We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BLEND OF FINE ARCHITECTURE,GREAT MANAGEMENT AND EXTRAORDINARY PLEASANT STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swahili Beach Resort
Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 hotels in Diani Beach
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST BLEND OF FINE ARCHITECTURE,GREAT MANAGEMENT AND EXTRAORDINARY PLEASANT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our four days stay at Swahili Beach resort proved to be the best holidays of our life.It is very fine Swahili architecture and all rooms ,lighting and furniture are very carefully selected to provide best comfort to guests. The management of hotel in respect to guests care,property upkeep ,maintenance of garden and pool was excellent .Breakfast and dinner food variety was ample and very well catered .All staff walked extra mile for pleasure of hotel guests .TV channels and WIFI were satisfactory.It is perfect hotel for best relaxation.Spa needs very well trained staff .We will go to this hotel more often and recommend .

Room Tip: seaview rooms are large and have big bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    64
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
78
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our 6th visit to Kenya and we spent 10 days here in March. The communal areas, rooms and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Everyone is friendly (particular thanks to Griffin and Rashid), helpful and so proud of their hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. Food is good and varied (both breakfast and buffet supper) although we didn't eat in the speciality restaurants. The beach sellers are a pest, but that's the same everywhere. WiFi was erratic, but free, and sufficient to stay in touch. The lobby bar would make a fab piano bar which would liven things up a little for a pre/après dinner drink. Despite the hassle of having to deal with the ferry to get to the south coast, we would definitely go back. Thanks to all at the Swahili Beach for a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

A really nice and friendly hotel with that little extra! we never had the buffé, but we had dinner almost every night at one of the three different restaurants. Don't miss the lobster! And don't miss The spice route! A large pool and a magnificent wiev. It's worth the trouble getting there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place was AMAZING.
ok maybe I am a little exaggerating.
but genuinely it was good.
the Rooms were very good, room service was very good.
food was veryyyyy good.
loved the pool.. (infinity pool)

the only complaint I have was the WiFi.
that was very poor..

otherwise, great place to stay.
it is also right across a small shopping mall, which I found convenient, when I needed a few things :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Swahili beach is a lovely hotel, we stayed for a few days before and after our fantastic Masai Mara trip with JT Safaris.
Rooms lovely, pools lovely, beach ok but small but like everywhere in Mombasa the beach boys are a pest so going on the beach is an ordeal anyway. We only booked bed and breakfast. Breakfast buffet was nice - the usual standard. We did eat at the other restaurants a couple of times and can recommend the Spice route and Zanzibar (although we were unaware when this was open so they need to put a sign out with times/days on it!)

Would probably return to this hotel if we go back to Mombasa in the fututre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visited because heard good reviews about this place.

Rooms are beautiful, tastefully decorated, good ammenities.

Staff on the other hand are not very accommodating to requests, give off an attitude of not being bothered.

Dinner buffet nothing special, very bland and not huge vegetarian variety. Food from restaurants not amazing.

Lighting around resort in the evening is poor, needed to use torch on my iphone to reach my room, all lights off after 11pm!

Asked by manager to stop taking photos on the grounds, he said we would have needed to ask permission and then asked us to 'stop what we were doing?' Would there be any point of asking for permission?

Spa very peaceful however needs a lot of work to streamline and make it a truly relaxing experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great resort for a peaceful and relaxed holiday great food great location and the most amazing pool streches from the reception all the way to the beach with white smooth sand .Rooms were amazing and spacious with the most amazing sunken bath and rain shower with mellow swahili accents the TV channels were not working and service needs a silight attention but nevertheless this is my location of choice everytime I am in mombasa and hours flight from nairobi and 5 mims drive to the hotel from the ukunda airstrip with every thing close to the hotel supermarket pharmacy shopping etc

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swahili Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.