We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort to your Saves list
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“first class holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We travelled by bus from Nairobi to Mombasa and then taxi to the hotel 12 hours in all due to a 3 hour traffic jam in Mombasa. Arrived at 10pm tired sweaty and hungry greeted by our first names by the reception staff with cold drinks and flannels. Our cases were taken to our rooms and then we were escorted to the restaurant for dinner where the staff served us with the most welcoming dinner! Back to our rooms to a good shower and the most comfortable beds.We awoke to an amazing view of the indian ocean and the most fantastic beach! We had a wonderful stay freindly staff good food and alovely room ideal place to chill and relax. Exellent service from beginning to end after a week we left early to catch the ferry and as requested a picnic breakfast was waiting for us at reception to take with us.Thankyou to all the staff for making us so welcome and making our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Stella,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for the great feedback. At Jacaranda Indian ocean beach resort we always strive to ensure our guests enjoy our excellent African hospitality .

Best regards

James Chege
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    60
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
80
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My Partner and I stayed between 24th June- 29th June 2012

I'll start with positives:
-Beautiful setting right on the ocean front. Could not describe how nice the setting is.
-Breakfast was very good, the rest of the food was nothing special, but edible.
-Bedroom was spacious, nicely decorated, decent shower.
-Good size pool, could be a little bigger, but better than average.
-The animation team, in particular Nickson & Andy, were a highlight. They never ceased to make us laugh and feel welcome. Unfortunately, this was not true of the some of the staff.
Which leads me to the negatives:
-The service was extremely slow, it was never busy for the amount of staff on. they would seat us promtly, then it would take over 5 minutes for them to take a drink order and meal order, then we would wait for the drinks as long as we wait for the starter, roughly 5-10 minutes. From starter-dessert food came out quickly, but no offer for drinks or how the meal was during.
-The service was not accomadating, some exceptions; the 2 Humphries, Alex, another gentleman in the restaurant & Coconut Willy, nothing was too much for the people mentioned.
-However, everything was too much for some of the staff. On one occasion my partner asked for a coffee, as it is advertised in the guest compendium that they serve complementory afternoon tea 4-5pm, the woman who she aksed then proceeded to roll her eyes, say something to her colleague, and walk off. It made my partner feel as if she had asked for too much, even though it is advertised by the hotel.
-The wait for the food to come out, was extremely slow.
-The first room we were given was littered with bugs. The first thing we saw was a cockroach run under the beside table. We mentioned this staright away to the, otherwise very helpful male receptionist, but after a brief look behind the bedside table bid us a good night, leaving the cockroach under the table! There was a big gap at the bottom of the door, where ants and spiders were crawling through. There was also a small snake, or similar, which shot across the room. We arrived very late and were very tired so did not want to move room so late,so suffered it for the night.
-When we complained about the room, we were first told he would get exterminators in the room and then we could stay there, I insisted that we be moved to a 1st floor room, if nothing could be done. Which is what the receptionist did eventually. Again, we sat there waiting for a new room for 10-15 minutes, while he sat on the phone. Being from the hospitality industry, it would have been so much more convenient for everyone to move us straight away.

Our overall experience of Indian Ocean Beach Resort was ok, lovely setting, taintered by shortcoming in service. I believe that there was a huge lack of management presence throughout the hotel, apart from the (I assume) manageress of the restaurant, who was very good, but some of her staff let her down. There was middle aged/elderly lady who we saw throughout our stay who seemed to be either an owner or director of the hotel (I may be very wrong), who seemed to boss everyone around, hence my assumption. If she is high up in the hotel, then she is not setting a good example to staff with regards to being accomodating, friendly, efficient & fast. She seemed to make the staff's job harder & stress them out, rather than support and guide them. The bottom line is that the hotel is lacking real leadership. It would a fantastic attraction if it tends to these very fixable shortcomings.

Room Tip: Choose first floor room, if you dont want to risk too much bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location, the breeze from the ocean is soothing. Hotel is so peaceful ,good place for relaxing.Our room was very spacious however needs consistent maintainance.Bathroom sink and bathtub were stained, and on certain days there was no running water in the room. Great pool, wish it was bigger though and would be better if there was a baby pool too.
Food wasn't nice at all, need for great improvement.
Staff are great.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a fantastic view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The staff have a way of making one feel at home. They are very friendly. I loved the rooms; very clean, very serene, and I was lucky to have one so close to the water. :)
The view is awesome - watching the sunrise especially was a treat.
While I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, I had found fault with the food quality. In comparison to hotels in their class, Jacaranda IOBC is ranking poorly. The hotel management may want to seek the services if a better chef.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Overall a great hotel and service. Beautiful rooms with Kenyan charm and rooms right on the beach overlooking the sea. much more peaceful hotel. Food was v good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I just love the rooms! Cosy, clean and just make you want to relax. The little jacuzzi like pools are the best, very good for relaxing and watching the sunset. The breakfast is good and the staff are really great!

Room Tip: One facing the beach! The sound of the ocean is soo relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed with colleagues on a company retreat, as part of a larger group. I loved my room, very clean and spacious, and a comfortable bed. It overlooked the ocean which was great. I also really enjoyed the swimming pool, though I wished it was a bit bigger.

We all didn't like the food. The fruits were not fresh, and by the third day, we were tired of the monotonous menu. On the fourth day however, we were served a local selection of Swahili foods which we all really enjoyed. I think the chef should be a bit creative on a day to day basis so long staying guests aren't bored.

On the day we arrived, the showers didn't have running water. This was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Address: North Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.