We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit but it wont be my last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant

Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant
Diani Beach Road | Almanara Luxury Villas, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
+254 (0) 716 863884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the beach front within Almanara, this breathtaking piece of architecture is both stunning and unique. The sweeping sails and curving beams create an ambience unparalleled on the east coast of Africa. Executive Chef Luke Doig & his team are on hand for lunch and dinner to bring to you a variety of international flavours perfect for any mood. Fresh seafood is delivered daily by the local fishermen, allowing guests to sample all that the Indian Ocean has to offer.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My first visit but it wont be my last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I visit Diani 3 times a year but have never been to Sails, we travelled by our usual tuk tuk and although no sign for Sails it is situated along the beach road towards Galu and the sign is for Almanara. We took a chance and hadn't booked, it was not a problem as it is unfortunately very quiet in Diani now and we were welcomed by the security who contacted the restauarant, it was an amazing drive down and appeared very exclusive and up market. The view from the restaurant is amazing and so peaceful. The service was excellent! the food, well, we both had the fillet steak, the best I have ever had, so tender and huge amount of meat very very good. The chef came out to speak to us which is a really nice touch. You would expect the price to be high but it is on par with a good bar meal in England, 5050 ksh for main, dessert, beer, cocktail and coffee, for the quality and quantity excellent price! We will definitely be returning in August during my next trip. Thank you for a lovely meal and experience. I have marked as mid range for price but the food and service is definitely fine dining, I highly recommend Sails, fantastic!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Diani Beach, Kenya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Constant greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Every time we go to sails we have an excellent meal! I have yet to have an average / bad experience there.

Sails is one of the more chic restaurants in Diani and even though they do not have a huge menu, there is a great selection of meals at reasonable prices. I have yet to go there without the chef personally offering to cook my twins a kiddies meal (they do not have a kiddies menu).

Sitting on the loungers, sipping a cocktail / glass of wine and enjoying some bitings while waiting for your meal to be prepared, adds to the relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. The view of the beach is great too!

It is advisable to book a table (+254 716 863 884) to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on the South Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We always go to Sails, and when we can more than once during short trips. Excellent food, attention to detail, knowledgeable service. All in a little corner of paradise for very democratic prices. Closed on tuesdays!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Was a great evening at Sails. With a nice comfortable/casual bar lounge area for cocktails and canapés while your main meals are being cooked. relaxed and friendly service make the whole experience very enjoyable. Chef is great and comes over to have a general chit chat with all the guests and they can take special requests too on the menu or adapt things slightly if needed. This is a great restaurant and very laid back.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We visited four times during our stay as it was a short walk from the villa where we were staying. The service was always excellent, the cocktails were great and the ambience was very casual chic. We only ate there on one evening and the food was pretty average apart from the smoked sailfish which was delicious

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.