We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Leisure Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach N Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just had a wonderful 5 nights (6days) at this hotel. Food was excellent and a lot of variety. The management was attentive and ensured that we had a good time. The whole staff was excellent from the waiters, to the beach attendant to the housekeeping. The beach was fantastic and as expected. The new - years eve party was super! They even had a special celebration of my sisters birthday and this was in style. The welcome on arrival and the send off on departure was friendly and joyful with song and dance.

Room Tip: ask for Premium rooms with ocean view - these are in Block, A, C, B, D. The best rooms are in C - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Romanth

Happy New Year!

Thank you for having stayed with us at the close of 2013 and celebrating with us the new year 2014. We have noted your commendation and we will certainly ensure that we give good service to our esteemed guests like we did to you.

We have received quite some accollades for the new year's celebration and we are glad that we met the anticipated satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming your again to our resort and wish you a glorious year 2014

Thank you most sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
30
48
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I always knew this hotel as a prestigious one, and was quite excited to learn that I was going to spend a night here. I guess over the years, the sheer size has overwhelmed the management, it's in a bad shape and needs urgent renovations. My bathroom was extremely dirty, tiles had scum!, the taps were rusty, and generally looked like more attention needed for. The housekeeping department. I hope the management are seriously thinking of renovating the badly off units,this can be done in bits so the costs don't weigh the operations down. Service was otherwise ok

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Lilian,

May I thank you for have had confidence in us and chose to stay with us. We have noted your comments with a lot of appreciation and even ackowledge with great thanks your advise on renovation plan.

We have planned for renovation which should start beginning of next year and will be done in phases to uplift the standards. We also curry out continuous in-house trainings to enhance service delivery to our esteemed guests.

Your comments have been taken and we will ensure to appropriate measures are taken to safeguard our standards.

Once again may I thank you most sincerely and look forward to welcoming you again at Leisure Lodge Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Leisure Lodge Hotel for four nights and it wasn't a bad experience.I think the hotel is set out well and has been maintained well. The structures and designs are pretty normal and not too astonishing or beautiful. The service was good and the value wasn't too bad either. The staff are willing to help but I think the beach was very good. It isn't dirty and very well maintained. The guards are efficient in keeping the other public out and I think the view of the ocean is magnificent. The rooms aren't too bad either and the gardens are well tended to. All in all, the hotel isn't too great but neither is it horrible. It's good for a decent and not too fussy holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We take this early opportunity to thank you most sincerely for having chosen to stay with us recently. We have also taken note of your valuable observations and comments.

We are sriving to ensure that we up our service delivery by continously carrying out trainings in areas that you as our valued customer feel we have not met the expectations.During this coming year we will carry out an upgrade exercise of some of our rooms to superior standards.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to our "sunny side of paradise" and assure you of our ever unwavering dedication to customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The place is nice, the garden maintained, but the rooms are in poor condition. Urgent need of an overhaul. The price is too high for what is offered. Leaving the hotel made ​​us pay again all drinks that we had already paid the waiters.A gentleman introduced himself as "nigjt manager" said Believe me you will investigate the case and will pay you back. Already fifth day no trace of him. The hotel did not meet our emails. In conclusion I can say ... terrible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, Front Office Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comment and appropriate action plan will be put in place to ensure such incidents or misunderstanding does not arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a conference recently, the hotel is huge a walk around the whole property is enough exercise. There many nice locations to take photographs the beach , the garden , the caves many sites at the property. The hotel is on the beach front with alot of sitting space .

The rooms were ok but they are old and there is evidence of alot of maintenance required. The conference facility was ok , very peaceful environment. There was a cyber cafe but I didnt need to use it.

The staff were not rude but they just seem disengaged , there was a lady we had to call three times to give attention but we realised she was alone and handling many tasks and was rather confused. The uniforms were worn out , not impressive at all. The management needs to prioritise on some key improvements needed at this hotel. Its a beautiful property with alot of potential . Apart from the conference guest the hotel didnt seem to have other many guest , seems low season .

Nearby there a number of places to visit , all clubs restaurants supermarket - nakumatt are close by . The hotel is however very far from the airport and one needs to cross the ferry then drive for another 20 - 30 minutes to get to the hotel.

On the first day the breakfast was rather poor but on the second day it had improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for having stayed with us and more so for your valuable observations and comments. The management has put up comprehensive plan to have a face lift of the facility.

We are doing quite a lot at the moment through training to improve on all guests services and we will surely address your observation on the staff who looked overwhelmed. The staff uniforms are on order and the staff will obviously look more elegant.

The by pass road construction has begun and when finished it will ease the ferry congestion and reduce the connection time to south coast.

Once again, we wish to thank you most sincerely for your observation and candid comments that will help us improve and we assure you of our unwavering dedication to offering customer services that surpasses guest expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Diani beach is a beautiful place but its quite a distance from the airport as you have to go over a pontoon and the traffic to get to the pontoon is ridiculous.
However, this resort was a great choice, the service is great, the rooms are clean. It would be nice if they could just up the standards in the room, eg the little box tv needs to be replaced with a flat screen.
They charge for laundry, all I needed was for my dress to be ironed and I was charged alot. Also, theres a little boutique by the lobby of the hotel where one can get clothes or a bikini, sandals but expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We feel very encouraged with your positive comments and the constructive observations.

Crossing the ferry can be hectic but also smooth at certain times. There is a by pass road currently under construction that will relief the pressure from thr ferry and make it easier and quicker to cross over either way.

The facility will soon be upgraded and the television sets are being replaced with the modern flat screens. We have taken note of your comment about boutique prices and this we promise you that they will be reviewed.

We thank you most sincerely and assure you that we are receptive to, and take seriously, every comment given to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I had to wait at lease an hour to get our room ready during check in but we forgot about this after getting our room. We stayed in a sea facing room and the view from there was breathtaking! The staff was also very nice and friendly but a little bit slow. The food was good although there isn't much to choose from.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back..if we got the same room ;-)

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a shared garden and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your positive comments and observations.

We always endeavour to give guest quick check in but we have taken note of your slow check in service and will have this rectified. Taken note of slow service and this is being addressed and corrected by our continous trainings. The chef has also taken note of the food variety and constant change of menu variety is in place.

We thank you for your comments and we will definately give you the same room (if available) on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Hotel

Address: Diani Beach N Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO DIANI BEACH - KENYA!Welcome to the Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort, situated directly at beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa for an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km and the airport about 42 km away from the hotel. In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Leisure Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.