We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diani Sea Resort to your Saves list
Diani Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“first rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A fabulous hotel with amazing tropical gardens leading down to the white sandy beach. Top rate pool, plenty of sunbeds for everyone.
Food was wonderful, very good choice for both lunch and dinner. Salads, starters, soup, great choice of main courses, followed by delicious fruits,cakes etc and cheese and crackers, not forgetting tea or coffee.
Breakfast was excellent, full English if required.
Staff are a delight, cannot do enough for you, so genuine.
Bedrooms lovely.
4pm tea/coffee with cakes and biscuits by the pool area. What fun with the monkeys strutting their stuff, delightful.
I would return to this Hotel without hesitation and would suggest you all book a holiday here, first rate in everyway.

Room Tip: choose a room off the ground floor to have a better chance to escape the monkeys as they can be litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    254
    75
    33
    22
See reviews for
162
413
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned [yesterday 30th sept] from our annual kenyan holiday. Diani sea resort [our fourth yr to this hotel] big changes in management mean not as good this yr as in past although animation Girls just as euberant as ever. Beach boys will do you good on your trips but if do not want to talk too them just say NO THANK YOU. Food and Drink ok but African night not so good [I STAY IN KENYAN 3MTHS OF THE YR SO KNOW WHAT IS GOOD AFRICAN FOOD THIS WAS NOT] We flew with Thomson this yr our friends[there 3rd yr]booked with Cosmos we were all on same flight Thomson and same package they paid LESS also there rep Gave them there Departure Tax 40us Dollars each in cash before we left .WE HAD TO PAY OUR OWN[NICE ONE THOMSON] Lastly Thomson sent a coach to take us to airport IT WAS SO BIG THE DRIVER COULD NOT GET ON LIKONI FERRY so we sat and waited 70 mins before crossing this ment our 1hr 30min transfer was actually 2hrs 40mins Not good. AFTER all this moaning i still urge you to go to Kenya the weather is good and the people are GREAT i have many friends there. Just check what deals are out there and make sure you pay the best price asanti sana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the resort, when we first arrived and travelled through Mombasa i wondered what we had let ourselves in for. We arrived at the resort and all our worries went away, we found the staff very welcoming and helpfull. The whole site was very well kept and the food and drink was both plentyful and good quality.

The best part of the resort though, without a doubt was the staff Benson and Pricilla were perfect hosts. Everyone of the staff were full of energy and fun.

We took a 3 day safari that we booked when we arrived with JT Safaris and again this was a trip of a lifetime.

i honestly cannot recommend this resort highly enough and would like to say thank you to everyone at the resort and everyone we met in Kenya forour Holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: No coffee making eqipment in standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dont let the rating of this little resort hotel put you off at all. The rooms were excellent, the food was the tastiest we have ever had anywhere in the world, and the service way above our expectations. We spent much of our time by the pool relaxing, monkey watching. if you want a cheap safari excursion, speak to the waiters, not the tour operators, they gave us a fantastic offer and it turned out to be the "best excurision we had anywhere in the world bar nione" Two days in the Tsavo east game reserve. it was awesome, we were moved and felt completely priveliged.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at Diani Sea Resort on a regular basis since 1999.

Location: Beautiful grounds, sloping down to Indian Ocean.

Rooms: Basic, but perfectly adequate (remember: this is Africa!). Rooms are cleaned daily; bed linen changed regularly. Bathroom towels changed on a daily basis. Hairdryer provided. Safety deposit box available in standard rooms (at extra cost). Pool towels provided on production of towel cards, which are issued on arrival. TV in rooms (which we hardly ever turn on!).

Food: Excellent, with choice to suit all tastes. Having noted some negative comments, I can only speak from experience and say that we have never been ill as result of eating the food at DSR.

Staff: Efficient and helpful. Will go out of their way to ensure that guests are comfortable, and have all they need.

Beach boys: Can be a pain! However, the Diani Sea Resort hotel does its best to discourage them from pestering tourists. The hotel invites the beach vendors to sell their wares at the Pool Restaurant approximately once every two weeks. At other times the beach-front security guards maintain a watchful eye on guests who venture on to the beach. If the beach boys become too persistent, then the guards will intervene.

It is safe to venture outside of the hotel during daylight hours. There are small shopping centres within walking distance, in addition to small shops near the hotel gates. We would highly recommend Philip for carvings, paintings, etc. Turn left past the security guard office and his shop is situated at the top of the steps.

Safari: No visit to Kenya is complete without a safari. Although these can be arranged through a big tour operator, we have always used WT Safaris. They have reps on the beach at Diani Sea Resort: John (with the tie!) and another guy, whose name I cannot remember (apologies). It is perfectly safe to book a safari with these guys. Or ask them to arrange a visit to the WT office, situated opposite Diani Sea Lodge (DSR's sister hotel), where Peter and Christine will be only too happy to help. Their prices are competitive and we have always found them to be cheaper than those of the big tour companies.

The service provided by WT Safaris is excellent. They are professional and reliable. Peter and Christine will always answer any queries promptly, and their attention to detail ensures that their customers receive value for money.

Alternatively, there is a WT agent based in UK - a lovely lady (Anne Sanderson) of Kenyan Safaris. She, too, provides a first-class service, ensuring that everyone receives the safari they dream of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just a quick mention for those considering Diani Sea Resort for their kenya stay...a wonderful hotel overall. Great value for the money, hospitality of the staff is amongst the best ive experienced, with everyone from the reception staff and cleaners, to the restaurant staff, bartenders and the colobus squad (entertainment team) being very kind and welcoming. Clean pool, rooms and grounds with great views across the indian ocean. Lush gardens are plentyful, a real paradise setting. Food and drink was great, always fresh and spoilt for choice! A word about the beach boys, they are very persistent and will spot you coming from miles off so be vigilant. The wood carvings and gifts/ trips they will offer are worth considering after some hard haggling on price but they will remember you and a romantic stroll down the beach you wont have a chance! We stayed 1st-16th october and did a 4 day safari within our stay, the hotel were happy to let us keep our belongings in the room and safe without any issues. We did a few day trips out which the colobus team set as activites which you will have the chance of going on, would reccommend the masaii tribe camp visit and local village walk to the childrens school, and the snake farm is an experience for a small donation. Overall a great holiday and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: had a room with pool view as standard and mosquito net (all rooms provide this), considered the baha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from Diani Sea Resort. Having noted some negative comments, we can only say that we found it absolutely wonderful.

The Trip to MOI:
Albeit a long one, was pleasant enough. You do need to take some cash with you for your entry Visa and have to fill in a form. We did not think the wait time to go through to arrivals was too bad.

The Transfer to Diani Sea Resort:
We were transferred by coach and the journey took approximately 1.5 hours. We were accompanied by our rep Stacey who pointed out some interesting facts on the way.

The Arrival:
We were greeted by staff and offered a cold drink before checking in and being given our keys. This process took about half an hour. Note - a safe costs 2,800 KS but you do get 350 back.

The Room:
A large comfortable bed, although the pillows were pretty hard it did not stop us sleeping. The AC worked and was often not on at night by choice. The AC works with a key on entering the room but it did soon cool down. The bathroom was excellent with a great power shower and for ease if you need a shower straight away there were some Toiletries provided. Cupboard space was plentiful. The TV was not really used although there are some films shown nightly. The water is salt water, but you don't actually notice this, but I suggest brushing teeth with the flask water is a must.

The Pool:
Always very clean, surprisingly warmer than we thought it would be. In fact this is one of the few holidays where we spent a lot of time in the pool. The pool is treated daily at 6:30 - 7pm. Towels are available during the day and the attendants are more than willing to move beds around for you.

The Beach Bar:
Cheerful staff, lots of different cocktails to try although we stuck to the non alcoholic ones during the day as the weather was so hot. The beer is quite refreshing and you can get quite a good selection of drinks. I found that the local coconut liquer (Modafu) mixed with pepsi tastes very similar to Malibu and Coke if that's any use.

The Beach:
As described by many people there are a lot of beach traders, however if you are firm and tell them that you will buy at the end of the holiday then they will leave you alone.

The Restaurant:
Long trousers are required for men during the meals inside the restaurant at night but this is not every evening as there are often bbq nights held outside. The food is very good and there is never a shortage of nice desserts. The Chefs try really hard to make a varied menu, but do be aware that things like Sweet and Sour Sauce do not have the same taste as we are used to.

Excursions:
We did not use the holiday rep for this. Prior to going out we emailed Joseph Under the Tree, who is actually right next door to the hotel. Our Safari was fantastic, along with the arrangements he made for our two different stays in hotels. All in all it was excellent value, but we did tip the driver for doing such a great job. Joseph Under the Tree also caters for other excursions so it is worth bargaining a deal with him. We thoroughly recommend his services.

Flight Home:
This was somewhat a little disappointing after getting up at 4am. Don't forget you need to have per person 2000 KS, £32 or dollars for departure tax if you book through Thomsons as this is extra. We arrived at the airport in good time but it took a long time to get through to the booking desk. Our Holiday was actually spoilt by some of the Thomson Flight Crew who ushered two of their family in front of the waiting line. We were all angered by this and I mentioned it to one of the crew who completely blanked me out. I then had the Captain of the plane come up and give me a right telling off, his attitude stank and he made me feel like a second class citizen for pointing out that we had all been waiting an hour to check in by saying he had a duty to the two ladies that had pushed in, making it seem that we meant nothing at all. There were a few angry people after that and with good reason.

So people:
This was a fantastic holiday in Kenya, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Diani Sea Resort and the efforts made by the Kenyan people to make sure we were happy. Our only downside was the Thomson treatment and the bad manners of the Captain of the plane which has actually spoilt my memory of this wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a Bahari room you will get a partial sea view. We did not do this as we found our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diani Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Resort

Address: Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the most beautiful unspoiled crystal white sandy beaches on the south coast of Kenya. The expansive compound is shaded by coconut palm and a myriad of exotic tropical trees & flowers; the resort offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Animal life abounds in the compound and various varieties of monkeys can be seen jumping around in the vicinity. Bright white against the blue sky, the hotel has 170 rooms. The rooms are of 3 main categories: Standard rooms with garden view, Family rooms & Bahari rooms with sea/pool view. All rooms have TVs, coffee/tea making facilities, mini bars are in the Bahari rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diani Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.