We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diani House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Diani House to your Saves list
Hotel Diani House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road | Diani, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Diani House!!!!
An Amazing property with Suni Antelope and Colobus monkeys to watch whilst sitting on the verandah.
Great pool over looking the gorgeous ocean. very comfortable rooms and excellent seafood feasts leaving the kitchen, rarely have we eaten so well !
The staff were friendly and always happy to help.
Diani house is central and right on the beach yet you feel far away from everything!
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngr1r, General Manager at Hotel Diani House, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Diani House has recently undergone extensive renovations and is now under new management.
The new team look forward to receiving you as well as your encouraging reveiws.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just the best place to be! Excellent chef, wonderful location, beautiful place and welcoming hosts! Helen and Richard are awesome. The house is cozy and clean. Good to have a car to visit different places around and ask the hosts for best restaurants. Watch out for the monkeys they are excellent food thieves but otherwise amusing to watch. Highly reccomend diani house!!! Who knew Robert Kennedy (J.F Kennedys brother) stayed there many years back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The place is beautiful and the staff very nice but it is not worth the price: 10,500 shillings per person day YET we could not eat when we wanted to, with small kids having to wait until 9AM to have breakfast is not ideal. We didn’t have enough food for breakfast (6 paying adults…) and the owner was quite unpleasant when we asked for more sausages…We were told the alcohol drinks were below bar price (no price listed) but when we got the bill it was bar price …and the owners to be frank are too present…nobody wants to see the owner around when you’re renting their property unless there is a problem!!
In summary, for a large group, you better off renting a house with your own chef and do your own shopping-it will be cheaper and more intimate…
Hosna

Room Tip: Don't choose the room too close to 40 thieves, depending on the wind direction, you could have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Mixed emotions about this place. I've stayed at Diani House three times now, as well as twice at the same owners' place in Naivasha. Both of the properties are amazing, the staff are great, and the owners were welcoming. During my last stay at Diani House, however, the owners made it clear I was inconveniencing them. They noted in an email that they "have been holding this weekend for you for ages", when I had only requested that they reserve one night, leaving them with “no option at this late stage to take a loss on your booking”. I thought we could clear up their misunderstanding with a phone call but they were equally impolite.

Because Diani House had been great on previous occasions, I since recommended it to friends who went there a few weekends ago. Following their experience, where they were made to feel unwelcome as well, none of us will go back or continue to recommend their properties.

If you don’t like people staying at your home then don’t rent it out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Three work colleagues traveled during the low season and stayed at Diani house. The food was fantastic, and the staff very accommodating. The room was always cleaned nicely. The view was great with a fantastic pool. The only issue was that the bottled water was always out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have been going to Diani House for years and years, the last time was in January 2011.
It is home from home, you can be as private and secluded as you want to be, or can join the other guests. The location is perfect, right on a pristine beach and warm Indian Ocean. The food is delicious, fresh and local.
Helen and Richard (Owners) are welcoming, knowledgable and discreet.
I would highly recommend it and am looking forward to spending more time there myself with family and friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just PERFECT.They are spacious and airy, you can sit outside your room on the vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I had come to celebrate my 1st wedding anniv with my wife to Diani. Chose south coast over north coast because of the quality of beaches.
I had the room rental fixed at 15K
(KSh)per night. I entered the property, and it was empty and we were the only guests, thought it was possibly a low season;
We sat for the breakfast, and wow our cereals had ants. The owner blames the grocerry shop for ants. Next comes tea with cookies in the evening, the cookies were heated in the microwave oven to have the moisture taken out of them. These cookies smelt like they were very old. Again the owner blames the grocerry shop; next I had asked for a trip to wasini island, he told me the minimum price was 135 usd per head and I had the me trip planned for 45 usd from another agency; the rooms had no ac, no tv; I had to walk down to the kitchen to get anything.
I later next day shifted to Indian Ocean beach resort for a tariff of 13.5K for me and my wife and the resort was simply wow !

And ya, to compensate the old stuff the diani house fed us with, the owner promiced a bottle of wine which was never given :)

All in all Don't waste your money on this accomodation...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#1 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#11 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diani House

Address: Beach Road | Diani, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diani House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional settlers holiday house set in indigenous coastal gardens with breathtaking beach views, Diani house offers pure relaxed luxury. The epitome of 'shaggy chic'with wonderful food, great service and every need catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Diani House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diani House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.