We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dives at Kisite Marine Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari

Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari
Diani Beach Road | Colliers Centre, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
+254 40 3203559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Diani Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pilli Pipa is an accredited PADI Dive Resort under the name of Firefly Ocean Camp, registration number s22994. We have up to date diving equipment which is replaced regularly. We have excellent dive gear imported and replaced regularly. Contrary to what one reviewer, Roadsmoretravelled, November/December 2013, has falsely put on a review. He did not come on our dhow but was probably told by the Shimoni hotel he stayed at that he was going with Pilli Pipa. We do not dive in 1 or 2 metres of water and we do not have shocking equipment. If you want a wonderful diving experience with professionals, book with Harm Lutjeboer, Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, PADI and Naui registered, dive base, Firefly Ocean Camp in Shimoni. Not based at Shimoni Reef Lodge. We also take snorkellers to the Kisite Mpunguti Marine Park for an exciting adventure followed by lunch at Pilli Pipa on Wasini Island.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Dives at Kisite Marine Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Following recommendations, we joined Pilli Pipa for a day at the Kisite National Marine Park and it was great! The owner was very helpful (as we called him last minute for the next day) and we could go for two very good dives, departing from Shimoni! Also, as we had to leave before the lunch usually planned on the islands, they took us back on time to Shimoni - quite nice and flexible!

Kisite waters are nicely transparent and turquoise.. nice fishes and corals!

Outside waters, the dhow was very comfy - full service (drinks, some finger food, ..), very nice divers and captain! Thanks again for such great day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    31
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkelling perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Loved the dolphins, turtles, rays, starfish, octopus, thousands of fish, coral
Adored the fresh crab lunch with traditional singing
Hated the sea sickness( which I got over in the water)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing experience, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What an amazing, amazing trip from start to finish! My boyfriend and I decided on this trip after getting in touch with the company via Facebook before we had left the UK after we had read so many wonderful things about them. I was slightly nervous about diving and initially considered just going along for the boat trip but the staff were so knowledgeable and professional I was very quickly put at ease and decided to do a snorkel and a dive.

For the dive, we had the most amazing dive master! It was just my boyfriend and I with the dive master for the full dive. Before we left the boat he gave us all the equipment and showed us the basics. He knew everything about the equipment (which was fab, lovely and clean/ new ) and made me feel so safe and reassured. The waters were amazing, beautifully clear and teaming with colourful corals and a huge variety of marine life . We had a good 40 mins under the water, the dive master knew sea like the back of his hand, and took us to see the best corals .I felt extremely well looked after at all times.

The scuba dive afterwards was just as good, we moved onto a different site were the coral was shallower so we could have a good look. We were even lucky enough to see a turtle! On the way to lunch a school of dolphins escorted us along the way.

Then onto lunch!! The hospitality was second to none, the food was outstanding and everyone was catered for. I wouldn't do the surroundings or the atmosphere justice trying to explain, you have to experience this for yourself.

An amazing, family run excursion. We both had a fantastic time, if you are thinking about diving/ snorkelling or even just a boat trip this is definitely the place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One Hell of an Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Si i didn't know that you can actually swim - with WILD dolphins in Kenya! Kenya my country never ceases to amaze me.... No Artificial flavors or additives, This Excursion is ....-Just the way God made It!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“old fashioned sailing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A delightful sea trip for snorkelling; quite energetic. Climb into little boat to reach bigger boat, climb down into sea to snorkel (towed if necessary by sailor), climb back into big boat, climb down into little boat, climb up ladder to island, walk rough path for ten minutes, eat interesting meal with sung welcome, relax, walk ten minutes, climb down etc. snorkel again, climb up - well, you get the picture! Picturesque boat, friendly crew.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari also viewed

Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.