We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“Fantabulous Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Nairobi, but managed to get 2 nights in at the Leopard Beach Resort. What a GREAT place! Being it winter time there, the weather was perfect in the 60's-70's (F), especially since we came back to a hot summer in Arizona (USA). The grounds are meticulously cared for, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We did the half board which included 2 meals at the Horizon restaurant, and the meals were delicious, especially sitting out on the open deck overlooking the ocean, under a moonlit sky, being serenaded by the evening entertainment. Even though it was short, it was a great way to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. We are planning on another trip to Kenya next year, and the Leopard Beach resort, WILL be on our itinerary. My wife had a truly unique and relaxing experience at the Uzuri Spa, and can't wait to come back to try one of the their other pampering treatments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    120
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
146
177
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well designed hotel with modern & quaint touches. Leopard Beach has been around for a while and having stayed here over 10 years ago was impressed to see they have maintained the place well. The staff were courteous especially since we were not booking in & just wanted a meal. The food was good and the price reasonable for a hotel on this area. Went back a second time and were not dissapointed. The location is superb offering great views of the Indian Ocean with a clean beach front. From what I have seen it is a hotel I would consider staying some time in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Kariuki,

It is always a delight to read from a happy guest, having indulged and enjoyed what we have to offer.

Our sincere gratitude for your patronage, we thank you for your kind compliments on our hospitality and tropical scenery. Thank you for appreciating our competitive pricing a factor we take into great consideration given the very aggressive business environment but still assuring our guests the best quality in product and service.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has undergone major and minor refurbishments over the past couple of years, an exercise that has seen the addition and new spots as we aspire to keep up with the ever changing and diverse trends, we are truly honored that our efforts are recognized as we stand by our commitment to give nothing but the best to our ever discerning customers.
Welcome back again!

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited LBR in July and all I have to say is LBR is simply AWESOME - Everything about LBR was simply perfect ie the Rooms, Staff, Service, Food, Spa etc. Would like to give a special thanks to the management and staff for enabling us to have such a memorable stay. We were in the Villa and the views are simply breathtaking. Highly recommend if you would like to have a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Stukiwi,

Thank you for such an ecstatic review!!

It was an honor to welcome you and we are very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Sea view Villas are indeed unique, stunning views over the sparkling Indian Ocean in the comfort of your private terrace while sipping on a refreshing drink is an environment many would envy... and hopefully wish to indulge in on their next vacation.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have had my share of Spa experiences in many exotic places so I feel well versed to declare that the African massage at Uzuri spa is a world class treatment. I didn't stay at the hotel, it's too big for my taste, but couldn't recommend this massage more highly. Do yourself a favour and try it. I went back for a second treatment it was so good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear VivaTravelcuba,

Thank you ! Where to begin, such a declaration, words cannot describe our appreciation for such an exceptional review.

We are very proud of our Uzuri Spa -widely being recognized as the best on Kenya’s coast- and we shall definitely share your compliments with the rest of our team.

We have taken note of your comments on your preference to hotel settings; perhaps this might interest and hopefully you will consider a stay with us in our new upcoming luxurious Villas – The Residences at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa.

The Residences are a distinctly up-market development of 28 fully furnished and serviced villas each with their own pool set in 15 acres of indigenous forest located within the Leopard Beach Resort & Spa.

The Residences will offer four villa types boasting a modern and spacious design, privacy and security, and a host of facilities and amenities including dining facilities in a new Eastern Fusion Restaurant with its own pool and bar. Guests at the Residences also benefit from the excellent facilities and services of the Resort.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you for another unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited this hotel at the end of June 2013 after our safari for the relaxing 2nd week of our honeymoon.
The hotel is ok, but you need to be careful when you book your room. we were booked in for a garden room which apparently we had been upgraded by the hotel as we were on honeymoon, this to us was no upgrade.
We ended up changing our room, and having to pay 60 euros per person per night (fantastic start to our relaxing honeymoon).
We asked why have not been upgraded to the honeymoon suite, the response was we no do not have a honeymoon suite them it was all ready been booked up they could not tell us anything correct without contraindicating them selves.
This change caused us stress and disappointment, to then have disgusting bugs in our room and paying that money to share your suite with bugs was wrong, we complained to reception who did send housekeeping out but all they did was spray and after a few hours the bugs reappeared (cockroaches).
After a night and 1 day we had, had enough of this so we contacted our tour operator and got moved from the hotel.

BUT before we left the hotel owner/manager was called in and said we should not of been charged for upgrade and the honeymoon suite was available, he made us look around and i said if we were offered this when we complained we would be happyish we would still be looking out for those horrible cockroaches.
We decided we are not happy the staff were very rude and the looks we got were disgusting if they cannot handle a complaint they are truly in the wrong job!!
They also had a lot of flies, as the area where we ate was open, so you had to fight with the flied constantly when eating at the table, the restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Caroline,

We would like to appreciate your choice in selecting Leopard Beach Resort and Spa as one of the destinations on your honeymoon trip .
Having read your comments, please allow us to clarify on some of the issues mentioned;

On arrival; it is true to the fact that a 2 tier complimentary room upgrade was extended to you by the hotel as a kind gesture. It is regrettable to read that the room provided was not to your expectation, a need that was immediately addressed by the manager on duty on the day of your arrival.

It is also true to the fact that out of the options provided by the then manager on duty, given the above need and in your own volution; opted to upgrade to a higher category at a substantial cost that you were all in agreement to.

It is true to the fact that upon your arrival, all our rooms in the Honeymoon suite category were fully booked and it was explained by our staff that complimentary room upgrades are extended subject to room availability, of which was not the case at the time of your arrival.

As a hotel located in a beautiful tropical environment, we are fully aware of what nature has extended to us; that which brings comfort and to the very least discomfort to our guest, it is with this that we carry out regular and extensive preventive practices to include fumigation – an activity that was ongoing even during your stay with us hence the possibility of having these insects take refuge anywhere including the rooms though eventually they succumb to the effects of the fumigation.

You will attest to the fact that soon after our front desk received the report on the presence of cockroaches, prompt action was taken by our Housekeeping team, after which no further complaint was received.

As the hotel management, for the inconveniences caused, we voluntarily offered to waiver the room upgrade charges, a courtesy that you warmly welcomed.

We at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa always encourage constructive customer feedback, contrary to what we have in this case as it is in many ways not portraying the true picture of the situation that was at hand.

We pride ourselves in offering first class service with our renowned Chui Class services receiving a lot of mentions from our previous guest in this forum; we believe our Management team is competent enough to handle the most difficult of situations and in this case our Resident Manager handled your situation diligently showing you all the options we had and waived your upgrade charges mentioned at the time of your leaving the Resort.

This is the first time our staff have been referred to as rude and we take great exception to that particular statement .

Despite the above, we hope you will consider giving us another chance and look forward to making your next visit memorable.

Kind regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family had a wonderful visit at LPH. We were one of the first guests to open the resort on June 28th of this year so it appeared that they were just getting up and running after some 'down time'. Greeted and briefed we headed to our beautiful cottages with fabulous ocean views. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and have all amenities. Showers did not work well in either of our rooms though. either scalding hot water or freezing cold. Called staff to fix, but only got mildly better. No water pressure throughout visit. Restaurant staff was lovely, our hostess greeted us everytime and asked how our visit was going. One particular evening though our son was turned away for his dress (his pants had been sent to be laundered and had yet to return, so all he had were some shorts). I totally understand the 'dress code' and agree that he should return and seek out some pants and shoes more appropriate. He went back to change and shortly after turning him away, the admitted three yound men in 'flip flops' ! A bit disturbing to us, but notheless, just ask that there is some consistency. Beautiful beach and pool area. Wish were weren't so hasseled by the local vendors, but understand this is their livelyhood. Would definitly return to this hotel and spend more time enjoying the facilities.

Room Tip: Cottage 15 & 16 were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Paulawala,

Thank you for taking time to put down this review.

From the outset, our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations in what you described as beautiful cottages with fabulous ocean views. While you found the rooms clean, tastefully decorated and have all amenities, we have noted with great concern that the showers did not work well. We would like to assure you that this is a one off in our top category rooms that have consistently received very positive reviews.

We highly appreciate your objective feedback and we have seriously looked into all the issues to ensure your next stay with us is flawless.

We look forward to welcoming you back and are quite pleased to know that you will give us another chance to show case our famed hospitality, free of any hiccups and the great improvements that we are sure you will appreciate in our efforts to enhance our guests experiences.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Leopard Beach is a beautiful, characterful hotel in a stunning Diani location. We've been many times and still find it magical. There is a great choice of stunning locations to sit, lie in the sun/shade, or just relax in. Including poolside with the waves crashing behind you, under cool palms on sunbeds on/near the beach, on the verandahs or in the gardens, not to mention the many lounges also with great views that would be hard to beat worldwide. The staff are notably welcoming and friendly and we have always had good service here. The gardens are outstanding, even for Diani, which is saying something. The pool is good for children and adults alike and surrounded by palms, bouganvilleas, the ocean... all in all hard to beat. A great and friendly family holiday location with lots of space and different activities on offer for all ages. Amazing beach walks, cats and tortoises in the gardens. Highly recommended. Our only concern is that the hotel is currently expanding at the back and potential over-crowding, as it has always felt welcomingly spacious and uncrowded, even in high season.

Room Tip: There's a big difference between sea-facing and almost sea-facing roms, and those towards the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear NairobiAB,

What a title, we are truly proud and humbled at the same time to learn that our guests befit us of such heading for their comments on the ‘’Chui’s’.

We at Leopard Beach Resort and Spa endevour to give nothing but the best in product and services and cater to all of our guests needs.

We are in particular very proud of our lush tropical gardens and take pride in looking after ‘’our’’cats which are being fed in ‘’cat cafes’’ and the tortoises which are so ‘’happy’’ in their own compound that they keep on breeding.

We have noted your concern on our recent expansion of our luxurious pool villas and the element of potential a possible overcrowding. Please rest assured that this will not be the case as our resort is set in over 30 acres of large gardens and an indigenous forest.

Our villas are designed with exclusivity and privacy each having a private compound with a swimming pool lending themselves to serenity and tranquility; an attribute appreciated by those in search of an even more quiet, relaxing holiday thereby not affecting the desired element of space. On the contrary with the addition of yet another (5th) restaurant ‘Lemongrass’ we will offer the first Asian Fusion Cuisine Restaurant at the coast with it’s own ‘’Grasshopper’’ rockbar overlooking a 3rd swimming pool . We thereby continue offering more than any of our competitors as we constantly strive to improve on our manifold facilities.

We thank you once again for your great review and hope to see you for yet another pleasant holiday.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.