We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Dream Resort

Save Saved
You added Forest Dream Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Dream Resort
Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My daughter stayed here for a few dyas recently and the resort to ourselves. It is a charming resort, well run and seems miles away form the corwds of Diani. Our room was spotless and we had a lounge area to relax in as well as a pool with swim up bar. The food was wonderful and the chef catered to our vegetarian needs. The only thing was the time we waited for our meals. On our last day we had lunch and waited an hour for the 'special'. But the staff were wonderful , helpful and polite. It is a sort walk to the beach ( escorted through dirt roads) and a local bus can run you into town easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind reply, we are happy Forest Dream was the place for you to relax and that you enjoyed our poolbar and vegetarian meals. Our apologies for the wait on the last day, because we prepare everything fresh it can take sometimes take a bit longer. However we agree 1 hour is too long so we have already discussed this with our kitchen staff and our happy with your feedback.
We hope to see both of you again in Forest Dream.

Kind regards,
Forest Dream Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights bed and breakfast. Excellent accommodation, attentive staff.
Feels like you are living in a nature reserve..peaceful and relaxing
Only slight negative is I didn't like music played at pool area as it spoilt the noise of rustling leaves and monkeys.The staff were very good and did turn it off when I asked.

This hotel is a must if going to Kenyan

Room Tip: All look good and lots of space between houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Manager at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you so much for your review. We were very happy to have you here as our guest and we loved that you really appreciated the tranquil rhythms of our forest. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Forest Dream Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We’ve stayed at Forest Dream for a week from 29/12 till 06/01.
We were 5 of us so we’ve booked the Leopard villa. First of all I should thank Nicoline for a very good organization. She was very helpful at the stage of the villa booking, payments processing, transfer organization, etc.
In Kenya for the first week we were on safari and then we wanted to relax a week before coming back to our country. So the main requirements for this part of our trip were: the hotel territory, availability of the villa (not separated rooms in a big hotel) and location at Diani beach close to the beach itself, close to shopping and bars. When we saw the pics of Forest Dream we instantly fell in love with it. But I should say the reality is even better! The transfer from Mombasa airport was quick and smooth, the check-in even quicker. Since our flight was late in the evening, on the way to the hotel we’ve been offered to have a dinner upon arrival. So as soon as we came everything was ready for us!  When we first saw our villa, we understood – we are in heaven. The rooms and bathrooms (en-suite in each room) are spacious, light and well equipped. The huge central territory of the villa is on the open air (under the Swahili style roof). We loved to spend our time here! Also there is a glassed air-conditioned veranda but we did not use it. The villa is just in front of the main swimming pool with the bar (which is very convenient), however it is so thoughtfully separated from the pool with the trees, that we always felt ourselves all alone tete-a-tete with nature surrounded by the beautiful garden.
We had the self catering with the private chief (for the chief there is a separate small building on the territory of the villa where he cooked for us). Our chief Anderson always tried to make something new and special for us. For the whole week we did not have the same dish! Anderson woke up at 5-6 a.m. and left our villa late in the evening. He was very creative and attentive to our wishes trying not only to cook what we want, but also to decorate the dishes and surprise us . Each dish he cooked was very different but always amazingly tasty.
The same maid came to our villa every day. Rosy is really like a flower! Very nice, very welcome and attentive to details.
Normally we took the free shuttle to Nomads beach (2 minutes of drive) and never went by foot to the ocean. The beach is clean and nice – many things to do (snorkeling, wind surfing, kite surfing, etc.). Forest Dream is not far from Forty Thieves bar (where we spent our new year’s night), to disco Chakata (or Shakata?..), shopping centers and other bars.
As a resume I may say that Forest Dream is one of the best (if not #1) places we’ve ever stayed in (and we’ve travelled a lot all around the world). It is good as for adults who want to have relaxed days, as for young people who want to combine relaxing with night life. The staff of Forest Dream is very nice, open and respectful. Once again thanks to Tim and Nicoline!!! You are just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

How beautifull and warmful was this place!
We spent time in the leopard suite, whose services were charmfull and refined.
This is incredibly difficult to describe and remember all the tiny elements that created this particular atmosphere, feeling like home, pampered, priviledged.

We would make no comparison with other 5 stars hotels, some impersonnal tourist factory that provided us good services but no human warmth. All have been managed with kindness in Forest Dreams, with great flexibility and simplicity.

We would definitively come back to try the marine excursion as we try the elephant sanctuary (perfect). Or we will try to come back with friends this time, we don't know yet.

Feel free to try guys, it is an awesome timeless place.

Room Tip: We tried Leopard Room, which was definitively a good advice from Management. With large living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were at the Leopard suite. Beautiful place. Nice staff. Great breakfast. Clean rooms. We were there during the off peak season so we had the whole place all to ourselves most of the time.
It's a walkable distance from the beautiful Diani beach.
We did one of their excursions which was lovely.
I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a beautiful quiet holiday place.
Great for honeymoon ;)
We dream of going back there some time soon.

Paulo & Joan M.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Last month we went to Diani for a few days and it is a really nice place. We were hosted in the Forest Dream Resort and surely if we come back we will go again there!!! Kind people!!! nice place!!! good services!!! thanks for all!!! it was like a holiday with our family, friends in Kenya...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i stayed at forest dream for two nights because i heard from a friend that it was much more peaceful than all other massive resorts in diani. i can only say that this was very true and it is a really unique place. there are a lot of trees and plants that attract the monkeys and other animals.the rooms are large en very clean and u get a lot for Ur money.very friendly staff, good service and nice food in the restaurant.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Dream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dream Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Dream, a special (family) resort of luxury villas and cottages(7) sits in 25 acres of subtropical forest,3 swimming pools, water slide, bar and restaurant, located in Diani beach on the south coast of Kenya. With the white sandy beach at only a 10 minutes walk, free beach shuttle,our guests have the unique combination of beach and forest. We offer a variety of eco-friendly accommodation like standard room, luxury rooms and suites but also complete cottages and villas with or without AC. All of our cottages and villas are set on its own 1 acre forest garden providing the most exclusive privacy. Best place on the coast to view the local wild-life. The owner of Forest Dream Resort is also the founder of the well know "Colobus trust Diani" and has designed the Colobus bridges over the Diani Road to save those endangered monkeys. We have a private nature reserve at the back of the resort. Some of the villas have their own private pools and are fully staffed. Free "tennis court in the shade of palm trees" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Forest Dream Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Dream Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.