We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Paderborn, Germany
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Hi my husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful hotel for 3 days, from the start the service was impeccable - we where met at the airstrip where we were taken to the hotel, we had drinks and a cold flannel even before we registered, then we were taken to our room which they upgraded on our arrival at no extra cost. We had a fantastic time, the staff where very friendly always with a smile. The only critism was the furnishings in the room they were looking very tired and faded....... we will certainly be going back the next time we are in Kenya.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    137
    53
    20
    20
See reviews for
164
198
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
westervoort
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

YES a place to be and i say not one word to much about that.Great staff
who will help you whit everything. Food is very good alot of choices in that,spa is good whit alot of different treatments and you can chose if you want the woman of guy who give the masage.Two private beaches whit sunbeds and shadow when you want.I take mine hat off for the staff who is carring everytime the tables and chairs on a different place for the dinner so that the guest not can say pffft again there nope they will try to make you happy and it works the guests are happy.The food is very good and alot of choises in there
So again mine regards to all the staff and thank you for the wonderful time we spend there, we wil come back next year again that is for sure
Roel and Anjo

Room Tip: every room is good it is want you self want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just returned from two weeks holiday and would like to thank all the staff including gardeners, cleaners and security staff for a lovely stay. Everyone is very friendly and helpful(and not just when they are trying to sell you something). We were delighted with the whole experience, and cannot understand comments about unhelpful receptionists or other staff as we found them charming and helpful. Ok, the linen could do to be updated, but we had no problem with the general cleanliness in either our room or public areas. We found the food lovely and had no stomach problems at all, neither did we have any problem with mosquitoes.
The beach was picturesque and we saw many fish when we went out on a snorkeling trip and when we walked to the sandy bank and reef at low tide (plenty local beach boys to take you - useful for your first walk but agree a price first, 200ks per person MAX) The grounds are very well kept and we kept discovering new areas and creatures. We had a first floor standard room and it was perfect for us. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are good with the balcony and views of the beautiful grounds with the entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Arrived Friday 11th November 2011 with office team and checked in to 711. Left today after two great days at this unmatched resort. Great staff, wonderful layout, great accommodation/food, friendly staff, very practical sauna... I will most definately be back for a longer stay. ~ Jeremy K.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are the best... have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This has been the most disappointing vacation I've had in years. I normally stay in a fiveblass hotel in the north coast but opted to try Diani. The reviews on this hotel were favorable - however from check in this proved to be totally erroneous.

We paid full rate for the sea facing superior rooms that comprised of cheap beds, terrible bedsheets, thread bare white-brownish towels and lumpy pillows.

Only the spa proved to meet our expectations with the exception of threadbare towels.

To top it all up, my roommate and I spent last night and most of this evening in the bathroom sick with severe food poisoning. despite the disclaimer that they have a 24hr nurse we were told it's a Sunday and nurse was off but if we would like to we could go to the area hospital. Now how do u suppose you should do this when you are litterrally spening your time in the toilet?

If you can afford this hotel - please book another hotel. I do not recommend this property at all. Being Kenyan I am greatly disappointed that our tourists who visit the country once will think this is the level of 5star service in Kenya.

The management and staff are incapable of handling complaints - this has been a Hospitality Nightmare!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel - there is no value for money here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The quality of the service is the worse you can get for a 5 star hotel! Never had similar experience before, neither in Kenya (stayed in 5 other lodges during my safari) nor in Europe.

Only a few brief notes:
1. The receptionist could barely speak English (or pretended he didn't understand?).
2. If we requested for something, (almost) every person pointed you to someone else (the porter to the reception, the reception to the kitchen, the kitchen to the manager and so on). We spent half of our stay there (3 nights in total), to arrange our problems and to get the basic services we needed (food after late arrival the first day -around 21.00- in the room, room service on time, mosquito nets for the beds etc.)
3. The superior rooms are ok but anything less than that is quite poor (I've visited a few rooms). They were small with poor decoration and some even had torn nets in the balcony doors (dangerous, since this is a malaria area).
4. When lying in the pool, male staff paraded in front of you (not letting you relaxing), supposedly asking you if you had a good time... Pretty similar was the experience, while swimming in the pool when you felt that the male personnel was checking on you (and not in order to rescue you from drοwning...)
5. The wi-fi was only available in limited areas (in one café and a bit around, depending on the signal strength at the time) and was barely working. Most of the time the network was off.
6. While dining, the personnel was almost forcing you to buy a drink, passing by all the time to ask you again and again, if you wanted to order a drink, even though I had explicitly said that I didn't want anything (obviously, they were instructed by superiors for that...just, a cheap way to earn extra money)
7. Food: average (certainly, not of a 5 star hotel)
8. As a woman, I didn't feel very safe with many local people walking around in the seaside. In addition, the image of the hotel security-guy, with military clothes and carrying a glob, just in case, I guess was useful but didn't really help you to relax...

To be fair and also note the positive sides:
- The garden was beautiful
- The spa area was relaxing (though, the prices are similar to European standards)
- Nice views of the Indian Ocean
- Nice trees and playful monkeys around the resort

However, the good sides can not be easily enjoyed because of the inadequate service of this "5" (!?!?) star hotel and the poorness of its staff and managers. For me, it was the most stressful spa/beach experience ever!...

Room Tip: Better choose another hotel! Value for money for superior room (or higher) doesn't worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay in this wonderful hotel again!

The rooms were clean, comfortable and all we had expected. Air con was a tad noisy but we still slept well each night.
We stayed on a first floor room which had a balcony to relax on overlooking the well maintained gardens. There was also a TV and a fridge mini bar in the room.

We thought the food was a very good standard and there was plenty of variation. A concern we had before coming was the dreaded holiday bad stomach but we were very pleased to say that we worried about nothing - Despite filling my plate each night with a whole host of different tasty offerings!

The pool area is lovely and although we didn't spend much time on the beach itself, it looked exactly as we'd have imagined for an Indian ocean resort (When the tide was in anyway).

Being a sports fanatic, it was great that they had a large projector tv in the lounge area which showed all the bigger sporting events on at the time - Premier League games, Rugby world cup etc. There is free wifi in this area of the hotel too.

The service was very very good in all areas of the hotel and one example really stands out was when A football game which I had been desperate to watch was showing on a channel which they didn't have tuned in at the time. This was not too much trouble for the fantastic member of staff who was serving at the coffee bar at the time who very kindly arranged for the channel to be tuned in. A really nice touch which I thought really demonstrated the 'go the extra mile' approach which they have here.

There was evening entertainment on several of the nights there - Impressive acrobats and a Masai welcome dance which we enjoyed watching.

If we have the chance to come back to Mombasa in the future, we would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If standard room, Definitely a first floor room as they have a nice, well covered balcony - Ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear TerryC,

Thank you for your positive feedback and pleased to hear that you had a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxed holiday. Thank you for your compliments on our accommodation facilities- room cleanliness and set up, food taste and choice, swimming pool, sporting events live screening at the Kalani Lounge, evening entertainment and for the hospitality service.

We will be thrilled to welcome you back on to the famous Diani Beach and host you during your next holiday,

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#19 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.