 5 star, it is merely a 3. Overrated. Expensive. Sad.

Room Tip: If you have to go, choose a cottage seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just back from paradise. I had a wonderful week at The Sands. Nothing else but praise!!! The trip from Mombasa to get there was well worthwhile. The staff were very friendly and efficient; the rooms simple but large and clean - no electricity there during day time; food good and so was the service. The spa is run by very qualified people and most originally sistuated. The pools were clean and very hot, better take a swim in the ocean to refresh youself. The biologist brings you around and snorkling explaining all you want to know about marine live. If you like enjoy nature this is the place for you. This was my best sea vacation of my live (75 and have been all over the world). Thank goodness there are still places like this were you can really say I am in paradise.

Room Tip: ask for a 'banda'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This one is an exclusive hotel, it was recommended by my friends as one of the best on Kenyan coast and I am still in doubts wheather it is so. One island - one hotel is a a good concept, but the rates they charge are exorbitant, if you want to feel yourself a special person, and have enough mon. to pay for it thats the place to go. The rooms are very nice, colobus monkeys are there to feel yourself in the wild, walking trip around the island at low tide was the best part of my stay there. The beach is small, covered with seaweeds all the time and the access to the ocean is difficult, snorkelling and diving are poor

Room Tip: I rented superior bandas and they were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

absolutely wonderful experience that exceeded our expectations! Especially nice the fact one didn't get pursued by beach boys wanting to sell sth since this hotel is on a little island. Part of which is left in its natural state. Biologist on site, Marco, will lead you through the wild and explain a lot of things that otherwise might not get noted. Very well done! Food was excellent at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The island is mainly visited by Italians. We live in Italy and speak the language so whereever we go, we make sure Italians go there because the food is always of high standard. Some of the staff were exceptionally nice. The 3 girls at the boutique for instance and Patrick, the barman, who always mixed 'my drink' to perfection. For those who dive, diving was really nice here; a lot different from Malindi 10 years ago. I guess because of being on an island, the dive sites were exclusively for us. Almost pristine conditions! We booked a simple room in one of the towers which was great. No frills but spacious and clean and a big patio with a huge day bed on it. Did not go on safari this time because of the diving being so good, but we recommended the safari we had done before to Governor's Camp at Masai Mara to some people we met on Chale island and apparently it still is beyond belief. A little more expensive than going to Tsavo because of the flight involved but you will see everything including the big 5.
Overall experience: we can highly recommend this place and would come back again

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands At Chale Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands At Chale Island

Address: P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands At Chale Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the same team of sister resort The Sands At Nomad, this small, personal "boutique" resort is the perfect island getaway for those seeking the ultimate in relaxation, tranquility and Island flair. The resort was completely renovated in 2006 and has been built with a very strong focus on the envirnmental beauty of the Island. Two swimming pools, a mystical SPA and a well equiped watersports facility fullfil every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands At Chale Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Chale Island Hotel Diani
Sands At Chale Island Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands At Chale Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.