We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing place right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro

Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro
Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
+254 712 294873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 restaurants in Diani Beach
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro: relax and savour the sensation of waves lapping your toes while having a refreshing cocktail, listen to live music, play bar games, watch water sports and have a delicious lunch with your friends and family.Disco into the early hours of the morning every night.All these can be done at this unique bar, the only one situated actually on the beach on the east African coastline. It is a vibrant atmosphere not to be missed.
liverpool uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice relaxing place right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

better beer than hotel and nice cool breeze, thge staff where very laid back and made us welcome, the toilets where spotlessly clean

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    113
    123
    61
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food and service can vary quite a bit (while I was living near Diani I was a regular visitor) particularly when really busy, but for location and atmosphere it can't be beaten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We only stopped by for a couple of hours for a few beers. The atmosphere was relaxed and you are right on the beach. I felt though that it was a bit pricey for Kenya, although clearly some locals were drinking there too although it was mainly frequented by tourist while we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What A Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Quite simply breathtaking and the most amazing seafood I have ever tasted!!! The perfect romantic evening under the stars in the most perfect setting!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The beach restaurant was quite loud with a huge TV screen blaring a football game. The waitress didn't really know the stuff on the menu but she was really nice about it. The food was very tasty, huge portions and piping hot and the wine we chose blindly was excellent.

Great for an informal dinner, especially if you like a sports bar that turns into a disco but not elegant dining.

Fantastic value for money with good and plentiful food

All in all, I wish we had a 3 and a half star rating as it was better than average but not great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty Thieves Beach Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.