We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great athmosphere, Great service @ Madafoos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro

Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro
Galu Beach Diani | Kenyaways Kite Village, Diani Beach, Ukunda P.O.Box 5417-80401 Diani, Kenya
+(254)714632801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chill out Beach Bar and Restaurant located on the white sands of Galu Beach Diani. Laze on our beach beds or hammocks whilst enjoying our free WiFi, fresh seafood and smoothies, cold beers, shisha pipes, desserts and coffees, plus daily happy hours from 5 - 7 pm, or try your hand at our kite and surf center before enjoying our cocktail of the dayWe also have weekly Friday night seafood and meat BBQs + HH extended until 8 pm, Tuesday Tapas and all you can eat curry buffets on Sunday
Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great athmosphere, Great service @ Madafoos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Madafoos -Baech bar and restaurant is the perfect place to spend a chilled day or holiday on Diani Beach. The food is excellent with a great variety of delicious fresh seafood. The cocktails are dynamite and the service is great. Its a great place to socialise or just to fall asleep on a lounger overlooking the beach. Definately the best hang out in all of the South Coast

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe, Great Service & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Love the vibe of Madafoos, affordable in comparison to many other Mombassa restaurants and a great group of waiters, bartenders and other staff.

The curried prawns are amazing as is the cocktail the Dawa, made with KenyaCane, lime and fresh honey.

Servings on all the entrees are generous and can be shared by two people if wanting to eat light/order a couple appetizers.

Loved it so much that we eat there four to five times in three days but we were staying at the adjoining Kenyaways hotel, which is also amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Regardless of this being one of the only authentic (aka not part of a resort) restaurants we were able to find in Diani Beach, this restaurant is fantastic! The waiters and bartenders are so friendly, accommodating and good at their jobs. There are lots of locals who hang out, eat and drink here so you know its good. Don't forget to try the cocktails - the dawa was our favorite! The restaurant is so cozy - there are lots of places to lounge while sipping a cocktail and reading and the views of the beach are amazing. Don't miss this place while in Diani.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Laid-back fun place and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of my favourite places in the world, great food, well priced, friendly staff and over-all a laid-back environment. Definitely a place to check out when visiting Diani. Thank you Mr Cattermole :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Owner at Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Natalie, thanks for the review and very glad you enjoyed your self, welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Best place to spend a chilled day in Diani Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My experience in Diani Beach was made very special at Madafoo's! The atmosphere is great, and the owner Bruce will make you feel at home! The food is delicious, and great value for price, and the cocktails keep flowing...
I look forward to my next holiday at Madafoo's!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C, Owner at Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks Boris, we look forward to seeing you on your next day off:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madafoo's Beach Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.