We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in all areas !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic in all areas !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just had couple of nights with the family and as repeat guest I can definitely see a lot of very positive changes. Especially loved the the new horizon restaurant and the whiskey bar.

Was shocked to read the last review as the staff are what I always find especially good at Leopard Beach. Every meal I was greeted with warm smiles and friendly service and this was standard pretty much everywhere I went in the hotel.

It is obvious why this hotel has won so many awards as it offers fantastic value for money and is the ideal place to have a break and enjoy the best of Kenyan hospitality

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear GooseKenya,
Thank you for your continued support to Leopard Beach Resort and Spa. We note with great pleasure that the new changes in the resort are evident and greatly appealed to you. The new look of the Horizon Restaurant is meant to create an open air dining experience with the great views of the Indian Ocean and this has been a great value add to the ambience. The Wines & Whiskers Bar serves over 120 different types of wines especially from the Southern Hemisphere giving wine lovers a very wide choice and enhancing the food and wine harmony.

The staff remain the greatest asset we have and we pride in knowing that you as a repeat guest can attest to this , thank you for taking time to share with others . we are humbled by the 2013 awards as Africa’s Leading Spa Resort and Kenya’s Leading Resort voted by majority of our repeat guests like you . we remain committed to excellent customer service and a true delight to all our guests.

On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari –Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    102
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
131
166
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Pick up, was right on time, was fine
Check in, no welcome towel or cocktail, process was not too long.
Room clean, towels old, rough, perhaps they should invest in fabric softener.
Spa, welcome warm, booking a treatment, pleasant
Treatment, very very nice and enjoyable
Lunch, unwelcoming reception by hostess at horizon restaurant before being booted to another restaurant which was even worse by a waiter called Gideon.
Dinner, no hostess to welcome, Gideon there again, made a drink order, he put it on another table. Lady said she hadn't ordered it, had been sitting on her table for over 5 minutes, then Gideon brings it over and has the audacity to ask if I had ordered it. Decided to cancel the order only for him to bring the 'same' drink in a totally different glass.
Seems the staff only hover and make a hustle over certain visitors.
Had visited the place a couple of years ago, had poor service, discovered a nearby hotel that treated us better so we would go there.
Traveling solo can make one notice things that may have been overlooked if distracted by good company or any company. Clearly leopard beach resort has its clientele and is not looking at new ones.
I however commend the staff at uzuri spa and the adult quiet pool area
Wifi is bad
No turn down service

Had breakfast on day 2, not surprising, hostess was sitting specific people, sat all through breakfast without any of my used crockery and cutlery being cleared, but they Gideon had time to come make sure the bill from last night was signed.

Had a Swahili night on one of the evenings, was commendable. Lovely BBQ.
All in all, the resort is beautiful, but the staff are not well trained.
Would not recommend staying there, but the spa is great!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sheerowbabe,
Thank you for choosing to come and try Leopard Beach Resort & Spa again following a previous not so good experience a couple of years back.. We take seriously any guest feedback and are very grateful for acknowledging areas where we actually met your expectations and areas where in your opinion we didn’t measure up. A chilled towel and a welcome drink are a standard for every guest on arrival and its sad indeed that you missed out on this, the first ever brought to our attention. Check in however was smooth and pick up was well coordinated. We also note with pride that your experience at the Spa was great, the Uzuri Spa has just been voted Africa’s Leading Spa Resort in the 2013 Travel Awards and this is a testimony to your experience. We do a Swahili BBQ once a week to give our guests that authentic Coastal experience and notably you enjoyed this night and loved the food.

Our Market share has a significant number of Lone Travelers and we value them greatly as they keep coming back to us. We have a non discrimination policy in place and we treat all our guests equally at all times. Your one off experience with Gideon has been noted with regret, taken very seriously and addressed very conclusively to ensure this will never happen to any other guest. We take great pride in our long serving and well trained restaurant hostesses who have received endless accolades from many of our guests and we have to believe your opinion on them as an exception assuring you that we receive and seat all our guests equally.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has recently again been voted Kenya’s Leading Resort and has its own clientele and is growing the clientele base daily internationally and in particular locally where we depend on our otherwise excellent ‘’word of mouth’’ reputation. We take great exception in your statement that “Clearly leopard beach resort has its clientele and is not looking at new ones”. You surely will have noted the many major improvements to our Horizon Restaurant with its sweeping views over the Indian Ocean, the addition of Wines & Whiskers with a unique choice of over 120 quality wines, the extended fine dining now air conditioned addition to our Chui Grill and the totally revamped Kalani WIFI Coffee Lounge. These improvements are solely geared and unlike other resorts to meet increased demands as we constantly grow our market share and embrace every new client equally who checks into our resort.
We would have appreciated immediate feedback while you stayed with us as we communicate to our guests and turn a perceived unpleasant experience to pleasant ones if only brought to our attention – Our Chui Management team can be contacted at any time for that very purpose.

Do not hesitate to come once more and we assure you of a great experience in what you have certainly acknowledged as a beautiful Resort and we will make it up for you in areas where you felt we fell short of your expectations.

Thank you most sincerely for taking time to share your experience and we look forward to host you again soon.

On Behalf of Chui Management

Ann Safari-Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This resort is clean and tidy and pretty. I'm amazed people say the food is great here as the food didnt have much taste to it and was very similiar each day. Ok to stay on the beach part overseen by the hotel but once you try to walk out to the sea or anywhere else for that matter you get bombarded with people trying to sell you stuff or take you on a trip, this gets very tedious after a while. Watch out for the monkeys, someone in a neighbouring room waved there hands around to shoo a monkey off their patio and the monkey lunged at them and bit their leg quite badly.
The hotel is of a good standard but after reading so many fantastic reviews we were expecting something a bit more fancy. We had also just come from the Swahilli Beach Resort which is an amazing 5 star hotel along the road so may have been spoilt a bit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear AmandaJanex,
Thank you for taking time to review our Resort which has been voted for as Africa’s’ Leading Spa Resort and also for the fourth year running as Kenya’s’ Leading Resort at the 2013 prestigious World Travel Awards. This is based on our guest and trade partners votes and we note that you do not share this opinion in some aspects of your stay with us. We however appreciate that you acknowledge our Resort as ‘clean, tidy and pretty’. Unlike others we have never claimed to be a 5 star resort but are widely recognized as a very good and well established 4 star resort and accordingly our rates are also far more reasonable by offering nevertheless good value for money. Despite this we have far more to offer than any of our competitors with a range of four a la carte outlets, a main restaurant with stunning sea views, simply the best cocktail bars and unlike others who offer cask wines by the glass we have a wine cellar offering no less than 120 wines – all of which are reasonably priced and of excellent quality.

With a fourteen days cyclical menu that is meant to give our clients a dynamic meal experience throughout their stay and except for breakfast where some food items MUST be repeated every day, our lunches and Dinners are changing every day and include various themes and also our renowned weekly Seafood Beach BBQ.

Monkeys in our compound are a natural phenomenon and we have signage’s alerting guests not to tease or feed Monkeys as these are after all wild animals and incidences are very rare indeed. They are harmless unless provoked and this brief is given to guests on check in. The Monkeys are not only at the Leopard Beach Resort & Spa but are found in most of the Coastal areas as this is their natural habitat

While many of other guests appreciate the local people on beach enhancing their experience through beach and reef walks you regrettably found this tedious but it is meant to enrich your stay in the country. No hotel has any control over areas beyond their premises and but we can assure you that guests are secure while on our beautiful white sandy public beaches.

Yes , our hotel is of very good standard and while we didn’t meet your expectations on what you described as “Fancy” we truly appreciate you reading all the previous reviews which are mostly a true testimony of what we are to our guests and hope you can give us another chance to change your opinion after all

Thank you once more for your review.

On behalf of the Chui Management,
Ann Safari-Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful white sandy beaches, expansive gardens and rooms. good service and sporting activities. the staff are friendly and caring. the hotel offers privacy and persona;l space amidst all the guests and activities.

Room Tip: Look out for the beach view rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Domondi,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others, We are glad that you had an excellent get away and a really quiet retreat at our Resort. our lush tropical gardens, different dining options and ours bars create the right ambience for privacy and tranquility.
We now have in addition the new Villa complex called The Residences ……….A Resort within a Resort that features 2 and 3 bedroom forest and pool villas set on 15 hectares of land. This comes with the LemonGrass Asian Fusion Specialty restaurant and the Grasshopper bar overlooking the rock pool all set to open in early 2014 thereby offering even more facilities and services to select from.

This gives a better reason to be with the Chui’s again soon and we truly look forward to host you!
Thank for your business support and we wish a very happy’ peaceful and healthy 2014!


On behalf of Chui Management,
Ann Safari –Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Took the family there for the recent childrens half term holiday.

The ambiance and location of the hotel is no doubt excellent and on most occations the staff was really good. We have twins so we hired a nanny to help with the children and she was very good with them.

The recent renovations has really uplifted the hotel and is that sense has a very modern cripy new look to it.

In my view the food was not up to standard. The meals in the Horizon restaurant were not up to par - the choice was limited and at times i noticed recycled food (dinner things served in breakfast) - having stayed in various hotels the breakfast is the meal most looked foward to - but not here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear SakibSheikh,
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our Resort and we acknowledge with humility that we are indeed an excellent location for a family Holiday. Thank you too for letting others know what the recent renovations have made the Resort look and we truly appreciate your compliments.
We however note with concern that there are areas where we didn’t meet your expectations and wish these issues were raised with us while you were still here. We always go out of our way to cater for individual needs as everyone’s opinion counts to us ; what has been rated as excellent food by others did not appeal to you and we would have loved to tailor make the menu to suit your needs .
We have a two weeks cyclical menus for dinner giving our guests a dynamic meal experience throughout their stay. Breakfast features some authentic Kenyan dishes like arrow roots, sweet potatoes, Pumpkin and we are conscious of the changing life styles to provide mixed vegetables for breakfast highly appreciated by guests along with the full English Breakfast. We NEVER recycle food at all and we have never received such a concern from any of our guests.

Being a senior Reviewer ; having made 87 contributions and visited 161 cities since 2007 we value your opinion and we will be more than happy to host you again in future to make it up for you as we address your expectations.

We have just been voted as Kenya’s Leading Resort and Africa’s Leading Spa Resort by the World Travel Awards 2013 and this is based on the opinion of many guests who have stayed at our Resort over the years. We believe strongly in what our guests tell us and we will strive to improve and ensure a better experience for you next time.

Thank you once more .

Chui Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I still cant get over it that am back to work after five days in Leopard Beach.

It was my first time in South Coast and I bet i want to go back again and to Leopard beach.

Please keep up that level of hospitality. It was awesome...

Overall Rating....Excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Management Response
Dear James,
Thank you very much for your feedback on our Resort that has been voted Africa’s Leading Spa Resort and Kenya’s Leading Resort at the prestigious world Travel Awards 2013. It’s such a joy to know that it was your first time in South Coast and we truly gave you a good reason to come back.

The Chui team looks forward to host again soon to a far much better experience with the winners!

Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I visited Leopard Beach during my honeymoon 8 years ago and I can confirm that it is indeed the best hotel in both North and South Coast. I love Mombasa and travel there every so often and never visit the same place twice. I thus have visited a number of hotels and cottages and I have not found any of the standard of your hotel. First, it is absolutely beautiful and the staff, oohhh the staff. Very friendly and welcoming. Always say hi and chat a bit At the time we were there we were the only local guests and all the staff went out of their way to welcome us, chat with us etc.

Keep it up, Leopard Beach. I have not been back but rest assured the way I have praised it to all and sundry, I have sent business your way. whenever I go to another hotel and the service is not up to scratch, I am tempted to tell them to come to Leopard Beach to learn about service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Management Response,
Dear Rose M,
What a beautiful review taking you 8 years down the memory lane! We are humbled to know that you have visited several hotels and cottages and they have not matched the experience you had with the Chui’s. over the years things are much better and we have consistently retained the trophy for Kenya’s Leading Resort four years in a row; 2010,2011,2012 & 2013. This year over and above we are voted Africa’s Leading Spa Resort and this gives you a reason to come back and sample what has become an haven of great experience.

Every guest matters to us and we do not differentiate local and international guests; we treat them equally and they are the reason we remain in business, we are glad this was evident during your stay. Our staff remain the most precious asset there is and we note with pride that they all went out of their way to make your holiday special.

Thank you for being our ambassador out there and for taking time to share your experience that has remained fresh in your mind for eight years.
Welcome back and please notify us when; we will extend a very special deal to you and your family.

We look forward to host you very soon.

Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.