We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most beautiful resort on Diani beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swahili Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
Swahili Beach Resort
Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
dongen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“most beautiful resort on Diani beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've stayed one week in this beautiful resort. The architecture is stunning. The rooms are spacious and tasteful designed. Good bed and bath! Unfortunately the pressure in the shower was to little. The swimmingpool is great. Laying down under the palmtrees on the beach feels like heaven. The food in the beachbar (lunch) is very good. The dinerbuffet is rather moderate. The wifi connection needs improvement, and their music choice too! I would suggest some Ibiza lounge music for creating a good mood.
Hopefuly the hotel is finished in april 2012. Some minor improvements, and then they will be the best in Diani Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    70
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
88
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

As a business traveller, I've stayed in many (7) resorts in Diani. Let me tell you that Swahili Beach is the best resort on the South Coast, hands down. I've stayed for 2 weeks and I will stay for many more months. This resort is superior to any competing resorts in the area in categories of food, decor, value for money and overall quality of the experience. Swahili has simply reset the standard in Diani Beach, which frankly, needed updating. In a field of tired, old mediocre "5-star" resorts (reality: 3 star anywhere else), Swahili is an absolute breath of fresh air.

I have absolutely no complaints on rooms and facilities - which is the most common issue I have with resorts in Kenya; all of which have issues in this department. I believe that if you are going to charge developed-world prices for a resort in an extremely poor country, it better be spectacular. And most are not (brown, smelly water from the tap is not "safe" nor acceptable). Swahili is brand new and everything just simply works. This is not by accident; it's by design, the product of an owner who made a decision to build a resort with only quality materials and good workmanship.

Some minor issues to look out for are that the staff - while extremely friendly and pleasant - can be unusually slow in bringing the bill following meals, and are not particularly attentive.

There are other very minor issues not worth writing about, but the resort is brand new and is still working out the kinks, which I think is entirely reasonable and expected. And at the end of the day, the 'kinks' don't really matter that much - because you will be blown away by how wonderful the resort is, and those issues quickly become so unimportant. That, in my opinion, is the best compliment anyone could make about a resort.

Bottom line, I would recommend this resort over all others in Diani; if, however, it's out of your budget, a close second is Leopard Beach Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I would love to give this hotel a higher rating. I loved the spacious rooms (the slightly cheaper upstairs rooms have a sea view, the more expensive ground floor ones have an additional sunken sitting area), the pools and the lovely design of the place. The bathrooms are lovely and the rooms well appointed. It is also in a good location. However there were a number of things that were less impressive. When I arrived it became clear after a while that they had lost my booking. After some 30 minutes, following me showing them the email chain, I was shown to a room. Unfortunately there was someone else in it and they were none too pleased. After a while an additional room was found. The website claims 4 restaurants and a cafe. In fact only 2 were open during my stay. While I was there the gym and the spa did open, although I only found out by overhearing someone say say. The food at the beach was much better than the very ordinary buffet in the other open place. Some good freshly cooked meat and fish but everything else was very ordinary, including a number of very bland anglo-Indian dishes. Three days I mentioned the horrible stale biscuits to the staff but they came back the following day. However, my biggest complaint is that the hotel did not have operating what it claimed to have and at no point was I told about this. Service is patchy and quite slow despite the hotel being far from full. A lovely place urgently in need of some management and honest information sharing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

New year, new amenities... after a long building time, we finally got to see the opening of the new 5* "Swahili" hotel ... a real beuty of good taste and personal touches. The entrance is stunning with this arabic/swahili architecture, with this modelled curves and shining white walls. At night the light exiting from the beautiful wrought iron wall lamps and chandeliers give a particular touch to all the atmosphere. Walking down the path to the beach, on the sides, you find two long fountains with still water that refrect the surrondings like a mirror. All the details have been keenly studied, from the lighting to the furniture (outside mostly with drift wood and old timber). It was just the perfect venue for a night out in a very romantic setting... we will be back for sure. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We visited Swahili Beach a month after the grand opening for the Christmas season. I must say we were totally blown away by the magnificent hotel right from the start.

The hotel looked great and offered the feeling of luxury. Even the standard rooms were big and luxurios and all the public areas were well tended and spacey. Especially the numerous separate swimming pools were great !

The staff might have been a bit inexperienced still, but very friendly. All the managers had time to make sure we were all right and everything worked great.

The food in the restaurants was great. The only minus I can think of is that some of the restaurants were not yet open so there was not that much choice on the cuisine, but that should be fixed in a month or two when the 2 other restaurants, an indian cuisine and a seafood restaurant open. Also another cafe should be open by end Feb or so...

The activities offered seemed to be good, we did a glass-bottom boat ride with snorkelling. the price was not the cheapest in Diani (1500KSh / adult) and the boat the hotel had contracted was a bit worn out (the glass on the bottom was dirty and the view not so clear), but the crew was friendly and helpful and guided us through the trip.

In summary I definitely can recommend this hotel for people wanting to get a little touch of luxury in their lives.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia, Italy
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

i stayed in the hotel for 3 nights ans the otel general manager was very rude at me and my collegues, i would really advice swahili managment to get rid of general manager call gupta if i am not wrong. other wise the hotel structure is fabulous.

Room Tip: rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We spent one week in a newly opened hotel on Diani beach in the beginning of January 2012. The hotel has very stilish and spacious facilities and big and comfortable rooms. We had two rooms as we needed a separate room for the child.

The staff was very helpful, attentive and friendly. The food in the restaurants (especially in the a la carte restaurant on the beach) was absolutely perfect and we it was not a problem to order other positions not listed in the menu. One day the chief cook smoked a fish that we catched in the morning - it was very tasteful and totally free for us!

During this week we hardly seen any moskitos, also because the hotel staff takes care of swithing on fumigators and putting moskito nets over the bed (the latter even not necessary, but very romantic).

The hotel is located near to some big supermarkets and craft shops on Diani beach, but unfortunately on this piece of the beach the see is not accessible for swimming.

We can only recommend choosing this hotel and must notice that the 5-stars-level is more than comparable with any European resorts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swahili Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.