We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every moment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diani Sea Resort to your Saves list
Diani Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved every moment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Iv read some reviews, I have read one essay that has been written, and im pretty sure weve met!what can I say...some can't be helped or pleased!! Some rooms were being renovated when we were there. The staff I found friendly,but then... we were friendly to them! My partner and I loved the bantering on the the beach..I mean whats the point of going to affrica & not be part of their culture?! Please!! We mentioned that some background music would be lovely as we ate, and by the pool, which they did attempt to do this!(not by the pool) Wifi was not brilliant,this is something for them to work on!I would deffo go back & recommend it! :))

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    262
    76
    34
    22
See reviews for
168
424
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here back in March and our experience was fantastic. The staff are so friendly, there was nothing that they couldn't or wouldn't do for you. Our room was always cleaned spotlessly, we had an issue with the shower when we first checked in but that was fixed quickly while we were at the pool.
The pool was lovely and clean, and plenty of sun loungers and towels available. The beach is beautiful but unfortunately you can't spend anytime on there because of the beach boys, as soon as you get rid of one there is another, however they're all very knowledgeable about the area and will certainly tell you the cheapest trips to go on.
There was a wide choice of food every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner all cooked and presented beautifully. The only complaint we have is that sometimes it took so long to be served a drink, some nights we gave up trying, a few more staff on the pool bar or serving drinks after dinner on the terrace would help the situation. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Speak to the beach boys about trips on the beach by the hotel, (a snorkeling trip to the nearby reef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Ive recently arrived back from this holiday. Unfortunately we had to fly back early because threats of terrorist attack. However the resort is like a paradise, for the three days we were able to experience, I couldn't have wished for any better. Our initial impression travelling through mombassa was questionable after seeing the poverty and locals, however the resort does not portray this and staff do their best to help and donate necessities To the locals and they organise trips to the local orphanages to encourage your help. The staff are extremely lovely and tend to your every need. Your fully secluded from the outside world and the entertainment they offer and excursions are more than worth while. They work extremely hard to keep the Place Clean and from this unfortunately short yet wonderful stay, the staff and resort have completely changed my view on africa and travelling as a whole. In the future I won't go for anything less. Well worth a visit, you won't be unimpressed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have just returned from this lovely hotel, returning early due to the recent threats of terrorism and kidnap!! We were absolutely gutted when we found we had to come home early, both guests and staff were in tears!!
I stayed at this hotel last year and promised I would return. The staff are incredible and just can't do enough for you. The place is a little dated but they work so hard to keep it clean and tidy. From the cleaners to the gardeners to the waiters to the managers, they all do their bit. The Colobus crew are the best entertainment team we have come across. So to Dolphin, Benson, Joseph, Priscilla, and Victor from the sister hotel, thanks for a wonderful time!! Dolphin, I am still expecting a delivery of 5 camels!!.
the recent problems mean that most of the lovely staff will be out of work so I can only hope things are sorted quickly and the hotel and staff continue to impress. See you all soon!!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Firstly JT safaris simply the best ,don't bother with Thomson or any other go see this man and ask for JOSEPH as a driver you will not be disappointed ! will do a separate report for this great service.

right let me explain my Marmite there is so much good and also some bad about this hotel hence you will either love it or hate it lol.

These are my options of my holiday only

Our holiday was booked through Thomson (never again !)from the 28th april - 13th may no one told us when booking about entry or exit visa's so if you do ever get to go find out first as this was an added expense.

ROOMS : Our first room was beyond poor it was ground floor 117 and it stank its was like a wet dog there was damp and black spots all over the room i immediately went to reception who moved us after a bit of too and fro and the insistence i was not going to be in the same block to 312 a family room which was a bit more spacious with a great view of the pool and the sea , the beds were far to hard for my liking but liveable it was clean and who goes on holiday to sit in your room lol the tv was spasmodic at best but again who goes on holiday to watch tv.

FOOD : the food was ..... nice , it reminded me of school dinners a bit some days were great other days there was nothing i liked ,there was a choice of food but i would not say a great choice ,the soups were very good the ones i had but in the second week it was much the same and i would have liked more traditional food from Kenya as when we did have it i really enjoyed it. NOW THIS IS MY WHINE the restaurant has two days in the week where food is meant to be served outside tues and thurs this is the only time you get to where shorts which is ridiculous we are in the year 2014 and with humility up 90 % its to hot for me as a English person to wear long trousers in such uncomfortable heat ,now im not talking i wanna go in Bermuda shorts and a heavy metal t-shirt but com on smart casual should suffice and when there was no rules on women and some had hot pants on i was angry at such an antiquated system , esp when due to rain the staff did not know there own rules ! the food at the snack bar was below par and that's being nice the burgers i would not recommend and the pizzas were a little undercooked for my liking ..... also if you wanted a drink at the pool food area you did not have to wear a top yet if you wanted food you had to wear a top if you ate outside the food area you can wear no top same with drinks ............. gotta love that policy

ENTERTAINMENT : i liked the acrobats the one night i saw them other than that the entertainment was reminiscent of butlins, the entertainment team tried there best during the day and we had a few great games of water polo and i saw beach volleyball going on but when it was raining ........ludo ! again come on........... ludo ! they were friendly enough chaps but some did try and sell you things like cds ect

POOL : the pool was a good size with plenty of space for everyone ...........but it affected clothes i now have 2 pairs of white and grey shorts and other half has white tops brown tops (they started off black) ruined by whatever they put in the water acts the same way as bleach .............. pool drinks service is bad if you can get siomeone to take an order it takes ages its better to go get it yourself and get a few at a time.

STAFF : now here really is a Marmite subject great staff AMENIA now i want to see this girl get star of the year staff of the year all rolled into one she was genuine great her smile could light up any room, other great staff were RODGERS behind the bar, the deaf gardener sorry i do not know his name but the flower he picked for us were beautiful, food staff of brian adams and others.
Bad staff that need to be replaced in all haste was a little fellow in the restaurant with a Disney tie he was rude obnoxious and annoyed me beyond belief also john behind the reception in brown clothes he was a useless lump at the best of times.

ANNOYANCES : Hassle from beach sellers this seriously needs attention from the hotel the security staff need to be more proactive and on the beach making sure people are not bombarded all the time also staff should not have sellers phone numbers and be coming to get customers from the bar or pool saying its urgent , there is no umbrellas around the pool would be nice for some shade and also some cover for if it rains, would be a good idea also some ware for the rains to run off so you don't get drenched or drowned.

the monkeys are great they are annoying and steal anything not nailed down and i loved every minute of it lol

Please do try the massages and the glass bottom boat trip they were two of my best experiences i had

after a few weeks here i did feel a little like i was in prison i felt uncomfortable walking out due to hustle but i loved it when we got out and about passed the hotel .

WI-FI 6-10 now this is spasmodic depending how many people are using it would it honestly kill the hotel to turn it on for a few hours in the morning also so customers could look up places to vist or even get news like bombs going off ???????

this hotel is very colonial and needs some touches all around the staff seemed fake as if they had to put on a fassard and the ones that were genuine shone though this we don't need drinks served with on hand behind the back we just need a good smile and a little interest in our day and a little local interest stories of what goes on beyond the walls of the hotel i wanted to know more about the area and the staffs family and the social aspects of the area.

by the way there is now way on Earth the airport transfer is 1.30 min add and hour at least to that

also a hotel that wants to be of this standard you would think would have a cut in generator or two in place as when the power did go out it ruined other half's insulin and the air-con but management seem to think this is ok

when wet the whole place can be treacherous so please be careful

ok i bet there is loads i have forgot and lots i remember when i post but i enjoyed most of it will i return .................. maybe one-day to the area as for the hotel ........ time will tell

Room Tip: Dont have a ground floor our first one "117" was smelly damp and mildew smelling ,bit like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have been to this hotel four times since 2004 Each time it is better with little improvements geared to make your stay more comfortable. We were there from the 15th April for 2 weeks the rooms are clean and tidy , the staff are friendly and couldn't be more helpful, the food is good with plenty of choice. swimming pool is clean and a great place to sit and chill out with a planters wonder. The beach is lovely and we just say no to the beach boys and they don't bother us, tip don't buy the day you arrive have a look in the shops and get a feel for the money. The sea is warm and very safe to swim in. We did a 3night 4 day safari with Pollmans booked direct and it was 5 star. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife, my little daughter and I spent a week in Diani this past week and had the best time. The Kenyan people are genuinely lovely and the atmosphere and vibe was fantastic.

The Animation Team will make sure you get off your bum and get involved with the various activities they have on the go - Water polo, water aerobics, table tennis etc etc.

Keep a look out for Ngowa, Bufalo, Suleiman, Moha, Calvin, Masha, Brian, Stephen, Vidal, Priscilla and all the others who will give you the best service and welcome you could possibly ask for. At the end of our trip we really felt we had made friends with each and every one.

A few tips:
The ferry crossing is not 1.5 hours. Ours took 6 - granted there was an issue with the ferries that day but don't bank on 1.5.
Take spare socks, shorts etc as these are far better quality than what you can get in Kenya so the locals love trading their wonderful carvings for them.
You need to be firm but polite with the salesmen on the beach, they won't take no for an answer and are very persuasive.
The supermarkets are very expensive compared to everywhere else.
Make sure you have spare cash as the ATMs often do not work.
The hotel taxis are exorbitantly expensive, I'm talking Central London prices - so either walk or get a tuk-tuk!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diani Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Resort

Address: Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the most beautiful unspoiled crystal white sandy beaches on the south coast of Kenya. The expansive compound is shaded by coconut palm and a myriad of exotic tropical trees & flowers; the resort offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Animal life abounds in the compound and various varieties of monkeys can be seen jumping around in the vicinity. Bright white against the blue sky, the hotel has 170 rooms. The rooms are of 3 main categories: Standard rooms with garden view, Family rooms & Bahari rooms with sea/pool view. All rooms have TVs, coffee/tea making facilities, mini bars are in the Bahari rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Diani Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.