We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leopard Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leopard Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Leopard Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay in this wonderful hotel again!

The rooms were clean, comfortable and all we had expected. Air con was a tad noisy but we still slept well each night.
We stayed on a first floor room which had a balcony to relax on overlooking the well maintained gardens. There was also a TV and a fridge mini bar in the room.

We thought the food was a very good standard and there was plenty of variation. A concern we had before coming was the dreaded holiday bad stomach but we were very pleased to say that we worried about nothing - Despite filling my plate each night with a whole host of different tasty offerings!

The pool area is lovely and although we didn't spend much time on the beach itself, it looked exactly as we'd have imagined for an Indian ocean resort (When the tide was in anyway).

Being a sports fanatic, it was great that they had a large projector tv in the lounge area which showed all the bigger sporting events on at the time - Premier League games, Rugby world cup etc. There is free wifi in this area of the hotel too.

The service was very very good in all areas of the hotel and one example really stands out was when A football game which I had been desperate to watch was showing on a channel which they didn't have tuned in at the time. This was not too much trouble for the fantastic member of staff who was serving at the coffee bar at the time who very kindly arranged for the channel to be tuned in. A really nice touch which I thought really demonstrated the 'go the extra mile' approach which they have here.

There was evening entertainment on several of the nights there - Impressive acrobats and a Masai welcome dance which we enjoyed watching.

If we have the chance to come back to Mombasa in the future, we would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If standard room, Definitely a first floor room as they have a nice, well covered balcony - Ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear TerryC,

Thank you for your positive feedback and pleased to hear that you had a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxed holiday. Thank you for your compliments on our accommodation facilities- room cleanliness and set up, food taste and choice, swimming pool, sporting events live screening at the Kalani Lounge, evening entertainment and for the hospitality service.

We will be thrilled to welcome you back on to the famous Diani Beach and host you during your next holiday,

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    116
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
145
175
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have just returned from an unforgettable 8 days of pure leisure,sunshine, fantastic service and friendliness that I have never experienced elsewhere. The management and staff could not do enough to ensure that my stay was fabulous. I also wish them all the best for the future.For the best Spa treatment a day spent at UZURI SPA being pampered like a king was just like I imagined heaven might be.Pure professionalism from all the Therapist was what I got,and not to mention the ambiance of the rooms under the trees and the water trickling past as I relaxed in pure comfort. The kitchen served wonderful food,from breakfast to dinner which always was enjoyed while listening to one of the local artists or bands performing there traditional music and sometimes familiar old English song. After dinner and more entertainment or just relaxing a bit in the Mahogany lounge it was a pleasure to retire to my room which had ample space and a lovely clean and neat bathroom. I can will recommend this hotel to all my friends and have already made arrangements with my daughter to consider having her wedding there next year. Andre

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Andre,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for all the kind compliments on the resorts accommodation facilities, exceptional service staff, friendliness of staff, Uzuri Spa, range and variety of cuisine, day and evening entertainment. We highly appreciate your feedback and more so delighted to hear of your recommendations for us to host your daughters weddings, and your family, it will be indeed our utmost pleasure to do so.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a great place to unwind and relax near the beach. There are many local amenities and the staff are always friendly.

The weather was not too great and there was a lot of rain for most part of our holiday.

The breakfast menu was superb and the chef's went out of their way to assist with the children's needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear PinkHun

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure hosting you.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday stay with us and experienced our great hospitality and cuisine too despite the heavy downpour as a result of strong winds that affected the coastline. However, all is back to normal again and the weather is great and sunny.

We hope to see you soon in the near future,

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosisio Parini, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

well well well
quite ok...good resort..in my eyes
staff are kind, make dure u tip them
food is vary and quite tasty
animation is decent
pools are good
Spa is good too

simply the best privste beach

make sure u go out for escursitions

regards franco & lisa
ciao xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ciao

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Franco & Lisa,

Thank you for your compliments on the resorts facilities, staff hospitality, service, and variety of cuisine.

We are glad we made your holiday memorable and enjoyable and are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My family and I have just spent two weeks at this resort and had the most fantastic holiday.
The staff, without exception, were simply wonderful.We had superior rooms sea facing which were large,well furnished and very clean.The food was excellent and service 1st class.The location of this hotel cannot be bettered and the gardens immaculate.Everybody employed work so hard to ensure that the guests have a good time.I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough...I run my own small B&B and thought my customer service was very good...I now however have decided that I need improve after experiencing Leopard Beach customer service and hospitality.

Room Tip: superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear AngelaFields,

Glad to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Thank you for the compliments on the exceptional service and staff, our sea facing superior rooms, the lush botanical gardens, and for recommending the hotel to your family and friends. We will be glad to host you all back again and many more of your friends/colleagues.

It was indeed a pleasure that you were able to learn a few things to assist you in your business. We will be glad to also share and exchange more ideas and experiences with you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent 11 nights at Leopard Beach after a safari in the Masai Mara for our honeymoon. Had an amazing time at Leopard Beach the staff were so friendly and attentive they really did make our holiday. Food was lovely in the Chui Grill I imagine if you weren't A La Carte you may get fed up with the buffet so it was great to have the choice between the restaurants. The resort far exceeded our expectations and really is stunning. The private beach is also amazing but may want to avoid going for walks along here due to the constant harassment from the 'beach boys' - don't worry though they aren't intimidating just very persistent. We stayed in a Chui Cottage and although they aren't massive they are really nice and cosy with beautiful bathrooms which I believe have just been upgraded. I would definitely recommend Leopard Beach for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Ekehheler,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you chose to stay with us and more so not only met but exceeded your holiday expectations.

We are grateful for your kind compliments on our a la carte Chui grill - a Chaine des Rotisseurs restaurant which makes a perfect setting for that romantic meal, offering fresh seafood and grills on a teak timbered deck. The Horizon restaurant- which is the main restaurant offers table d'hote venues, themed buffets inclusive of a weekly beach barbeque dinner experience and an African cultural dinner night at the Nyama Choma Boma rotated throughout the week. In addition and true to your observations we also have a choice of different restaurant settings i.e Coco Mchana for stir fries on the beach, pizza at the ocean-view Pizza n'Pasta Tornati or a light meal at the Pool Bistro and Bar.
We hope you enjoyed and experienced the different restaurants too.

The Chui Class Cottages are spacious in comparison to the superior or standard rooms and enjoy a magnificent sea view. Your feedback on the recently renovated bathrooms is appreciated; with the chui class cottages now featuring twin rain showers overlooking own secret garden.

Thank you for recommendations on the hotel and looking forward to welcome you back on the famous Diani Beach!

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had spent so much time looking forward to our trip. Some friends had visited some years previously and had a lovely time. I took the time to do some thorough research into the hotel in part to make sure we could make the most on a once in a lifetime experience.
From the first moment it began to go wrong;
On arrival we were left for almost 4 hours with no offer of refreshment or option to take breakfast despite having travelled 12 hours and being booked via a well known package holiday.
Once we did access our rooms they were in a poor state of cleanliness with a number of items which needed fixing, in particular the main balcony doors would not lock. We did mention these problems to the hotel management but only some of them were fixed by the time we left.
The key are of concern is the way male guests are treated by this hotel. When my husband attempted to enter the restaurant for dinner in a pair of smart tailored shorts he was turned away. At this time we saw the sign which said 'Guests' are requested to avoid wearing sleevless t-shirts, torn or faded denims, flip-flops or other open toed sandals, shorts and caps. We had not been made aware of the dress code prior to booking and my husband had only one pair of long trousers which we had had to clean on arrival due to a dirty mini-bus transfer. Never the less he was prepared to go and get changed but as we turned to leave we were confronted by a female guest wearing hot-pants, a vest top and flip flops. On further looking around the restaurant it was clear that far from refering to Guests the dictat actually meant 'men'. Even then there were men present (and staff) wearing sleeveless tops and flip-flops with no mention of a dress code being made to them.

We did ask for some indication as to the actual interpretaion of the rules, as a result the management became beligerant and uncooperative with us we were made to feel that we were unreasonable and that the response of 'women are different' should be sufficient.

Over the time we stayed in the hotel we found that while the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful Joseph in the breakfast restaurant and Jones in the bar area the management of the hotel were rude and incapable of resolving any issues, the General Manager actually stated to my husband that he 'did not speak to guests'.

Sadly this experience and the overall feeling of being unsafe and treated badly a long way from home completely ruined a holiday we had spent months looking forward to.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this hotel in any way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Bunty 121

Thank you for your travel review,

We would not want to get into details pertaining to your review. However in hindsight check in time starts from 1200hrs. Upon earlier arrival than this guests are usually informed on this, offered for refreshments-tea/coffee at the Kalani lounge as they await for their rooms. We do apologize if this was not the case, and will improve on our services therein.

Bunty 121 we both know as a matter of fact and realistically speaking what led to you and your friends being evicted from the hotel by the Management which solely has the right of admission, the issue of the hotel dress code was not the main cause. Despite the dress code policy which is also known by all our agents and operators, on our welcome brochures given & briefed to all guests on arrival, displayed on our guest information board and also in our directory of services and adhered to by all guests respectively as indicated. But it was as a result of your intolerable, abusive, threatening language, and violent behavior to our staff, management alike and even extended it to the local tour representative causing disruption in hotel operations and also inconveniencing other guests. Such we have never and will never entertain or tolerate!

We understand your frustration and having to put down the hotel in such a manner. We on the other hand had hoped we could resolve it amicably but that unfortunately did not happen.

We hope you enjoyed destination Kenya as a whole and such will not deter you from visiting this beautiful country.

Sincerely,
Chui Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.