We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
Swahili Beach Resort
Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent three amazing nights at Swahili Beach and have to say it was one incredible experience.

Once inside the gates, you gate an incredible view into the sea, which is just a taste of things to come.

The setting is high up above the trees which gives you an incredible view into the sea,especially from the cascading pools looking downwards to the sea. The combination of the grass, palm trees and Swahili architecture gives an appearance of Eden itself.

They've planted palm trees on the beach which means not having to squabble for sun decks and allowing one to relax there all day under the swaying of the palms.

Dinner at the beach restaurant is not to be missed, with the sound of waves lapping up on the shores as you eat.

The Swahili style of the rooms, the material used and the sunken baths made it an incredibly pleasant experience, and they even have sun decks on the room balconies.

Best of all, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, not to mention giving an upgrade to Superior Deluxe at no extra charge.

Just to sum up how good the place is, I posted some pictures of the place on facebook and by the following day, a friend had cancelled reservations elsewhere for a group of 16 pax and switched to Swahili Beach.

Worth every cent, I certainly will be going back there and recommend anyone who gets a chance to stay there too.

Room Tip: We didn't get rooms 123 or 128 which are reputed to have great views but the view from 54/55 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    80
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
86
106
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diani Beach, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have never stayed at Swahili beach resort but frequent it whether it be going to the gym or eating at their various restaurants and bar. It really sets a high standard for all the Kenyan beach hotels. It is earthy, very well designed and decorated! There is nothing ostentatious about this place! The pool is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were to stay at this hotel for only two nights and move to another hotel. When our time was up and we changed hotels, our next hotel was not up to the standards we were used to at Swahili Beach. We were spoiled rotten while at Swahili Beach. We cancelled our reservations and called Swahili Beach to kindly pick us up and hopefully book us back in (AGAIN) for another 2 nights. Yes! If that doesn't speak volumes, I do not know what does. Expect good quality... rooms, food, service... Best hotel in Diani.

We traveled to Swahili Beach in February, the weather was just right and excellent for a beach destination. One thing that stood out for us was the swimming pool. Huge! And stretches all the way to the bottom. You are basically spoiled for choice when it comes to swimming. You definitely do not have to worry about bumping into each other when you are swimming. The time of the year we went was quiet, and if you want to enjoy some peace and quiet, consider February.

The service was great, as well as the reservations and checking in which was quick. The room we stayed in was amazing and spacious enough in size. If you are looking for a spacious, consider the luxury rooms, they are slightly more costly, but worth it. I did not get to view any other rooms, therefore I cannot comment on them.
There is a variety of restaurants, although we only ate from the one closest to the beach (can't remember the name) and the main restaurant. The breakfast was the best, especially their pancakes. Please try them.

If you are considering Diani, try Swahili Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This IS a new hotel, but you would of thought its been on the map for some time.....
The entrance gives you no idea whats to come beyond those gates WOW What an experience!!!!!!
The landscape it's self is so colorful and well thought out, down to every detail.....
The design of the palace which I think it should be called a palace, because you would have thought the architect had your dreams in mind.... the large African Heads installation were just the beginning of ruffling your feathers to enter the Hotel...your greeted with the most warm welcoming from the Kenya people who work there, they really make the place sparkle....
YOU MUST GO TO EXPERIENCE THE MOMENT, YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT....I PROMISE..

Room Tip: Every room is a dream, but I love the top floors, to capture the view of the Indian Sea and beaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is a sheer bliss and is the best place for couples .Though the rooms are not ocean facing is one negative aspect but the service , staff and the resort is extremely rich . The swimming pool was a little dirty but its a long one and looks lovely airborne . The closest airport is Diani . They have lovely Indian restaurant and a chef who cooks Indian food .Their bar is very nice and their sunday brunch is filled with activities .The bath tub and the bathroom in the room are very unique .

Room Tip: Please choose rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I took my partner to Swahili Beach Resort for a luxury weekend out of Mombasa where we would be pampered and well looked after, the price wasn't cheap but I wanted to get away and go the 'extra mile' whilst earning some good brownie points!
The entrance to the hotel is quite simply stunning, it is a beautiful building with high ceilings and a cool and quiet air. The view out to the ocean added to a sense that I had made a great choice. The receptionist was helpful and the checking in system was speedy and simple. The peace was shattered by some loud, screaming children who were hammering around the pool, splashing and barging their way around, an immediate no-no for two people with teaching backgrounds - 'where were their parents'??
Our room was delightful, right next to the pool and with the added touch of both monkeys and guinea fowl running around it added to the atmosphere. We ate all our meals at the main restaurant and by the pool, sadly this is where the hotel seems to let itself down; the staff are lazy and disinterested with very few willing to take orders, serve food and drinks and do anything to tidy away after you have finished. The few that are helpful are swamped by orders and guests.
The food itself was fine, nothing spectacular and a bit of a lack of variety considering how much space is given over to the catering area; no poached eggs for breakfast??? Also a little disconcerting was that when I ordered something from the menu it did not state whether or not it contained nuts, I have an allergy, and the waiter didn't seem to know either way, certainly something you wouldn't expect from a place advertising itself as exclusive.
Overall, our stay was lovely but if we are to go back to Swahili Beach, they need to get their staff interested and energised and they really need to look at what they have on the menu!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Swahili Beach for our honeymoon in the second week of october. We were not disappointed. We had emailed previously to say we were coming and looking forward to our stay and on arrival we were upgraded to a lovely superior room overlooking the ocean. We were also presented with a beautiful bunch of roses, prosecco and a congratulations cake (the other honeymoon couple we were with also received the same lovely gifts). We saw the standard rooms on the ground floor as well and they were equally as nice but it was lovely to have the view. On arrival we were greeted with a Dawa and cool towel and things just got better from there. The facilities are beautiful and plenty of places to settle down with a book. The beach is amazing, we took a beach walk organised by the hotel (check the blackboards by the pool hut for activities) and Rodgers took us on a walk down the beach. It is safer to walk with a guide from the hotel although we felt quite safe right in front of the hotel as the hotel guards were visible. We weren't hassled by the beach boys too much and when we were we just said no thank you and didnt engage in conversation. The pools are beautiful and quite often you could have one to yourself. We were on half board accomadation and the food on offer did not disappoint. Breakfast and dinner were beautiful with a wide selection on offer each night. We didnt try any of the other restaurants as we felt we didnt need to. We also took advantage of the spa (a wedding present from friends we received on arrival) and we both had a full body massage. The massage was one of the best we have ever had and the surroundings exquisite. There are also two personal trainers Dixon and Stella - they certainly know their stuff. The drinks at the bars are a fair price for a hotel of this standard. We did go to the supermarket which is a minute walk from the hotel and bought some coffee and beers for our room (there is a fridge in the room). Though we were advised not to leave the hotel after 6 and we didn't. I have to say the staff here are brilliant, they are friendly and helpful and willing to chat. I think if you make the first move with a cheery jambo it really breaks the ice and everyone from the gardeners to the reception staff were lovely but i think it is important to make the effort and say hello. I have seen on some reviews commenting on the slow service. Yes it wasnt immediate but we weren't in a hurry and for us this wasnt a problem. The front of house manager Amani is a cheery presence and could be seen most days checking on guests and asking how they were and any problems etc... we really liked this personal touch. We also met Nicholas (GM) and enjoyed our last evening with him (thanks for the many wee drams). All in all amazing for us and just what we needed. Wow wow wow xxx we will be back

Room Tip: room 127 for the view and a beautiful room. though from what we saw the standard rooms are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swahili Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.