We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantana Galu Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lantana Galu Beach to your Saves list
Lantana Galu Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have been to many places by the sea/ocean in the world, but this one by far the most exclusive. Super beautiful, super quiet (we were at low season with almost no other guests, all this paradise was meant almost only for us). Penthouse extremely spacious and elegant. Restaurant food very delicious and has nothing to do with "all inclusive" type of no-fantasy food. Very creative and elegant.
Staff friendly and helpful (helped to organize snorkeling trip).
Swimming pool and area very stylish.

Spa - nothing impressive, but this place is not about it. All other things just perfect.

Room Tip: We took a junior penthouse and this was the best suite I have lived in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lantana owners have done a magnificent job overall....functional design, pleasing and peaceful atmosphere, not one but two great swimming pools which are well tended, and a fantastic African garden with almost no equal in the area. Where else can one walk under a trellis with Bengal Clock Vine hanging like a shower of beautiful flowers suspended in thin air at head height. The fragrance of Frangipani flowers is unmistakable ... almost like walking through a spray of Chanel cologne. Some of the trees and shrubs that were planted only a few years ago and are doing extremely well are Royal Washingtonian Palms, Lantana Camara of course, Christmas Palms, Morula (Mgongo) tree, Sycamore (Mkuyu) Fig tree, Golden Bamboo, Indian Beech Tree (Pongan oil), Bride of Barbados flowering tree, Ficus Polita from fig family, famed Indian Neem tree which American pharmaceutical company unsuccessfully tried to register with worldwide copyright some years back, brilliant red Flame of the Woods shrub, the ubiquitous Baobab (Mbuyu) tree which when fully grown will look like an upside down tree, Ficus Buscui (Mwangati) fig tree, Cape Mahogany hardwood tree, Ficus Zanzibarika fig tree which is used as host tree by a creeping flowering vine, Black Pearl (Milanyuni) tree, Ziziphus Robertsoniana Jujube family (Mgambo) tree which is on the endangered list, Kashmiri Ashoka tree, Rangoon Creeper, spindly Casuarina tree, Travellers Palm and of course the bourganvillia and coconut palms, among many other varieties of flora and fauna.

In addition there is a poolside covered restaurant & bar with full view of the silvery sands of the beach which is swept and kept clean almost like a customized private beach. The restaurant's chef Jack and waiter service is excellent. You can say, they are running a 5 star hotel with all the amenities. From front desk all the way to the poolside bar & restaurant, the staff is helpful with friendly and smiling faces. It's hard not to enjoy every moment, which is after all the main purpose of coming to stay and relax in such a place. Truly a memorable experience with not a single negative thought or experience. And that is not saying too much, because the beach and it's offerings are an additional attraction in more ways than one."

Room Tip: Dont need to do your math!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved this hotel. It is beautiful. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I was with a disabled person. The staff couldn't have been more kind and it was easy getting about. The food is delicious, the apartment spacious, well equipped and beautifully furnished. Fabulous swimming pool next to a white sandy beach. I highly recommend hotel Lantana. The manageress, Gilly, is a lovely approachable lady, fully on the case. I had a wonderful relaxing holiday here. I felt safe at all times because there are security guards on the gate, in the grounds and checking the beach 24 hours. Thank you Gilly - you thought of everything :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

i went there with my family and we had a lovely time. The villas were cozy and nice and i wish i could go there again.the swimming pool is very big and is very nice. lots of fun. the beach is clean. the restaurant is good and i hope you will have a great time

Room Tip: choose one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lantana was a surprise for me when i first visited a few years ago because it beat, hands down, all the international beach properties I had ever stayed at. It is the only beach property I will stay at in Kenya.
Blessed with a pristine beach and azure ocean; beautifully developed and maintained villas and apartments, it makes for a fabulous holiday with others or even for a quiet getaway on your own. The icing on the cake for this property is the staff who are kind, polite, and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Truly our home away from home. Happy to go back every year. Great for the kids! Friendly staff who always remember our needs. Very comfortable and spacious. Would not think of spending a night in the South Coast at any other hotel.

Room Tip: Villas at the from are great. Apartments on the 3rd and 4th floor have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were one of the first guests at Lantana and we continue to go there at least 2 to 3 times a year! The service is great, staff are friendly and it is situated on one of the best beaches in the world! Lantana works very well for children with the option of self catering and a restaurant for those lazy days! We recommend Lantana to everyone! We love Lantana!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantana Galu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantana Galu Beach

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lantana Galu Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Lantana Galu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantana Galu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.