We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, delicious food, very friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Southern Palms Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, delicious food, very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent this summer 10 days at this resort and I can say: it was worth every single day! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and big enough for all my stuff.
The food was great and rich in variety!
I can really recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Bauschti C,

We are very pleased to read your review and especially when you say in your own words "worth every single day".
From the rich variety of food , the very friendly and helpful staff to the clean and big rooms, what can we say? we are happy when you are happy.


Thank you for staying with us, please do visit us again soon.

Thank you and best regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    340
    99
    31
    25
See reviews for
252
472
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great location on the end of Diani beach. Great staff and wonderful pool area. The breakfast and dinner buffet was good at first, but got a bit tedious at the end. They are carving a wonderful fruit display and had a lot of desserts, but the desserts didn't taste much.
All in all a great stay with a little room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Benjamin B,

Thank you Benjamin for the review on Southern Palms Beach Resort, we are happy that you found the hotel wonderful especially the beach and the huge pools, the staff are happy to hear that they met with your approval.
As for the food, breakfast and dinner are our heaviest in both variety and quantity and we regret that you fell tired of both at the end, Dinner has the most variety because we have a 14 theme night for the main restaurant and should you fancy other options, then there was always the famous Grill Restaurant which is a favorite to most guests or even the Italian, it is astonishing that with all these one could get bored, but we do understand the human factor is a challenge to tackle, Never the less we are flexible and will look into ways of improving the variety as well as the deserts, In the mean time we are glad you found the fruit carving display fascinating.

We look forward to your next visit in Kenya and in Southern Palms . Karibu Tena!

Thank you and Kind regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've put May 2013, as it won't let me say the year we went!

We honeymooned here in 1995 and from the pictures it hasn't changed at all, but then it didn't really need to. A late check-in and overnight stay after the flight to Nairobi and an early call to meet our safari bus the next morning, didn't give us a chance to see much of the hotel at first.

Returning from some of Kenya's stunning countryside and National Parks (Ambroseli, Tsavo, the Masai Mara) we were so pleased to have picked this hotel as it allowed us to just relax in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel and enjoy just lazing around after our hectic and fabulous safari. The pools were superb, the food seemingly endless, varied and high quality, and the service couldn't have been better.

We returned to the same room we'd left on our first night and awoke to the sun each morning rising from the becalmed ocean. Perfect!

We met life-long friends (also on honeymoon and the same safari) and can't think of a better way for us all to celebrate our 20th (maybe have to be our 25th?) anniversary than to go back to Diani Beach.

The one downside which spoiled something that the staff all tried so hard to make enjoyable for us, was when you strayed from the poolside to the beach or outside the hotel grounds, where you had to tolerate locals trying to tempt you with and endless "You buy?", but I guess this is something you expect in such areas of the World.

Maybe 2015, but if not then hopefully 2020!

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room with a balcony. Avoid the 'touts' on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear AndreaRob 124,

Greetings to you both. It was wonderful to learn that you still have such
fond memories of your honeymoon at Southern Palms,and your safari in our
wonderful country.

We were all delighted to know that everyone here made such a good impression
and that everything about the hotel pleased you ­ the quality and variety of
the food, the service, the grounds and the pools.

It lifts our spirits to know that you made lifelong friends during your
vacation with us, and we promise you a very special greeting when you return
to celebrate your 20th (or maybe 25th) wedding anniversary here at Southern
Palms.

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just returned after 10 days holidays in Kenya. We spent our time at this perfect hotel with excellent service and staff. We had ground floor facing pool room which was really the perfect one. We enjoyed our time with the animation team of the hotel. All the people were extremely friendly making you feel special guest. We were fully relaxed. Thank you all for the great time we spent and hope to return Southern palm very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dora A

Hello Dora. Thank you so much for your very kind review.

Everyone here was thrilled to know that you rated Southern Palms, that
service and staff as excellent.

It was good that your vacation left you feeling totally relaxed (that's what
holidays are for) and you were made to feel special ­ because all our guests
ARE special to us and we thank you for noticing that.

We look forward very much to meeting up with you again.

Asante sana

Thank you and kind regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from Southern Palms, our 3rd visit. Things are nobetter for the Kenyans they are` terribly poor and it would be a great help if tourists would emply the local to organise their trips. Or take a boat down the Congo river a great bird watching trip. Take time to get to know a local person they are kind and friendly, just desperate. The hotel was good. Our problem was the ferry, we had to wait 5 and a half hours to get on it. Completely unacceptble after a long flight. The ministry of tourism needs to sort this out quickly. Tourists will not put up with this. It has not happened to us before but a new company has apparently taken over and is rather keen on a bribe.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK as the entertainment does not go on after 11pm so you are not kept awakr
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Cliff43

Thank you so much for your review and knowledgeable observations about life
in our wonderful country. Indeed, it would be so beneficial to everyone if
more tourists took time to learn more about the way of life here.

We were so happy to learn that you found Southern Palms was still as good as
ever on this, your third visit. Long may you continue to grace us with your
presence.

We sympathise with your problem on the Likoni ferry and your terribly long
wait to make the crossing. As you are aware, these kind of events are
completely beyond our control but we will make representations on your
behalf.

Once again, asante sana for your comments and we look forward to
welcoming you back, hopefully next year.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was the best holiday ive ever had the food and staff were excellent there were 2 exceptional members of staff said hassan rasso waiter In the entertainment area and Steven shisha from the beach bar. A must try is the Italian restaurant excellent chef the manager elias, waiter's Gideon, musya, rijan, cicily, joyce, salim, they all made you feel special and nothing was to much trouble this was an amazing holiday come back feeling very refreshed thankyou to everyone at southern palms xxx

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Christine L,

Greetings Christine!!, glad to hear that this was the best holiday ever for you and that you went back home refreshed .
We are happy that you loved the food especially in the Italian restaurant and your days were made memorable by our staff Rasso and Steve among others, your kind words have been passed to them and they are happy that you remembered them, Elias the restaurant manager is also happy to hear from you.
Thank you for choosing Southern Palms for your holiday, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future. Karibu Tena.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

awesome place. did safari with somak holidays and then to southern palms. staff are fantastic, from the gardeners, guards, waiters and right through to the top, brilliant. had one week here and was totally relaxed. great swimming pools, swim up bar and all food outlets. fantastic beach. no trouble with monkeys, milipedes everywhere, some hedgehogs, crabs,etc, a great place. hope to go back again.

Room Tip: we had 143, ground floor with sea view. better view on uppers floors but we located 2 sun beds outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Dizzy,

Greetings to you Dizzy, we are glad to hear from you and more so to know that you had a wonderful and relaxed time with us, the food is always a delight and our biggest achievement, but so is having our ever friendly and brilliant staff and clean beautiful surroundings for every guest to feel warm and accommodated.
We are happy that you loved the little Rafikis, who love to visit and leave many of our guests amazed especially the cheeky monkeys.

We do look forward to your next visit with us in the near future, Karibu Tena.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.