We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise but they can do better with the rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ukunda, Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is paradise but they can do better with the rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Diani beach is a beautiful place but its quite a distance from the airport as you have to go over a pontoon and the traffic to get to the pontoon is ridiculous.
However, this resort was a great choice, the service is great, the rooms are clean. It would be nice if they could just up the standards in the room, eg the little box tv needs to be replaced with a flat screen.
They charge for laundry, all I needed was for my dress to be ironed and I was charged alot. Also, theres a little boutique by the lobby of the hotel where one can get clothes or a bikini, sandals but expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We feel very encouraged with your positive comments and the constructive observations.

Crossing the ferry can be hectic but also smooth at certain times. There is a by pass road currently under construction that will relief the pressure from thr ferry and make it easier and quicker to cross over either way.

The facility will soon be upgraded and the television sets are being replaced with the modern flat screens. We have taken note of your comment about boutique prices and this we promise you that they will be reviewed.

We thank you most sincerely and assure you that we are receptive to, and take seriously, every comment given to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    41
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
30
48
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I had to wait at lease an hour to get our room ready during check in but we forgot about this after getting our room. We stayed in a sea facing room and the view from there was breathtaking! The staff was also very nice and friendly but a little bit slow. The food was good although there isn't much to choose from.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back..if we got the same room ;-)

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a shared garden and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your positive comments and observations.

We always endeavour to give guest quick check in but we have taken note of your slow check in service and will have this rectified. Taken note of slow service and this is being addressed and corrected by our continous trainings. The chef has also taken note of the food variety and constant change of menu variety is in place.

We thank you for your comments and we will definately give you the same room (if available) on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit while on an international scientific conference. the facility has Great Conference facilities. Food and service is awesome. The rooms are well organised and everything works beyond expectation. I had a hard time getting a taxi at Ukunda to get me to the facility though, and ended up riding in a matatu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't trust the photos on the website, they must of been taken years ago. Very old style hotel with dorm rooms more than hotel rooms. Decor is early 90's and in desperate need of a change. Also website doesn't tell you it's situated more than 1hours drive and ferry crossing from Mombasa airport.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a great vacation at this Resort 4 years ago.
Things have changed, poor Services, poor maintenance, Need of up Lifting.

A great Resort, great Location but Need improvements.
Could be the very best at Mombasa.

Room Tip: ,114 a very spacious apt. great vieww
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The waiters are permanently rude/unhelpful - me thinks they are not motivated, the housekeeping staff are the exact opposite. ICPAK sent us there, I was expecting good quality service. One of the pools on the hotel side (they have the club side) has an ugly blue paint peeling off. The rooms are not too bad but no ironing board (they pride themselves as a conference facility). The food is terrible- the buffet is limited with very hard meat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

kindly dear friends do not i mean do not visit this hotel,worst service and not even two grade standard hotel .its all fancy on the outside but third class rather live in a shack..the worst i mean worst , aweful staff littrally staff stinck.. with sweat ..please geaneral manager do something or borrow money for financial controller

Room Tip: just dont choose room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leisure Lodge Beach,Golf and Conference Resort, situated directly at the beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!The Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa at an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km and the airport about 42 km away from the hotel. In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.