We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food & first class service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant

Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant
Diani Beach Road | Almanara Luxury Villas, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
+254 (0) 716 863884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the beach front within Almanara, this breathtaking piece of architecture is both stunning and unique. The sweeping sails and curving beams create an ambience unparalleled on the east coast of Africa. Executive Chef Luke Doig & his team are on hand for lunch and dinner to bring to you a variety of international flavours perfect for any mood. Fresh seafood is delivered daily by the local fishermen, allowing guests to sample all that the Indian Ocean has to offer.
London,
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & first class service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We ate here for lunch and returned for an evening meal later in our holiday. On both occasions both the service and the food were fabulous and you should definitely go!
The restaurant is beautifully designed, the seating is comfortable and you get fabulous views out to the Indian Ocean.
On both occasions I had soup of the day to start and they were delicious! I tried the traditional fish and chips and the fish is THE BEST fish I've ever had! When we ate here in the evening I had steak and it was perfectly cooked medium rare so it just melted in my mouth!
The ice-creams and desserts are to die for!
The service from all the staff was perfect and I would definitely recommend Sails.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Executive Chef & GM at Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was great to have you guys with us at Almanara, and i'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meals at Sails.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Luke Doig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a delicious dinner at Sails - the food was exceptional - three of us went for the seafood platter which consisted of lobster, prawns, fish, crab and calamari. All delicious and with a chili butter sauce. I had a salad with it which was also yummy, lettuce tomato and Parmesan. And then for dessert (though we didn't have much space) - I had chocolate mousse which was not as bitter as I like a mousse but still delicious! The atmosphere was lovely, we also recommend Dawas to start!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were fortuante to have dinner at Sails. The food and ambiance were wonderful. We had our resort make a reservation-and made our way over there. We had fried seaweed as a starter-we had to ask for more it was so good! The menu was on a chalk board which makes me think everything is fresh. Excellent wine list, delicious flavors, and a beatuful setting. It was outr last night in Diani-but I wish we could have gone back. The chef came out to make sure evrything was to our liking. The waitstaff was so personal-never pushy, but patient. I would highly recommend this dining here if you are in Diani.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Executive Chef & GM at Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Sails. Please do come back and visit us next time you're in Kenya.

We'll have the Seaweed waiting for you!

Luke Doig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“small and nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

definatly small but nice and quiet, a place to sepend a sundower

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best food in diani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

by far the best restaurant, great food and at reasonable prices. Service is great too!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.