We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned sailing trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari

Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari
Diani Beach Road | Colliers Centre, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
+254 40 3203559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Activities in Diani Beach
Type: Reefs, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pilli Pipa is an accredited PADI Dive Resort under the name of Firefly Ocean Camp, registration number s22994. We have up to date diving equipment which is replaced regularly. We have excellent dive gear imported and replaced regularly. Contrary to what one reviewer, Roadsmoretravelled, November/December 2013, has falsely put on a review. He did not come on our dhow but was probably told by the Shimoni hotel he stayed at that he was going with Pilli Pipa. We do not dive in 1 or 2 metres of water and we do not have shocking equipment. If you want a wonderful diving experience with professionals, book with Harm Lutjeboer, Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, PADI and Naui registered, dive base, Firefly Ocean Camp in Shimoni. Not based at Shimoni Reef Lodge. We also take snorkellers to the Kisite Mpunguti Marine Park for an exciting adventure followed by lunch at Pilli Pipa on Wasini Island.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“old fashioned sailing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A delightful sea trip for snorkelling; quite energetic. Climb into little boat to reach bigger boat, climb down into sea to snorkel (towed if necessary by sailor), climb back into big boat, climb down into little boat, climb up ladder to island, walk rough path for ten minutes, eat interesting meal with sung welcome, relax, walk ten minutes, climb down etc. snorkel again, climb up - well, you get the picture! Picturesque boat, friendly crew.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    25
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent trip, well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Picked up at 715 and 1 hour drive which isn't too bumpy(this is Africa). Lovely boat trip to the island. Great snorkel, excellent mask and flippers, great fish though reef a bit worn. Swam with dolphins and saw many fish and a sea turtle. Quick boat ride to another snorkel. Really excellent lunch with drinks. All in all fabulous. Guides very helpful. Book direct (cheaper)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkelling, divers and seafood lovers: A must while in Mombasa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Pilli Pipa day trip was easily our best experience during our stay on the Mombasa Coast! A short bus ride from Diani Beach took us to Shimoni where we boarded the newest edition to Pilli Pipa's fleet - Monsoon (complete with sundeck and refreshments).

Cruising through the turquoise waters to our first snorkel site in Kisite Marine Park, our informative and entertaining guides (including Hassan the Captain and Yatin) pointed out humpback whales and bottlenose dolphins while also giving us a good intro to the site.

Snorkelling was fantastic! Amid the multicoloured reef we spotted stingray, sea turtles and octopus, just to name a few. Would definitely return to try diving. There was even a range of prescriptionn masks available for contact lense wearers like myself.

Following the snorkelling, we stopped at Wasini Island for lunch - possibly the highlight of the day. Lunch included white snapper soup, ginger crab and much more (including non-seafood and vegetarian options) all served by the singing local ladies. We tried out a lot of seafood spots during our stay in Mombasa, such as Ali Barbour's and Colobus Shade, but think Pilli Pipa pips them all.

After a generous lunch, beer/wine and coffee we returned to Shimoni where we visited the former slave caves before heading back to Diani Beach. All in all, a fantastic day out for snorkeling, diving and food for couples, friends and families.

---

One note on cost, we got a slight reduction as East Africa residents, but even so, the advertised prices on sites such as First Choice are inflated and I would recommend contacting Pilli Pipa directly -http://www.pillipipa.com/contacts.htm (just for reference we booked during our stay on the Tuesday and were out on the water the next day)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dhow trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very good day out. Journey there by road is very bumpy. Coral dead mostly, did not see too much but nice to be out on the sea. Pretty pleased we could swim well as ' leader' just swam ahead no tail end Charlie. You are responsible for yourself really. The lunch was in great location, lots of it. Yah, good day out. Could do with Tarmac on those roads.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the pilli pipa trip as a family. Our children were aged 8 and 15. I have to say the trip wad one of the best days of my life! The trip started with a transfer fom our hotel. On arrival the crew prepared drinks and biscuits. We set sail and during our journey the crew asked about our personal snorkelling experiences and gained an idea of our abilities. We were provided with good quality equipment. We arrived at the reef and our family of 4 were given a guide who looked after as the whole trip. He hàd a ring that our daughter could hold on to and he pulled her along. I was able to snorkel knowing she was safe. He pointed out various fish and Marne life along the way and dived down to show us stingrays, octopus and a variety of creatures. We snorkelled for about 50 minutes and then the boat picked us up as they had spotted dolphin a little further along. We were provided another drink and some fruit while watching for the dolphins, we saw about 8 that were very near the boat. Our second snorkel trip was even better than the first as the dolphins came over to us in the water and swam past us while we were snorkelling. A local fisherman indicated that there were more dolphins coming and so we watched again and saw about 19 in total. Once we got over the excitement of dolphins we continued our snorkelling and then saw a turtle, who was happy for me to swim along beside it! It was a magical experience being in the sea with these wild creatures. When back on the boat we were given pizza bread and more drinks. On arrival at wasini island we were treated like royalty. The food, service and location were simply divine. A very special place. Beware - not all snorkelling and dolphin trips are the same. We saw one group of about 25 snorellers with one guide and no one was having a good time. All in all a fantastic day. We booked through JT safaris and they were cheaper than booking direct or using Thomson, but be sure you are going on the Pilli Pipa trip and accept no imitations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari also viewed

Diani Beach, Ukunda
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.