We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
Swahili Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent New Year here with our 2 children. It is fantastic. The staff are so attentive and made us feel so welcome. The pools are lovely. The rooms are beautiful. The food is fantastic. All we want to do is go back again as soon as possible! I also made use of the spa which is great, with open verandahs overlooking the Indian Ocean. The food was excellent - such a huge choice and something for everyone. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    81
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
87
107
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent food and best beach, great swimming pool, lovely spa and good choice of restaurants. Enjoyed my 4 days stay and hope to visit it again some time. Disappointed with the internet and communication facilities but it is a newish hotel, so understand the teething problems

Room Tip: You won't spend much time in the room. Not my favorite decor but they were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Baharini (beachside bar) had fast become our favourite place to hang out in the evenings sipping on cocktails. We'd never had a problem until last night. We showed up as had become the norm, the 3rd night in a row, 2 girls in a rental and were rudely denied access! But it didn't stop there. The guards at the gate rudely demanded to know our names & have our passports. Obviously confused by the rough demand of such documentation at the gate (which had never been required previously) we declined & asked to speak to the Duty Manager. We were kept waiting at the gate (between the main gate & the barrier) for about half an hour before he showed up with additional security!! We explained our predicament & were disappointed when it became obvious he was more interested in sweeping the matter under the rug. He was not in the least bit concerned about losing us as regulars. Nor did he ask his rude staff to apologise for their terrible behavior. Having wasted an hour at the gate, being treated like second class citizens we declined his offer to get in but requested to enter and turn our car around. To our amazement, rather than allow us entry to enable us turn the car, the main gate (behind us at the time) was opened for us to reverse onto a busy road. There was no apology, no promise of a change in behavior. Needless to say this experience has put a sour taste in our mouths & ruined what was once our favorite beach bar. That terrible customer service ruins what would otherwise be a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Impressive, impeccable, amazing set up. One just thinks of paradise on earth. This is by the the best beach hotel i have seen in Kenya..

Did not get a chance to sample the cuisine as i was a visitor, but the appearance and idea of so many small pools for privacy is great.
Just ordered tea with snacks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 weeks in December, when we arrived the room they gave us was lovely but had no view, after telling the hotel we were a little disappointed they changed us straight away to a room with a view, and what a view we had, the rooms are all very spacious and luxurious with everything you would need and more, our room boy Jefa was excellent got the job in hand done with no messing and cleaned our room spotlessly everyday of our stay. The staff worked extremely hard over the Christmas period as the hotel was full, we had a few problems with the wifi when we arrived but true to form the hotel got it right in the end. However we would have liked it a little quieter and being a 5 star did not expect it to be so noisey or busy so next year will come back after Christmas when the hotel is not as full. We also did not anticipate the 3 day holiday of independence whilst we were there when again the hotel was full lots of children shouting and screaming spoilt it a bit. We will defiantly stay again with all that in mind this is still one of the best hotels in Diani, central for everything, big supermarket, coffee shop, bank,and a few restaurants at hand you would not go wrong staying here.Forgot to mention the food is good also, lots of choice something for everyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouagadougou
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at Swahili Beach 3 times in 2013 - once on a business trip, once for a company event, and once with my family. I enjoyed it very much each time. The hotel is fabulous, the staff extremely professional, friendly and helpful, and the food excellent. The only small downside is the beach, which has a lot of seaweed, but the pool largely compensates for it. I also tried the SPA, which has a beautiful view and offers an excellent service. This is THE best beach resort I stayed in in Kenya, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a refined and luxurious - but affordable beach hotel. I'm not a fan of large hotels and resorts, but despite its size Swahili Beach retains a cozy, friendly and refined atmosphere. This is a place you don't want to leave ! Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a lovely new hotel in a fantastic setting. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is tasty.
As a new hotel there is the odd teething problem (bad TV reception!) but who cares when the fun is outside and the hotel does whatever it can to fix anything arising. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swahili Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.