We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low season luxury, Forest dream all mine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Dream Resort

Save Saved
You added Forest Dream Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Dream Resort
Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Taiz, Yemen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low season luxury, Forest dream all mine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travel a lot and usually try to find best "bang for the buck" in a laid back accommodation. I never plan in advance because I worry about getting locked in to something I will not like...I am not sure how or why I ended up with Forest Dream - they were extremely responsive to my inquiries and flexible with my plans or lack of clear plans. I arrived and was still not sure what to do for the week. Alone, low season at the beach and no other guests...I ended up spending the entire week. I looked at some other options but it was quiet everywhere and Forest Dream had the best deal and what I thought was the nicest rooms and setting.

Although set far back from the beach this was not a worry. I love to walk and bike and do not have to be near or on the beach (but do note it takes about 15 minutes plus to walk). Even with low season you get plenty of beach boys bothering you. This is a little of a challenge at night and for grabbing the matutu to go to toan but I worked it out with getting to know a bike taxi driver. You can work it out easy and the staff are really helpful.

The bikes :), well yes, they offer this free bonus but in fact they are not in the best shape. To be honest I am no hard core biker so this was perfect - got me from A to B and I even biked 20km to Chale island and back! For me this was a selling point given the location and it worked out. If I was with a group or others had the working bike(s) it may have been a real bummer.

Staff - all great and nice and helpful. Hard to be the only one here - felt bad sometimes getting dinner late since it meant staff had to stay...I am really low key and would have carried my own dinner from the kitchen but these guys keep 100% professional and classy even for little old me.

I got tea anytime in the afternoon after 4 (again, alone) and think things earlier mentioned have been addressed. Service was sometimes slow given I was the only person here (for food and drink) but this is africa (not Forest Dream).

I would definitely come back and would recommend Forest Dream to others (perhaps with family or friends since I was pretty lonley)! Pool is great, food is very good, rooms are really nice and clean, TVs and DVDs available. I hope things are just as good during busy season.

Room Tip: Depends on need - single, AC, kitchen, etc. I think they were all pretty good rooms and I looked at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Public Relations Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed yourself and that you were satisfied with our services and accommodation. April and May are a low-season in Kenya but if you are looking for a nice holiday without too many tourists around it is the perfect time to visit Kenya. Of course you are very welcome to visit us again in a busier season so you can enjoy the company of our other guests while still having all our services and the privacy of your own room. Please feel free to come back with friends or family. We hope to see you again in Forest Dream in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nicoline
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
22
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a great 3 nights at Forest Dream in Diani. The workers there were extremely courteous, rooms were clean, they allowed us both early check in and late check out (with no hassle at all), pool is beautiful and fun, and there are beautiful trees (and monkeys!) everywhere on the property. It's a great place to relax, and definitely well-managed.

The only downsides are:
-While breakfast was very good, the lunches and dinners we had there were sub-par, almost always overcooked, and generally lacking in flavor.
-It is quite a hike to the beach (definitely not the 10 minutes quoted on the website). BUT they have multiple "shuttles" (actually nice, private cars) to a nearby beach starting from 10am. In addition, the bikes didn't seem to be in great working order. However, we managed fine using the shuttles!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarikees, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our beautiful forest and our services. We agree that unfortunately our bicycles are not in the supreme condition despite constant maintenance but we do our best to offer this complementary service.
We have also given your feedback to our chefs regarding the food but since we never received your feedback during your stay we were unfortunately not aware and we could not act at that moment.
We are always trying to improve our services and standards so the feedback of our guests is extremely important to us. Kindly email us at info@forestdream.com with the details of the dish you did not enjoy so we can use this for the future.

Kind regards,
Forest Dream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place is unique.
The hotel area is like a Garden of Eden. So many trees & monkeys.
We've spent a week in this nice place.
The food is really delicious like in the very best restorant.
Room is clean. We've got some micro-ants on our bed but I think we can't avoiв them in the ecvator area.
Staff is really friendly & helpful!
Pool is always clean and transparent.
Bikes may be used but need some repairment.
Beach area is 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Alexander,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have given your compliments to all the departments and we all loved having you and your girlfriend with us. We hope the trip home went okay and that it was not too cold after all the sunshine here.

Kind regards,
Tim van Velzen and the Forest Dream Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in january 2012 and that was obviously the low season. When we arrived and was showed to our room, we were actually offered two rooms for the price of one, since there was so many available rooms! For two nights with halfboard we paid only 19.00ksh/164euro/1300nok for the both of us!
Our room was spacious and clean and had good beds with mosquitonets. The bathroom had a nice shower and towels and was clean. Outside our room it was kind of a livingroom-area with a tv and a sittinggroup, really cozy. At night it is so nice and quiet outside the room, just
We were nearly the only ones staying at the hotel so we got waitered on extra when we stayed by the pool.
The hotel lies about 1km from the beach so they have bikes that you can borrow to go to the beach, just be aware of the baboons!!
The food was good and the staff helpfull. And they have a nice big pool with cool water. Also you can choose to have lunch by the pool, just watch out for all the curious and hungry monkeys! ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Merete,

Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay last year January. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are happy you have enjoyed the tranquility of our forest and our services. Hopefully we will see you again in Forest Dream in the future.

Kind regards,
Tim van Velzen and Forest Dream Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My daughter stayed here for a few dyas recently and the resort to ourselves. It is a charming resort, well run and seems miles away form the corwds of Diani. Our room was spotless and we had a lounge area to relax in as well as a pool with swim up bar. The food was wonderful and the chef catered to our vegetarian needs. The only thing was the time we waited for our meals. On our last day we had lunch and waited an hour for the 'special'. But the staff were wonderful , helpful and polite. It is a sort walk to the beach ( escorted through dirt roads) and a local bus can run you into town easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind reply, we are happy Forest Dream was the place for you to relax and that you enjoyed our poolbar and vegetarian meals. Our apologies for the wait on the last day, because we prepare everything fresh it can take sometimes take a bit longer. However we agree 1 hour is too long so we have already discussed this with our kitchen staff and our happy with your feedback.
We hope to see both of you again in Forest Dream.

Kind regards,
Forest Dream Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights bed and breakfast. Excellent accommodation, attentive staff.
Feels like you are living in a nature reserve..peaceful and relaxing
Only slight negative is I didn't like music played at pool area as it spoilt the noise of rustling leaves and monkeys.The staff were very good and did turn it off when I asked.

This hotel is a must if going to Kenyan

Room Tip: All look good and lots of space between houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you so much for your review. We were very happy to have you here as our guest and we loved that you really appreciated the tranquil rhythms of our forest. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Forest Dream Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We’ve stayed at Forest Dream for a week from 29/12 till 06/01.
We were 5 of us so we’ve booked the Leopard villa. First of all I should thank Nicoline for a very good organization. She was very helpful at the stage of the villa booking, payments processing, transfer organization, etc.
In Kenya for the first week we were on safari and then we wanted to relax a week before coming back to our country. So the main requirements for this part of our trip were: the hotel territory, availability of the villa (not separated rooms in a big hotel) and location at Diani beach close to the beach itself, close to shopping and bars. When we saw the pics of Forest Dream we instantly fell in love with it. But I should say the reality is even better! The transfer from Mombasa airport was quick and smooth, the check-in even quicker. Since our flight was late in the evening, on the way to the hotel we’ve been offered to have a dinner upon arrival. So as soon as we came everything was ready for us!  When we first saw our villa, we understood – we are in heaven. The rooms and bathrooms (en-suite in each room) are spacious, light and well equipped. The huge central territory of the villa is on the open air (under the Swahili style roof). We loved to spend our time here! Also there is a glassed air-conditioned veranda but we did not use it. The villa is just in front of the main swimming pool with the bar (which is very convenient), however it is so thoughtfully separated from the pool with the trees, that we always felt ourselves all alone tete-a-tete with nature surrounded by the beautiful garden.
We had the self catering with the private chief (for the chief there is a separate small building on the territory of the villa where he cooked for us). Our chief Anderson always tried to make something new and special for us. For the whole week we did not have the same dish! Anderson woke up at 5-6 a.m. and left our villa late in the evening. He was very creative and attentive to our wishes trying not only to cook what we want, but also to decorate the dishes and surprise us . Each dish he cooked was very different but always amazingly tasty.
The same maid came to our villa every day. Rosy is really like a flower! Very nice, very welcome and attentive to details.
Normally we took the free shuttle to Nomads beach (2 minutes of drive) and never went by foot to the ocean. The beach is clean and nice – many things to do (snorkeling, wind surfing, kite surfing, etc.). Forest Dream is not far from Forty Thieves bar (where we spent our new year’s night), to disco Chakata (or Shakata?..), shopping centers and other bars.
As a resume I may say that Forest Dream is one of the best (if not #1) places we’ve ever stayed in (and we’ve travelled a lot all around the world). It is good as for adults who want to have relaxed days, as for young people who want to combine relaxing with night life. The staff of Forest Dream is very nice, open and respectful. Once again thanks to Tim and Nicoline!!! You are just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Dream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dream Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Dream, a special (family) resort of luxury villas and cottages(7) sits in 25 acres of subtropical forest,3 swimming pools, water slide, bar and restaurant, located in Diani beach on the south coast of Kenya. With the white sandy beach at only a 10 minutes walk, free beach shuttle,our guests have the unique combination of beach and forest. We offer a variety of eco-friendly accommodation like standard room, luxury rooms and suites but also complete cottages and villas with or without AC. All of our cottages and villas are set on its own 1 acre forest garden providing the most exclusive privacy. Best place on the coast to view the local wild-life. The owner of Forest Dream Resort is also the founder of the well know "Colobus trust Diani" and has designed the Colobus bridges over the Diani Road to save those endangered monkeys. We have a private nature reserve at the back of the resort. Some of the villas have their own private pools and are fully staffed. Free "tennis court in the shade of palm trees" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Forest Dream Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Dream Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;