We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff. great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diani Sea Resort to your Saves list
Diani Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great staff. great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Can not fault the DSR. Rooms good, bedding & towels changed daily. Gardens all well looked after. Restaurant service excellent with everyone working so hard. Great breakfasts, evening meals, great variety their indian food is FAB. Naan breads & samosas gorgeous!! Pool lovely, clean & warm. The entertainment team works so hard too. Did our safaris' and trips with Joseph under the tree ( turn left out of the hotel last tree on the left) he was great put so much hard work in to our trips for us and he is very reasonable too. Do try dine at Ali baba restaurant its in a coral cave with open roof to view the stars while you eat. DSR kindly book travel to & from for you just ask at reception.. Also try the African Pot & the Indian too. The transfer from the airport to the hotel does take much longer than is stated so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    254
    75
    33
    22
See reviews for
162
413
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Best holiday yet .great hotel lovely staff.great grounds .
Went on safari for 2 night.booked through Thompson amazing experience will never forget we did savo East and west .if you do book your safari within the holiday package they will expect you to check out of your room ( check your documents) but you will be able to keep the room at a small cost . approx £15 a day per room. Just ask at reception.
Rooms great only downfall I can say is the bed so so hard .
Pool area brilliant. Loads of beds clean beach towels when u needed .
Had 4 massage whilst there great value for £10 for 50 mins lovely and relaxing while listening to the waves of the sea. A must !!!
Food
Breakfast was great good choice
Lunch choice of eating in restaurant or having a light lunch in pool bar.
Night Time there was enough choice
Only niggle was my husband having to wear long trousers whilst you would have young ladies walking in the dining area in shorts or short skirts. Then you would have the guys winging all night.spoit the evenings a bit. But hotel rules are rules.
All in all a brilliant hotel would recommend to my friends and family. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from this resort after 2 weeks of sun and fun. The rooms were very good and cleaned daily with clean towels every day, the bedding was changed 4 times in the two weeks we were there. The food was excellent but the service was superb, the staff could not do enough for you. Did a 3 day safari with Freddy safari and had 3 of the best days I could have imagined at a far better price than other operators I researched, saw more wild animals than I could possibly list but must mention the cheetah and her cub they were stunning, thank you so much Freddy and Abdul. The beach boys do pester you a bit but this is a very poor country and if you engage with them they are fine just a no thank you will do. All in all a superb resort and great staff. p.s. you simply have to visit footprints it will amaze you what one person can achieve.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Bahari room no 501 and had great views of the beach and sea, worth the extra as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We throughly enjoyed our stay here. The service was superb, courteous and friendly. The food was delicious and the entertainment was good. We would love to go back again in the future. We would like to thank all the staff at the resort for making our first holiday to Kenya an incredible and memorable experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 11 to diani sea resort to get married!! The best decision we have ever made!! Apologies for the long review but we wanted to capture all the key points for everyone to realise how excellent this hotel is and how hard the team work to make everything perfect.

Arrival.

We arrived at diani sea resort after a 8 hour flight and 2 hour coach journey including a 10 minute ferry trip, that was an experience!! We had to stay on the coach but the engine had to be switched off which meant no air con!! The roads are not great but it's Kenya and there is need to spend money on other things rather than roads!! We were welcomed at the hotel by the entertainment team dancing and singing!! Check in was very quick and we weren't allowed to carry any bags to our room!!

Room.

On arriving at our bahari room there was a heart with flowers on the door with petals over the bed. This was a great start to our holiday that they had made a special effort as we were also getting married at the hotel. We were given room 304 that was on the 3rd floor and very close to the beach with a fantastic sea view and a good pool view. We had a double bed, tv, hair dryer, fridge, plenty of wardrobe space, dressing table, table and chairs and a great shower/bathroom. Our cleaner simon was fantastic and maintained our room daily. He was so friendly. He explained on our first day the process for ordering drinks for the fridge that was faultless. Daily you could have 4x water and 2x fanta, coke & beer (tusker). All drinks were excellent.

Safety deposit box.

There are safes in every room. The deposit is 350ksh and the rate is 170ksh per night for use of the safe.

Thomson rep.

Victor was our rep and based only at our hotel. He is fantastic in every way. So friendly and nothing is too much trouble. He works very closely to the hotel management team to ensure everyone has the best time possible.

School trip

On a Thursday morning the hotel/entertainment team organise a trip to a local school in the village of Ukunda. It's a short walk there then you pay 100ksh each for a bus back. We were taken in to a class room where we seen how the children learn. They sang to us to welcome us. We were asked to pass any gifts to the teacher or head master but insisted on giving everything to the children ourselves. This was fine and we were given permission to take photos and videos. We then met the head master before visiting the village of Ukunda, meeting the locals and experiencing how they live. It was an experience we will never forget!!

Entertainment

The colobus team work very hard to entertain the guests and keep them active. They are all very friendly and a great bunch of people. They give 100% every night during their entertainment. There is always different activities going on from morning to night. They include aqua gym, water polo, beach volleyball, football, ping pong, darts, coconut throwing, Swahili lessons just to mention a few!! You can also play pool, table tennis, tennis or crazy golf at your own convenience!! We were always asked to join in but never felt we had to, they were always fine with us saying no.

Gym

There is a small gym with a cross trainer, treadmill, wights and mats for stretching etc. keithy in the gym is very friendly and will chat when you work out or leave you alone if you prefer!! You have to book to use the gym in advance at reception but we never had a problem getting a slot. Towels are provided in the gym. We also used to go jogging every morning down the beach and never got hassled by anyone.

Pool

There is one large pool which was very warm during our stay!! There's also a very small children's pool. There is a slide in the large pool which was great fun!! The pool is salt water and always well maintained.

Gardens

The gardens are wonderful and so well kept. The gardeners maintain the gardens to the highest standard. They were also excellent at making a hut for our beach wedding and archways leading to the beach.

Beach/ beach boys

The beach boys were friendly with us and didn't give us any bother at all. Felix works for WT safaris who we spent over £3000 with for safaris and worth every penny!! He has a name badge and carrys a blue folder. We bought some engraved souvenirs when we arrived. Please barter with them and pay about 25% of the original price quoted!! We told them we would by another souvenir as a married couple so they left us alone for the week and were very well behaved for our beach wedding and reminded us the next day of our promise!! We were the left alone for the rest of the holiday. A firm 'hakuna Asante' (no thank you) will do the trick otherwise. We would also walk/jog the beach with no valuables on us so we could empty our pockets and show them we had nothing on us. This always worked and they wouldn't waste their time on us!! They are only trying to make a living and provide for their families after all.

Safari

We booked a 2 night masai mara safari including a hot air balloon ride with WT safaris who were excellent. We booked in advance in the uk through email as we wanted to do the hot air balloon valentines day morning. We stayed at little govenors camp (please see separate review).

Wifi

Wifi is free between 6pm and 10pm although it's very busy so very polipoli (slow!!). Most days it would be on at 5pm and would be a lot quicker. It's also left on until gone midnight normally and again quicker as people are unaware it's on. During the day we would walk 5 minutes in the sea to the right of the hotel to Forty thieves where we would pay 100ksh for a soft drink then use their free wifi which was faster. We would also walk to yibba yabba (turn right outside front of hotel, walk 10 min to diani shopping centre) as the also had free wifi, cheaper drinks, live sport and great food!! Please see our separate reviews for both bars.

Restaurants

Breakfast was a good selection. It was the same every day but you could have something different every day. The egg chef would do scrambled, omelettes or fried. You could also order boiled eggs with your toast order through the waiters. They also had potatoes, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes, meatballs, pancakes, variety of cereals including porridge, yoghurts, fruit, cooked meats and cheeses. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast every day!! Breakfast was served from 7am til 10 or you could order a continental breakfast from 4am.

The snack bar at the pool/beach was open from 11am to 4pm. They served pizzas, burgers, pastas, omelettes, chips, salads, specials, fish, chicken, toasted sandwiches and were happy to do anything not on the menu such as egg & chips or just a chip sandwich!! At 4pm the snack bar would serve tea and cakes!!

The main restaurant also opened for buffet lunch serving main meals and alternatives to the fast food at the snack bar. All the food we had was excellent, remembering this is Africa!! No complaints at all.

Dinner each night was alternated between a la carte in the dining room and buffet BBQ themed nights outside. Men are required to wear long trousers and shirts or t shirts in the dining room. The main meals inside were ordered for and served by the waiters and the starters, salads and desserts were buffet style to help yourself. There wasn't a massive choice on the menu but always different options including a vegetarian. There were nights where we would ask for something not on the menu and this was always done without any problems.

Packed lunch.

If your going on safari or a day trip let reception know by 6pm the previous day and they will organise a packed lunch. We had a bottle of water, cheese sandwich, 3 rolls, boiled egg, chicken, banana and salt! All very nice and good for a long journey.

The team.

Whilst every member of the team are very friendly and always speak to us we would like to mention some members of the team who have given outstanding service to us during our stay at the hotel.

Masha. General manager.
Boufolo. Restaurant manager.
Francis. Snack bar manager.
Pascal. Waiter.
Evans safari. Waiter.
Simon. Cleaner.
William. Pool waiter.
Abdula. Waiter.
Gordon. Security guard.
Casmil Marcus. Waiter.
Sheila. Supervisor.
Gabriel. Supervisor.


The wedding.

We are so glad we choose Kenya and the diani sea resort for our wedding!! We would like to give a special thank you to the general manager Masha. We have been in contact with him since July last year to plan our wedding. It was the best day of our lives and everything exceeded all our dreams and expectations!! We couldn't have had a better day. Masha and Renson our wedding coordinator made our dreams come true by helping to organise a perfect beach wedding. They then helped organise the most perfect reception. They organised African dancers for our beach entertainment. We had a fantastic live duo band who played during our meal by the pool. Boufolo, the restaurant manager spent days organising our meal, seating plan and table layout. The attention to detail was fantastic and so much effort put in by Boufolo and his fantastic team of people.

The chef created the most beautiful cake we could hope for!! We had an expectation that our cake would taste great but look basic. We were ecstatic when we seen what the chef had achieved with our cake!! We can't thank him enough. Our BBQ meal was also amazing. Plenty of food and all cooked to perfection. The area was decorated with lights and the tables set up to look amazing!! The waiters given to us were again excellent.

As we said it was simply a day beyond our wildest dreams. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wishes to visit Kenya. We also encourage anyone who wishes to get married abroad to choose Kenya and Diani Sea Resort.

We used gettingmarriedinkenya.com to book make up,hair and our photographer/videographer Mike Atkelsky who was fantastic and got some amazing photographs.


Upgrade.

Following the wedding, the night before we left for our honeymoon safari we were upgraded by Masha the manager to room 302 which is their presidential suite. Wow!! What an amazing room!! The door and bed was decorated with flowers again. The room was very large with a separate living room with fridge, tv, sofas and a table. We were also given another fruit basket and a bottle of wine on ice!! This room had 2 large balconies with 2 sunbeds on and table and chairs. The views were amazing over looking the beach with the sounds of the waves was perfect!! We sat out on the balcony to watch the sun set then got up at 6am to watch the sun rise above the sea. Breakfast was delivered to our room at 6:30 that we ate on the balcony watching the sun rise. What a perfect start to our honeymoon!!

Checkout

Was very quick in the morning especially as 88 people were checking out!! If you book with thomson the coach leaves at 5:20am for the10:35 flight to allow for ferry crossing!! Exit tax is £30, $40 or 3600ksh. Airport security is also the strictest we have ever seen, another reason why thomson pick you up early. A tip for the airport, if you buy drinks after security the have to be sealed (unopened) and in a sealed bag before going to the gate. This is different to the uk and not explained at ante point.

In summary a faultless hotel that have managers and staff that will do anything for you. Out wedding and reception was perfect all thanks to the team at the hotel. We can not wait to return!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just returned from my 2nd stay at Diani Sea Resort, having previously stayed there last year. Everything is just as good as before, staff always smile and greet you with a "Jambo!" Food was good with plenty of choice, never waited long to be served at either restaurant and never witnessed any sort of favouritism. Rooms always kept clean, gardens are all kept tidy. Sunbeds are plentiful and there is no need to rush to get one!
Whilst there we took a safari and used the services of JT Safaris, who have their head office just outside the front of the hotel. A very professional company that provide a great service. See separate review ( Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips, Ukunda)
I look forward to my 3rd visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My son surprised me at xmas with this wonderful holiday. We both had a brilliant time, especially the Safari we did with JT Safaris. I highly recommend you go with him and his team, very professional and friendly. My daughter booked JT in the UK, he was very quick in replying to all the questions she had and catered for all her requests.
The hotel was very friendly, clean and tidy. The staff were more than happy to help with anything we needed. Not too impressed with the salt showers.
Food was good, however the evening meals didn't have a wide selection.
I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diani Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Resort

Address: Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the most beautiful unspoiled crystal white sandy beaches on the south coast of Kenya. The expansive compound is shaded by coconut palm and a myriad of exotic tropical trees & flowers; the resort offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Animal life abounds in the compound and various varieties of monkeys can be seen jumping around in the vicinity. Bright white against the blue sky, the hotel has 170 rooms. The rooms are of 3 main categories: Standard rooms with garden view, Family rooms & Bahari rooms with sea/pool view. All rooms have TVs, coffee/tea making facilities, mini bars are in the Bahari rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diani Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.