We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this hotel at the end of March 2013. The hotel is very good, but you need to be careful when you book your room. I booked a sea-facing room as I usually do, but when we arrived we learned that "actually" booking a sea-facing room does not guarantee a view of the sea (ocean), so we ended up changing our "sea-facing" room with no view of the ocean at all, which was also very very far from the pool to a standard garden view room, which at least was close to all the facilities. So if you are a fan of a sea-view from your room as I am, book "sea-view" not "sea-facing", which is of cause more expensive. This change caused us a bit of stress and disappointment. Other then that the hotel is very good, the food is also good. I booked full board "plus" for us, which meant food plus drinks during the lunch and dinner hours (only, outside these hours you still have to pay separately), which was not worth it, as one person cannot really drink much when you are eating (unless you are a heavy drinker). So I would recommend just full board without the additional "plus", which costs 30 USD more per person. They also had a lot of flies, as the area where we ate was open, so you had to fight with the flied constantly when eating at the table, but it was a rainy season, which could have been a reason for that. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Other thing that we struggled with was absence of pool umbrellas. Although we found a shadow to stay under by the wall around the pool, it is still not what you expect from the beach hotel, since you have to be lucky enough to get the sunbeds in the shadow of the wall. If you have kids, they have a kids club for some hours a day where they take children to the beach, play with them etc. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the hotel actually quite big with nice gardens around it. They also have a spa, which is very nice, the prices are not cheap, but I guess all the beach hotel spas are usually expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a "sea-view" room, not "sea-facing" as sea-facing does not guarantee a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Liana A,

Thank you for taking time to put down your experience and for sharing your comments with us.
We always appreciate our guest feedback and please allow us to comment in reference to the sea-facing room. Our popular Sea facing superior rooms bring a tasteful blend of modern and stylish ambience with cool tropical breeze from the ocean offering partial views of the ocean which are partially obstructed by our lush tropical gardens; a beauty in its own setting.

Our Chui Class Cottages and suites however guarantee magnificent views of the ocean from the comfort of the room and are located in a private, cool serene setting.

We always ensure that at the point of booking, our rooms descriptions are clearly stated out with the additional benefits that distinguish our various room categories. Our sincere apology if this was not done.

We have also noted on your concern on the Full Board Plus meal option; This was devised to comfortably allow our guest sample and enjoy our tasteful array of a la carte food meal options offered in our various restaurants together with a selection of assorted Alcoholic and Non-alcoholic drinks. This alternative has been highly appreciated by our clientele since we offer contrary to traditional ‘’All Inclusive Resorts’’ for example FRESH juices; local and IMPORTED beers by the bottle, GOOD quality imported wines out of bottles rather than plastic containers as it greatly enhances their meal experience. We however appreciate that you will prefer just the Full Board option on your next visit which you found suitable for you.

Thank for the positive comments on the quality of our food and the hospitality of our staff. The newly renovated Horizon Restaurant was meant to give our guests an open-air dining experience with an ambiance enhanced by the sea view. However we agree when it rains ( and it rarely does) in our tropical environment, the probability of having flies in the restaurant is at times likely and with this we take aggressive environmentally friendly cautionary measures.
We have noted keenly on your comment on the shades around the main pool area which is surrounded by a wooden pergola structure whereas our two beaches offer sunbeds in the shade of umbrellas or trees.

We thank you for your acknowledgement of the award winning Uzuri Spa which compares favorably within its distinctive category offering internationally acclaimed services, this as depicted by the many excellent reviews received from its clients.

We do trust that you will visit us again and thank you once again for taking time to review us once again.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    101
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
130
166
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ronkonkoma New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We planned our first visit to get married the staff organized everything I cannot say enough about the people that work in this place. Food is excellent and we booked trips through the front desk without any problems. Second visit was a sort of reunion honeymoon for us. I cant recommend the place enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We desperately needed a break from work and Leopard Beach had everything we needed. My husband was able to book a deep sea fishing trip from Reception and the Spa was perfect for me. We had a choice of bars and restaurants but the best was sitting on our veranda gazing at the sea, and taking advantage of room service. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya nai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Plac is excellent to have a honey moon holiday quiet beach front to the ocean the staff's are welcomingand is the beach front rooms an excellent when you even relax from your from with the view from the window there breakfast superb generally a worth while in the south coast. Diani beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Otsyula,

Such a lovely review, we are humbled. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

Your Kind mention of our beach front accommodation is much appreciated; Comfort and luxury define our various facilities options designed to suit the different needs of our guests.

With these varied options, Leopard Beach Resort & Spa strives to provide ideal accommodation to families, couples and single travelers alike all in a beautiful setting of lush tropical gardens.

Our breakfast team shall be delighted to read of your comments on the breakfast buffet!

Thanking you once again for your great recommendation and looking forward to the pleasure of your return

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I never review hotels but after our pathetic experience here in April 2013 i decided to put down something for other travelers.

This is not exactly a cheap hotel and for that we expected nothing of a perfect holiday.
On arrival we were informed that we had been booked into a sea facing room but after getting into the room we realised all we could see was a wall and a garden from the balcony. On asking why the receptionist lied, we were quickly informed that he meant the block was sea facing but the rooms don't have a view of the sea.

Con language I would call it.

No room has a sea view here, only cottages do.

Please note that gym is chargeable by the hour so be ready to pay extra!

Breakfast is average for that kind of hotel. Little cereal variety so don't expect to find muesli and all. The Yogurt provided is the cheapest available in the kenyan market. I would expect real fruit yogurt for such an establishment.

If after a long day all you want is to immerse yourself into a bathtub and chill out , kindly note that this is a luxury you will not find in the rooms here.

Restaurant staff are great though but nothing worth writing about on the rest.


The lounge is however perfect for relaxing at anytime and the beaches are clean just like the rest of south coast.

Overall, I would not recommend this to anyone and would rather board at neighboring establishments at anytime even at a higher price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr Mwangi,

We are have noted your review with concern particularly since we had earlier communicated with your travel agents on receipt of your complaints. Hence we would like to now share our earlier reply ..We obviously didn’t measure up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize from the outset for what we didn’t get right.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has been awarded as Kenya's leading Resort 3 years in a row for its consistent delivery of excellent services and facilities to our valued guests. This is reflected also in the 2011/2 TripAdvisor Traveler Awards plus their Certificates of Excellence not only for our Resort but also the Uzuri Spa. While we take pride in this we equally value guests who tell us what we are not doing right and we endeavor to take immediate corrective action.

We are contracted with 38 most reputable local and overseas tour operators who are guided by EU laws and as such we take exception of you accusing us of con language. The word sea facing has never been a problem to them or their clients as we will not cut down our beautiful gardens; trees and plants to qualify for the word sea view- after all, how many hours would you spend in a beach hotel sitting in your rooms instead of enjoying the beach , pool as well as our restaurant and bars with great views over the Indian ocean

We have noted your comments on our breakfast with a daily changing variety of choices including the cereals . I would like to clarify that we serve 6 varieties of cereals and different ones everyday offering both local and very expensive imported ones. We do have Muesli in our variety as well. The comments on the quality of our yogurt is well noted though we have not received any concerns on the same from our other guests who enjoy our fresh fruit carving station to mix this with excellent quality plain yogurt.

As for your comments for having to pay for the Gym the most charges are per day and not per hour and include the services of highly qualified trainers and excellent equipment – all at a considerable high operational cost.

All of our bathrooms were fully renovated in 2011 with best quality eco friendly rain showers. Before removing the bath tubs which are considered as outdated for beach resorts we did a very detailed guest survey also involving our partners with the clear majority opting for a nice rain shower instead of a bathtub.


We highly appreciate the compliments on our team as we pride ourselves having some of the best trained, motivated and friendly staff. The Kalani WIFI lounge as a perfect place for relaxing was created in 2012 with the totally renovated Horizon Restaurant , the Chui Grill and the addition of Wines & whiskers offering a range of over 100 wines.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

i took full board. thought it will be enough., but well, when u need to pay for a glass of water - its too much. u got free coffee once perday and u should pay for a single pancake. it just gets on nerves. food was overage too. beach was ok. pool too. big place and not a lot of guests. no night program. nothing. it was very boring. with such price they can do it better. in the end., we couldnt pay by visa or mastercard. smth didnt work there and they cant help with it. and we got our flight soon. it was very unprofessional.
so its like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Xenia F,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is evident and regrettable that we did not meet your expectations.

We always appreciate feedback from our guests but allow us to clarify on some areas highlighted:
Our Full board meal plan (part of our extensive meal plan offerings) allows our guests to dine with us in our extensive breakfast buffet , Buffet or Table d’ hote lunch menus and our differently themed dinner buffets all providing a wide range of meal options .

We recently introduced a new meal plan the FB + that allows our guest the freedom to dine during lunch and dinner form our different outlets, this with an assortment of drinks at their disposal during their meal plans.

Our different meal plans were designed out of the different dining needs of our guests thereby allowing them to engage and indulge fully in our Food and Beverage meal options

We have with us a dedicated team that ensures our guests are treated to a lively entertainment programme for our guests during the day and night. Our night time entertainment offers a different edge and twist to the night time activities at the resort; creating an entertaining atmosphere even for social interaction!

We sincerely apologize of the inconvenience caused by the system error upon check out. This is unfortunately something that was beyond our control at the time due to an internal malfunction with our service providers. We however at the time provided a timely solution, something that was not highlighted.

We trust with the above we shall have delivered clarity on some of the issues mentioned and that you shall accord us another chance to host you to our true hospitality

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Once again having paid our annual visit to Leopard Beach in Mombasa, I cannot recommend it enough if you are looking to be close to nature. It is one of the few hotels that makes you feel part of nature. The hotel is amongst wonderful gardens along rustic paths to the rooms or cottages which overlook the gorgeous ocean waves. The hotel has been renovated, but still kept the rustic ambience, and attention to detail. Everywhere you turn your gaze rests on some point of interest.The sound of water from the fountains scattered everywhere compliments the flora and fauna. The birds can be seen making their nests ,lots of interesting features.
To top it all, the staff have to be praised , because their are the ones that add the final magic touch. Their warmth and friendliness once again proves to you ,the Kenyan hospitality. If you visit hope you will enjoy it as we always do.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best and are sea facing. Garden rooms if you prefer , but superior are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Kiran W,

Yes, we are in full agreement!

We must say that nature has favored us and given us the best of both worlds, this not forgetting our dedicated gardening team that has been able to nurture and maintain our beautiful gardens and landscapes.

We must appreciate that you took note of the little features that bring out the uniqueness of our property and thank you for sharing it!

Our distinctive Chui class service is something we always pride in and we read with great joy that the magic it sparks will leave you with pleasant memories.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.