We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galu Inn, Diani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galu Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galu Inn to your Saves list
Galu Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach | P.O. Box 5098, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Galu Inn, Diani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a fantastic time at this hotel & i would highly recommend it. Everywhere is spotless & the rooms have everything you need including a ceiling fan & air conditioning. The bathrooms have a shower & bath which is quite a rareity when abroad. There are TV's & safes in every room too. The staff were so friendly & nothing was too much trouble. The pool was kept clean & was a great way to relax & cool down. For those that like a bit of pampering, the hotel also has a beauty treatment room & we highly recommend the back massage! Diani is very spread out so you cant really walk from bar to bar but the matatu's pick up from outside the hotel & this is an experience in itself! The beach is beautiful & spreads out for miles! Getting back to the hotel, if in Diani again,we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Kirsty

Thank you for staying at Galu Inn and for taking time to write a review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you found the services friendly.

Staff and Management will be informed of your compliments.

We look forward to your next visit at Galu Inn

Best Wishes

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at Galu Inn at the beginning of June 2012. I would describe it as a small, affordable, clean and charming. Hotel. If you cannot afford to stay at one of the more expensive beach-front hotels on the Diani and Galu beaches, then Galu Inn which is on the second row and only 4 or 5 minutes walk from the beach (via a public access path) is a great alternative. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The premises is quiet and secure. The food was not bad and the service was friendly. The only misgiving I have is that the rooms do not have private balconies. I was in Diani on business but I would recommend Galu Inn to families, couples and business travelers. I would definitely stay at Galu Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Bryan,

Thank you for your review dated 20th September 2012

We thank you for your compliments, and also for concerns that
you raised regarding lack of balconies, we have made the upper
lounge a residents only lounge where you can sit and enjoy views
of the pool and lawns.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Galu Inn.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bujumbura, Bujumbura, Burundi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I often come to Diani Beach and always stay at Galu Inn, it is affordable, clean. The room are very nice and modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff is very nice, like a small family. If you look for a quiet and friendly place (not big resort type), this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Virginie

Thank you for your review dated 19th September 2012.

Thank you for your compliments and for choosing Galu Inn
as your premier resort at the South Coast, Diani Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msambweni
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Galu Inn has nice clean rooms, friendly staff and great pool. It is good value, and if you are looking for a place that has air con, nice rooms and privacy Galu Inn is good for people who are OK with not living on the beach, but want the facilities of a modern hotel. Compared to most beach hotels, Galu Inn is more of a business hotel, with better service and facilities. A big bonus is that they grow organic food behind the hotel. By growing organic, and providing organic food they are different form the rest of the hotels on the south coast. The opportunity to visit the farm and met the farmers on the same land/compound as the Hotel makes it special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MzeeKimai, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your rating , we will strive to improve on areas lowly rated
and further strive to maintain or improve on areas rated highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

See -------- for pictures of the room/hotel on the website. They are accurate in my opinion.

Rooms and hotel: Very happy with our room, clean and comfortable, modern and light. Air con. TV. Minibar. Room electronic safe. Issues with shower water spreading everywhere in bathroom after use the only problem but once cleaners came its back to spic and span. No mosquito nets but didn't seem to matter if kept screens on windows and door closed. There are around 14 rooms so its a small intimate place. Security is good with 2 guards, high wall and fencing.

Reception service: Ranged from very good to OK.
Room cleaning service: During stay they were excellent. When arrived initially one of the rooms had not been checked properly so we had to go and ask for it to be done again. There were leftovers from previous guests in fridge and bed not made properly. This was fixed in adequate time.

Pool and surrounds: Lovely, clean, quiet. Always a time of day when you could have it to yourself (this was around christmas too). Benefit of a small hotel.

Beach: Galu is beautiful, you really are only an easy 5 minute walk away from beach at the Inn. Didn't feel that we missed anything from not being right on the beach. There are a few nice restaurants nearby in galu within walking distance. You can easily ride matatu transport or get taxi into the Diani restaurants and pubs, go to Diani supermarkets. Approx: 10 min car ride.

Hotel Food/Restaurant: Food not great- recommend not getting a full or half board option. Service by waiters was good.

Overall: I would have scored this stay higher but some things held me back: like guests next door VERY noisy at night. Most of the hotel had complained by the 2nd night and he was warned. Not the hotels fault but they could have been more vigilant during those nights and had security and or reception intervene, especially since they state a 24 hour reception service.
Breakfast served cold one morning. Replaced with minimum fuss though.

In summary- its a nice place with a lot of hiccups. Your hiccups will be remedied if you ask but on holiday it can be a hassle to ask for things to be redone. If they improved their game this could be a winner place if only for its personal size and nice pool/rooms. Don't discount it, just be realistic that they have some rough edges and hopefully over time they will improve.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MzeeKimai, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for staying at Galu Inn and also for your feedback, it has proved invaluable in improving our services and product.

On our A la Carte menu we have increased the choices on offer and also started offering organic selection from our garden.

We have intensified training on customer care and I trust guests have noted a marked improvement.

We trust we shall have the opportunity to host you soon and that you will appreciate improvements in product and service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galu Inn

Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach | P.O. Box 5098, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galu Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic & charming lodge located in the heart of Diani 's vibrant eatery and shopping scene, a two minute stroll across the road from the pristine white sand Galu Beach. Our value-oriented accommodation integrates contemporary design and modern facilities, with traditional Kenyan hospitality, providing a delightful getaway for both business and leisure travellers alike. Karibu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Galu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.