We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise if you do not mind insects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warandale Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warandale Cottages
Save
You added Warandale Cottages to your Saves list
P.O. Box 11, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little paradise if you do not mind insects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at Komba here from 25th May to 9th April.

House was good albeit old with wear and tears visible. Our house was very close to the pool so it felt like a private pool. we were also very lucky as there were very few guests at this time therefore most times we had the pool to ourselves. Our house keeper Judith was fantastic. made our stay better as she was very good in baby sitting and cooking sumptuous meals. i do recommend her.

On the not so good side, a snake entered the house. The screams we made were deafening. The roof of the cottage has trees close to it and we believed this is how the snake got in. We however moved on from this and never saw a repeat.

Ants, cockroaches and flies are the order of the day... kinda got used to it though this was not what i expected while on vacay. i recommend fumigation.

Otherwise a good location near the mall yet near the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Think very carefully before committing to staying here. You may be lucky and have a great stay as a few people posting reviews have, but only if you are lucky enough to get everything as promised and have no need to speak to the owner.

To be balanced, the cottages are nice enough (although a little worn) and the location is ok if you don’t mind walking along the beach to swim (although at high tide you can’t get across the rocks to Leopard Resort which is the first spot with sand and not coral). The pool area is nice but small (and there are only 5 sun-loungers). Without a sea-view it is a bit claustrophobic and hot without the breeze. The cold shower may help with that (you may prefer your water at least on the warm side but you’d be out of luck).

Now, other people were lucky enough to get the chef that is ‘included’ but we were met with surprise when we asked about ours, and the only thing that was cleaned in a whole week was the patio. None of the personal touches you’d expect from a more upmarket place either, like a change of towels every few days, bed made, clean bathroom, replacement toilet roll! And none of the mod-cons like a generator for the power cuts (everyone else along the beach seemed to be ok).

And perhaps the reason why you may not get what you expect, THE OWNER….a rude and obnoxious woman who is totally uninterested in any kind of hospitality or guest service. The sort of person who just talks over you and makes every excuse possible. In this day and age, surely we can do better with our choice of where to stay and give our money to someone who deserves it. There are certainly plenty of other places on Diani Beach to choose from.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The 4 of us stayed in Warandale Cottages for 5 nights in June 2012. We booked the Mlima Cottage, that face the ocean and accommodates 4 people. We were more than satisfied with our choice.

Our cottage had three rooms - two bedrooms that faced the ocean and a common room with dining area in the middle. All rooms were very clean and nicely furnished in blue-and-white colors. There are two bathrooms (for both bedrooms) and a fully equipped kitchen.

The bedrooms have quite comfy beds, wardrobe, mirrors and all usual furniture. There are no air-con in the cottage, however in every room there are fans. I stayed in a right-hand bedroom and it has a huge window overlooking the ocean. It was amazing to wake up there.

The terrace is a great place to hang out, enjoy the view, sunbath, have a drink in the evening etc. Really lovely. However, beware of the so-called beach-boys who hang around in the beach and try to get your attention while you are on the terrace. The cottage has a security guard, so these boys are harmless for you, just annoying.

The Warandale cottages has a really nice swimming pool in the garden. As the beach was not really enjoyable in June (there were really low tide for almost all day and when the water level was higher, there were so much seaweed it was unpleasant to swim. There are rocks in the water as well so be careful while entering the water), so the pool was a real gift. Great setting, clean pool.

The cottage comes with a personal cook and cleaner. The cook can prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner, but note that you have to buy the ingredients yourself. Actually it was not much cheaper to cook in the cottage then to eat outside, so we actually asked to cook for us just once. However the food was delicious and finely served.

Beware that there are moneys hanging around terrace, so don´t ever let anything unattended there. Moneys can sometimes enter a cottage as well so close the door (especially the ones for the terrace) every time you are not around.

Also take a flashlight with you when going out in the evening. There are some unlit parts of the road on the way back.

The stay in Warandale was really lovely and enjoyable. We were really sorry that we had so little time there. I could suit well for honeymoon, but although there isn´t much to do in Diani, you can easily go to Mombasa (as we did) or some other interesting places around (we didn´t as we enjoyed the pool and the sun).

Overall - highly recommended place if searching for a relaxing vacation in nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed at Warandale Cottages for 5 nights in May. The place was good value and the service was excellent.

The room rate includes a cook :) who made very good lunch & Dinner for use, set the table and washed dishes. All we needed was to pay for the ingredients. good service !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The cottages are lovely, but definitely get rooms with beach views. Otherwise, it's a little claustrophobic with the walls around you. We didnt actually use the cook option, so we can't comment on that. There are tons of monkeys everywhere. To really have beach access, you need to walk to in front of Leonard Beach Resort. Beware there are TONS of beach boys that will hassle you all day long! But the pool is nice, though small, but a good alternative to trekking to the beach.
The rooms could be a little cleaner, but all in all they were nice. The ceilings are not very high, so if you are over 6'4, it might seem a little cram.



There is a nice Italian restaurant close by called Leonardos and a grocery store as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed three nights in May, when it's low season. Only sounds I could hear were the waves and the wind. Had a fantastic view of the ocean from the veranda of the Salama cottage where I stayed.

Had some of the best food I've had in Kenya, by the personal cook Swaleh (included in the price), although it seems like the policy now is that the guests do the shopping.

I don't have complaints really, I simply had an amazingly relaxing stay here, just what I was after.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for five nights in Salama cottage. It was comfortable, clean and decorated in a way that gave it a lovely African, beach house feel.

We didn’t realise that the apartment included a chef, Swhali, who was outstanding. We agreed a cost for food for the length of our stay and he offered to shop for the produce and ingredients which were all locally brought and sourced. Everyday, we woke up to a fantastic breakfast that he had freshly prepared. He made delicious dishes from seafood that had been caught that day: crab, snapper, squid and baked bread and chapattis. The evening meals were so good that we ended up eating in the apartment for our entire stay. He was very flexible, so if we didn’t need lunch then he would just cook in the evening and vice versa.

The location of the Cottages was another highlight. Our apartment had a balcony with chairs and a table that overlooked the stunning beach which was easily accessed from the garden below. Although the area immediately below the cottages was rocky and not really good for sun bathing, a short walk down the beach lead to a beautiful strip with fine, almost white sand. We hired sun loungers for the day from the resort next door to the cottages, which were right on the beach. The cottages also have a pool which was clean and well maintained.

We haven’t given the rooms a full five as they are starting to look like they need a touch of paint. However, that in no way detracted from our stay.

For what we paid, we got much more than we expected and the cottages were an amazing end to our Kenyan holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warandale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warandale Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 11, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warandale Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.