We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
Swahili Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
North England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had booked this hotel not long after it opened and then started to see bad reviews on Tripadvisor....but dont let that put you off! - obviously every new hotel has teething problems, but they have been ironed out, although the manager tells me that they are still improving, but I couldnt see what needed to improve!!
The welcome and check in was all good and swift, the rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms are amazing and the setting was beautiful. The gardens are well kept, the pools clean, the beach is swept daily, and there are plenty of lounging/seated options to choose from inc umbrellas.
The hotel seemed peaceful and most of the time you had a small pool all to yourself, but at dinner when everyone was in the restaurant, there seemed more people around, but it has a very exclusive feel to it.

The buffets were great as I was concerned about luke warm buffet food, but I had freshly cooked pasta dishes, stir frys, meats and fish each night by chefs cooking to order. There was a huge choice and it was the same high standard for breakfast. Afternoon tea was also a pleasant addition.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.
I would highly recommend it to anyone who is particular about high standard of accomadation, as it is all so new and clean.
The beach is nice when the tide is out, and the security make a presence to try to deter the beach boys compaired to other hotels around the area. The only down size is that you have to cross rocks and coral to get to the sea, so it is not ideal to swim or snokel very easily.
I would go back again.
Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    87
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
91
113
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is brand new, designed in a "swahili" style, the rooms are spacious, very comfortable with an unusual Roman-like bathrooms. The cascade swimming pool is very nice, they said it was filled with ocean water, but I seriously doubt it. The food has considerably improved and I had oysters which are not at all easy to find anywhere around. Swahili coffee with spices is a must try at dinner time and sparkling vine for breakfast to set the mood for the day. The staff are well trained. The beach virtually dissappeares during high tide and at low tide the bottom of the sea dries out and you cannot swim but walk around on corals and stones. Not bad for kids and adults who dont care much about swimming or snorkelling.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of several buildings each with two rooms on the ground and two on the floor. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have just returned from 6 days at Swahili Beach with a group of 6 of us from various parts of the world. Having worked in hotels for over 20 years, I thought this hotel was brilliant especially when you bear in mind they have not even been open for a year. My first words were amazing it looks just like it does on the website, which believe me is not usual for hotels. The rooms were very large and the bathroom was fabulous.

I must disagree with another review that said the restaurant was small. It was more than adequate for the numbers of residents when we were there. Like every buffet restaurant the number of tables is less than the hotels capacity as people are supposed to eat at leisure and then leave for the table to be re laid. When we were there they said they had over 200 guests. You wouldnt have known it the place had so many places to relax we hardly saw anybody.

We ate in the Bahrani restaurant one night for a celebration this was also good. My only nit pick was, that evening we didnt finish dinner until after 11pm and wanted a nightcap before we all left for our respective home countries the next day. All the outlets close at 11pm and there is no night service.

I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, we loved every relaxing minute there and didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for a week, drove to Diani through Samburu-Shimba, hate the dreaded wait at the ferry. Amazing welcome with a virgin dawa, cold towels.
Check in was quick, rooms were breathtaking and comfortable. Had lunch at the beach bar, the restaurant customised our pizzas with no issues.
Excellent pools, food was great.
Downside...beach not that good, mostly coral. Dining area small...had to be waited before got a table...its frustrating after a long day. Like they said teething problems as it a new hotel.
Will defo go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished. Very nice interior decor. Great to find a modern stylish hotel on the Kenya coast. Although the other hotels along the beach are charming , it makes a change to stay in a more up to date hotel. Some of the bars were not operational during my stay, but really enjoyed the beach bar. Food was good, plenty of choice at the main buffet, although the selection did seem to be less when we ate late one evening , as the hotel was busy. The Indian fusion restaurant is worth a try , very tasty food. Free wifi was a bonus although signal was weak from my bedroom. I had a ground floor room which had a large terrace with 2 sun beds on it , the upstairs rooms seemed to have smaller balconies.
The beach in front of the hotel is not as wide or stunning as other parts of Diani beach, but at low tide you can walk along and enjoy the wide expanses of white sand. Didn;t get time to try out the spa, but it looked very attractive with breezy treatment rooms overlooking the ocean and rooftop yoga sessions. For Kenya I'd say this is a 5* hotel and would recomend it for anyone looking for something smarter than the average Kenyan beach hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place can only be described as scenic with extremely friendly and helpful staff. A section is still under construction so the place wasn’t too crowded although this could easily change once they start serving at full capacity. The gardens are well manicured and view is magnificent. The swimming pools can only be described as heavenly!

Towels are changed on a daily basis and general cleanliness is observed throughout (except the hair that we found on the sheets and the couches in the room).

Food variety during breakfast and dinner is great, although somewhat repetitive, but is suitable for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. There are three other restaurants you can have your meals at (lunch or dinner). Tea and snacks are served in the afternoon between 4-5pm.

The beach beds can be moved around to suit your needs. During our stay the beach was covered in sea weed but this is a seasonal problem. In any case, every effort was being made to clean it daily.

The rooms are quite large, air conditioned, have tea and coffee facilities, a small fridge,a safe and a television. Water for the shower is solar heated therefore quite warm in the evenings. Superior rooms have an inbuilt bathtub which is a great treat!

We would definitely go back :)

Room Tip: Request for a room that is not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I visited this hotel during August 2012 with my better half for a relaxing week after safari in the Masai Mara.

This hotel is only 8 months old and offers fresh, beautifully styled, traditional Arabic design throughout the hotel, efficient and friendly customer service, the best hotel food I have ever enjoyed for a half board leisure hotel and rooms which are comfortable, well styled and spacious.

The Indian restaurant is not part of the half board option but I would recommend dining here for one night of your stay as the food is extremely fine.

Just to mention that I work for a global hotelier and have stayed in numerous standards of accommodation worldwide. With this in mind, I would count the Swahili Beach as one of the finest properties I have stayed in.

As as final note I would like to mention our appreciation to the management in relation to some assistance we required for a particular incident. Mark, Operations and Esther, Duty Manager were sublime in their response and certainly gave us peace of mind. Thank you both.

Big thanks to all at the hotel for a wonderful, relaxing week.

Daniel N & Victoria S

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#1 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#10 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provides its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swahili Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.