We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Splendid Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My family and I visited on this site after rave reviews on this site.

The food, the rooms and staff were simply wonderful. There is also excellent entertainment each day for the family such as a Live Band, Karaoke etc. The only issues I had was with the welcome on arrival. I had two small issues though:
i) no valet to receive us at the reception on arrival;
ii) no hot towel to wipe off the sweat on arrival; and
iii) we were only served with juice after the manager intervened.

If the above can be improved, I will say it is a perfect place!!

James

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear James
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with others, we note with concern areas where we didn’t measure up to your expectations on arrival.
We have 24hrs porter service and it’s unfortunate that you missed this on arrival, chilled towel and a welcome drink is a standard and is given to all our guests. We have taken corrective measures to ensure this does not happen to anyone in future.
We are glad you appreciated the rooms, food and that our staff being the biggest asset that we pride in were simply wonderful.
We look forward to host you again in the very near future.

On Behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari-Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    113
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
173
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Second stay at this wonderful place.

We stayed at the Leopard Beach Resort & Spa from 12th to 16th March 2014, in the new private villa: Pambazuka Villa A29/B29, which has been so tastefully decorated, with its own private pool. Although the private villas are a distance from the main hotel and the beach, they have golf carts to take guests back and forth (multiple times daily, day and night, the staff never seem to tire! call them and they are there, kudos!) Absolutely loved it!!!!!

The hotel has everything set up so well. Throughout the property there has been a lot of attention to detail; from the gardens to the furniture. Several bars and restaurants at site cater for a wide taste. They have created such a good ambience.

During our stay we experienced the best hospitality, the staff were so friendly and always happy to provide assistance, always asking if everything is ok, went out of their way to meet any special requirements (we requested for changes in meal plans, special meals - all very well catered for... with a smile). Probably the best staff I have come across in the hotels within Kenya.

Also worthy of mention is the excellent service provided at the pools and on the beach by the attendants/waiters. We got our drinks/food/ice-cream brought to us on the beach. The beach is clean, soft white sand, with clear water. We also utilised the spa which has been setup so well, with professional staff. The pool by the spa (over 16yrs only) is very peaceful, a good place to relax.

The food was good, decent variety during breakfast. They had themes during diner, with good choice of food. Personally, I was very satisfied with what they had to offer during the meals.

Oh, and they have free Wi-Fi throughout the resort!! So convenient!

There is one thing that I would like the resort to have: a bar on/near the beach. That would be perfect given the current setup they have.

Only problem is, the holiday ended too quick!!

Had such a wonderful time that I am already looking forward to being there again for the third time!!

Dipen Chudasama

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Dipen Chudasama,

Wow! What a great review! More so that you are already looking forward to being here for the third time, Asante Sana!
The Residences; “Newest kid on the Block” at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa were aimed at creating a holiday home away from home.They not only give you space, but also highly promote privacy and tranquillity for each Villa has its own swimming pool. Pambazuka (which is a Swahili word meaning dawn) brings new tidings every morning with a whole new experience with the Chui’s. The Golf carts are meant to enhance comfort of our guests and proximity to all the hotel facilities in the shortest time possible; our dedicated staff will be at your door step as soon as you need them.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has for the last four years been voted by the World Travel Awards as Kenya’s Leading Resort and we take great pride in our staff who has consistently offered excellent service to our guests. We are delighted that you experience this refreshing Chui hospitality.
We have a 14 days cyclical menu to ensure a dynamic meal experience throughout your stay since we have a huge percentage of long staying clients, we are happy to know you found this evident during your stay and more so enjoyed it. The Uzuri Spa that gave us the award of Africa’s Leading Spa Resort in 2013 has is the quiet zone with a pool strictly utilized by adults over 16years. This is to further enhance tranquillity for those seeking a quiet holiday and need absolute privacy.
WIFI is provided at the Residences, rooms and at the Kalani coffee Lounge to enable our guests stay in touch with their loved ones and also for those on a working holiday to stay connected with their office anytime they wish.
At the moment the pool bar serves all our guests on the beach and we have waiters at your service throughout the day, however we have noted your recommendation.
It will be a joy to host you again soon!

On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just returned from Leopard Beach Resort where we stayed for 6 days after a weeks safari. We arrived in the late evening and were very tired after a long journey. We were met by a relaxed, friendly and charming receptionist who had up-graded us to a honeymoon cottage - we have been married for 40 years this year, so not what we expected! The cottage was out of this world as is the rest of the hotel. The staff are amazing, always smiling and helpful. The hotel has, without a shadow of a doubt, the Best position along the beach and is in a class of it's own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Janet K,
We are thrilled to read such a positive review from you! Thank you very much.
The first impression is always the lasting impression! We are glad we were able to welcome you warmly and show you true Kenyan hospitality. We take delight in sharing the special memories with our guests and are thrilled to know your 40th Anniversary was made special by an upgrade to a honeymoon Suite. We have since highly appreciated our receptionist who did us proud by making your stay with us special.
We for sure enjoy the best location on the Diani coast and concur with you that we strive to be best in everything we do having been voted Kenya’s Leading Resort for four years in a row by the World Travel Awards!
Welcome again to this paradise and we can assure you of a memorable stay with us!
On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Coming down from Nairobi for a weekend break I could not have chosen a more fitting place to relax and unwind. The staff are super friendly, the food was varied and I found amazing, tranquil spots to enjoy the beach and stunning views from. The superior room was very comfortable boasting a peaceful outside patio area to enjoy the wonderful bird-life and monkeys inhabiting the resort. Also had my first ever experience at a spa and I must say I was made to feel very comfortable and enjoyed the experience thoroughly.

I will not hesitate to book my next local beach holiday here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Amrish Shah,
Thank you for taking time to tell us and others how your stay at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa was!

We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us – it certainly is a good place to unwind from the busy city and a week at the office.

We are so glad you got to truly relax at our award-winning Uzuri Spa and our professional staff made you feel comfortable – as our sign says: Tough men need pampering too!

We offer 14 days cyclical theme nights to guarantee a varied meal experience and are glad this was evident. We are looking forward to your next stay and we will make it very special indeed!

On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and our 4yr old daughter stayed here and we loved the ambiance of the Hotel. Most of the staff were friendly. Had a bit of a problem with the staff by the pool side. We had to go up to the restaurants to get there attention and even then the service was I bit slow.

The food in the main restaurant was a bit blend for my taste. I had rosemary potatoes that tasted plain and the vegetable were over cooked, most of the food in general was blend, but the Pizzas were awesome!

Apart from that it is a very beautiful place! You get to see Colobus monkeys from so close!! They were sited on our balcony all we had to do was open the curtains and enjoy the view and when you're sun basking they do not approach you but instead keep there distance.

You get to drink fresh coconuts from a local vendor on the beach and can also arrange for a glass boat ridge and the hotel will also help you book a boat to go and see the wild dolphins.

I'd recommend this place to friends and family any time. They just need a little improvement and are definitely good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sheetal ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a balanced review, highlighting the areas where you feel we excelled as well as where we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will strive to ensure non recurrence.

Our friendly staff and beautiful nature to indeed remain our biggest assets – in fact the Colobus Monkeys are an endangered species who are a pleasure to welcome to our gardens. They feed on nothing but plants and tend to be quite shy so they pose no threat or nuisance to our guests.

The Chui Adventure Centre located at the Resort takes care of all your water sports adventures, including glass-bottom boat rides accompanied by well-trained staff and excursions to Wasini Island where you can spot dolphins and snorkel in the Kisite marine park.

Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to make your next stay with us truly special.

On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was staying in the Room 212 The Place is Bueatiful and Paredisseng is Up on the Reef and has lots of Ponts Froogs and Fish in the Water they have small Waterfalls with surrounding with Trees and is so Green and near to the Beach

Is a nice there.I have just one Problem about the Water Prices I was Paying 260 Schilling on the 1st Day and on the next Day i had a Water and was Paying 225 Schilling so I wandering what is the real Price

What me is very Bothering is on the 7 th in the Morning is a Cat was been Eating a Ham Street Cats are not belonging to the Area where the Any Food or Buffed is.Even in Dinner Time in a Hotel Resort
As also the Drinks the Water it Should be Included the Price and if you take the Water they Say is not Permited there

I have been Feeling that the Sales they make is more Importent is than any other else
In Room Number 212 I had Ants on my Bed and on the Floor so thats a Other Thing it should be not Happen

On the Beach you get Botherd from People seeling Things in a Area like that as a Resort thts sould be not Happen If same one gose there he wants hes Freedoom

I would not suggest, or propose even to sameone to stay there couse of the Value you Pay

Marc

Room Tip: Check first Befor you go in the Room and make Clear if there a Ants Complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Marc,
Thank you for taking time to review us! We value your personal opinion.
We glad you appreciate that our resort is a paradise with abundant natural beauty and that’s exactly why others keep coming back and have voted us Kenya’s Leading Resort for four years in a row. With beautiful nature also comes small ants – these can be attracted by the use of sugar and the dedicated cleaning team is on standby to deal with such issues. Your feedback is of paramount importance to us and that’s why we have taken time to go through your bills to establish if you actually paid different prices for water under your room number. We only have one price across all our outlets and applicable to all our guests, we don’t have different price reflected for water in your bills except the official price of KES 260 which is the official price. We apologise for any confusion caused.
We have several fully vaccinated, tame cats on the premises as a method of natural pest control. While many guests delight in their company we realise this is not true for everyone; we therefore feed them on a daily basis at their designated Cat Cafes away from any restaurants. While therefore unnecessary, unfortunately some guests feed the cats themselves and as a result they once in a while follow them. Staff is instructed to discourage this practice.
While we appreciate that you would like to enjoy the beautiful beach undisturbed, it is public property and as such we cannot take away the freedom of the Kenyan beach vendors making their livelihood on the beach. However, our beach attendants are always present to ensure you can enjoy the beach areas on the hotel’s grounds in peace.
On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Leopard beach hotel and spa is by far the best hotel i have been to,their service is superb :)Shoutout to my good friend joan and ann who were very pleasant and assisted my husband and I.The food is to die for,scrumptous and very delish,the sous chef is just the ONE.We
actually were on our honeymoon so it was pretty special for leopard team of staff to settle us in a beautiful room facing the sea,they also provided us with a fruit basket and a beautiful gift .The ambience in the horizon restaurant,mario and marco pub was on point,,heavenly i must add :)We went round diani to compare leopard beach nothing came close to it .;).At the end of our trip,Joan took us round to see the new villas they have on offer,2 bedroomed and 3 bedroomed.one word sums it all up,SPECTACULAR AND AWESOME....Next time we definately have to try them out with our close friends.We were treated to a massage being that we are newly weds,wow is all i can say,it was so relaxing, we slept right through it..the spa is worth trying out.I cant be able to express the awesome 5 days we had in leopard beach all i can say is that anyone who is in diani or planning a vacation in diani,this is the hotel to go for.;)Miss it already.....

Room Tip: I really liked the cottages,ask for rooms with a sea view,breathtaking when you wake up in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Cynthia N,

Thanks for such an amazing review!

I can attest to the fact that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for the special mention! Joan and I are very pleased that we added value to your honeymoon.

Our chef is very proud to know that you enjoyed his delicacies throughout your stay; honeymooners are special guests to us and we delight in ensuring you take back with you memories of a lifetime to consider us every year on your anniversary! We sure look forward to hosting you in the New Residences for a spectacular experience!

Our Spa has brought us so much joy and last year the World Travel Awards voted us Africa’s Leading Spa Resort which is a true reflection of your experience. We are only sorry the massage was so effective that you could not stay awake to enjoy it! We every year dedicate two months to continuous improvement of the ambience of the Resort through renovations and product upgrades. We are glad that is this appreciated by majority of our guests who keep coming to us and look forward to something refreshing every year!

We truly appreciate you recommending us to everyone planning a holiday in Diani and we promise them all an experience of a lifetime!

Cythia I can’t wait to host you again with your family!

Karibu sana !

On behalf of Chui Management
Ann Safari- Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.