We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diani Beach week by Phillip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kitu Kidogo Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Save
You added Kitu Kidogo Cottages to your Saves list
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Diani Beach week by Phillip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was a good stay, Comfy bed and a fresh water showers. Some places near by used Filtered saline water, thats a real bore.ly sticky and even the sheets were washed in salt so having fresh sheets and pure water was a big plus. Hey and we drank the water too,

Edith who managers the place was a real sweetheart. She able to do your washing and pressing as well.

Just a short walk to the beach down the lane to 40 Thieves Bar. You need sandals for this as there are a few stones. Internet is difficult to get and not cheap if you need it.

if you want surf its a little way away. The beach there is good . Lots of good restaurants $5 by cab away.

A nice private place. Also if you wanted a bigger place or a second group there's a larger house in the same compound.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayalShah, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Kitu Kidogo. I am glad that you enjoyed the luxury of fresh water which indeed is such a rarity on the Kenyan Coast. Nothing like feeling fresh after a shower or sleeping on fresh sheets.

I would like to mention that we now provide free high speed (Wi - Fi) Internet. You will now be able to access internet from anywhere on our property.

We look forward to hosting you again

Kindest regards

Payal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place was amazing. It's a beautiful cottage right by the beach maybe a 2 minute walk to the ocean. It's location is great as it is tucked in giving more privacy. Security is also good here and an important factor. Beautiful outside patio to BBQ and relax. Very clean, cleaning staff is extremely helpful, and it's located next two places that you must visit; Forty Thieves Beach Bar and The Cave Restaurant. I would highly recommend this place, I had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed there for a week with some friends, its such a beautiful home and so close to the beach and has almost everything you would,a a great kitchen, two beautiful rooms and a great sitting place outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

A beautiful and lovely house to stay in near to the beach and the famous Forty Thieves Beach Bar and Ali Babour Cave Restaurant. Nice housekeeper and cook available for an additional cost which is well worth it. We were slightly disappointed upon arrival because the housekeeper was not there (due to a death in her family) and the house had not been thoroughly cleaned w. cobwebs and lizard poop clearly visible despite the efforts of the cook, Monica. However, Edith, the housekeeper, came the next morning and thoroughly cleaned the place and attended to our needs. She makes everyone feel welcome and actively maintains the place. We lost water each morning around 8am but she took care of the problem and even had the plumbers out our second day looking into it. Just watch out for the bush baby who came into the small house at night and ate our bananas and mango!! A lovely secluded getaway perfect for a single or a couple.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayalShah, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sahani Cottage (1 BR) and liked its close proximity to the beach and the Forty Thieves beach bar and the Cave restaurant. I would like to apologise for our housekeeper Ediths absence on the first day due to her sisters death. We normally do advise our guests to put everything in cabinets or the fridge when going to bed due to the resident bush baby. I will put a sign up for future guests ! I am extremely happy to hear that you found the spot secluded as our main aim is to provide guests with privacy and exclusivity. With regards to the geckos (lizards) we clean up as much as we can (daily basis) but living in the bush does not make it easy. They are part of the environment and will come into the cottage occassionally.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I Stayed at Kitu kidogo with a few friends and must say that I have never lived in a more beautiful house. It is absolutely stunning and the coastal forest it is in just makes it even more perfect. In terms of comfort the beds had good quality mattresses so we slept very well. The kitchen was fully equipped and very clean. Edith the housekeeper was great too. It was only a few minutes from forty thieves and the beach so the location was very convenient. I would advise anyone that is going to diani to relax to check themselves into Kitu kidogo cottages

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Beautiful cottage near the beach, forty thieves bar, the cave,.. The outside lounge area is great to relax, have dinner,..just wonderful!
The cottage is beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds, the shower is amazing (with fresh hot water!)
Edith, the cook and housekeeper does a wonderful job, she makes the guests feel at home and cooks great meals!
Conclusion: if you go to diani beach, stay at Kitu Kidogo!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had such an amazing week at Kitu Kidogo Cottages in October 2011. It was the final week of a month long trip to Africa for our Honeymoon and we wanted to relax on a beach. We were SO happy with our choice to stay at Kitu Kidogo. It is a beautiful property, all fenced off, with a security Masaii guard (Moses) from 6pm-6am, and a wonderful amazing housekeeper and chef, Edith. Edith really added so much to our experience in Diani, and the overall experience at the cottage. She cooked great meals, she was fun, interesting, sweet, and caring to talk to. She took us to the village to buy school supplies, and then took us to a local school for orphans, where she helped us hand out the supplies. She really made the trip extra special, and Kitu Kidogo is lucky to have her - the cottage would not be the same without her!!!

The beach was about a 3 min walk from the cottages, and we walked the entire beach during our stay and the part of the beach that is in front of Flamboyant (same property as Kitu), is one of the best, if not the best, span of beach. Not to mention it's just steps away from Forty Thieves, which has reasonably priced food and drinks. Food is pretty good, and overall beach bar feeling is great. One of the managers, Kathy, was very knowledgable and helpful. Also just steps away is the Ali Barbour's Cave restaurant. A must-do while in Diani, the overall ambiance and feeling is amazing. The food is higher priced, and is just ok, nothing special.

The cottages themselves, we stayed in Firimbi, the 2 bedroom with a/c, and it was perfect for us. We needed the a/c to sleep at night, and the outside dining/entertaining area was perfect for eating, relaxing, reading, whatever you wanted to do. The pricing of the cottages is EXTREMELY reasonable in relation to all of the other properties along the beach.

We also had visitors of Dik-Dik's, and 3 different kinds of monkeys into the bushes around the cottages - very cool!

The only things I'd like to see changed/updated would be that Edith get a raise - she's such a hard worker, and so important to the cottages, we wish she made more money, so that she could afford to keep her daughter in school in the area, and not have to send her to the other side of Kenya. And secondly, I wish there was a few lounge/beach type chairs. The grass is filled with bugs and dirt, but it would be nice to sit in the sun, in a comfortable chair, when taking a break from the beach boys, or waiting for lunch.

Room Tip: The bigger cottage is a bit pricier, but very much worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kitu Kidogo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitu Kidogo Cottages

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitu Kidogo is an exclusive holiday retreat tucked away in a coastal indigenous forest that has been around for centuries. It comprises of two beautiful cottages made out of coral, sandstone and wood showing off the various textures of the ancient Swahili coastline. Each cottage is dressed with intricately hand carved Lamu furniture, Rajhastani and South African soft furnishings and Afghani and Ethiopian wool Rugs. The walls reflect our travels around the globe. Each wall piece has been carefully selected to fit in with the theme of the cottage giving the spaces an exotic but at the same time a harmonious look. The palm lamp shades highlight the beauty of each piece with its soft glow. What the cottage evokes is memories of the old Africa influenced by the spice trade route! Kitu Kidogo is ideal for families, groups and couples. If you are looking for comfort, style, privacy and personalized service then this is the perfect holiday home for you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitu Kidogo Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.