We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Dream Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forest Dream Resort to your Saves list
Forest Dream Resort
Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Early bird booking 10% of
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What else ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

How beautifull and warmful was this place!
We spent time in the leopard suite, whose services were charmfull and refined.
This is incredibly difficult to describe and remember all the tiny elements that created this particular atmosphere, feeling like home, pampered, priviledged.

We would make no comparison with other 5 stars hotels, some impersonnal tourist factory that provided us good services but no human warmth. All have been managed with kindness in Forest Dreams, with great flexibility and simplicity.

We would definitively come back to try the marine excursion as we try the elephant sanctuary (perfect). Or we will try to come back with friends this time, we don't know yet.

Feel free to try guys, it is an awesome timeless place.

Room Tip: We tried Leopard Room, which was definitively a good advice from Management. With large living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
23
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were at the Leopard suite. Beautiful place. Nice staff. Great breakfast. Clean rooms. We were there during the off peak season so we had the whole place all to ourselves most of the time.
It's a walkable distance from the beautiful Diani beach.
We did one of their excursions which was lovely.
I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a beautiful quiet holiday place.
Great for honeymoon ;)
We dream of going back there some time soon.

Paulo & Joan M.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Last month we went to Diani for a few days and it is a really nice place. We were hosted in the Forest Dream Resort and surely if we come back we will go again there!!! Kind people!!! nice place!!! good services!!! thanks for all!!! it was like a holiday with our family, friends in Kenya...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i stayed at forest dream for two nights because i heard from a friend that it was much more peaceful than all other massive resorts in diani. i can only say that this was very true and it is a really unique place. there are a lot of trees and plants that attract the monkeys and other animals.the rooms are large en very clean and u get a lot for Ur money.very friendly staff, good service and nice food in the restaurant.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

As an expat who's lived and worked in east Africa for over 4 years I've seen, and stayed at my fair share of resorts and lodges - I even worked for one in South Africa.

Mombassa, specifically Diani, has always been my holiday hot spot. This year I decided to take a risk and stay on the other side of the road away from the beach at Forrest Dream. 

I took the chance because it actually had a decent website and I liked the sound of its Eco farm policy.

The young Dutch couple who greeted us were very kind and helpful. As it was low season they upgraded our room. And as it was raining they gave us a DVD player and films to watch. 

Diani is renowned for its stunning beach and because this resort is set away from it Forrest Dreams took a huge gamble. However we were promised bicycles to get to and from the beach.

Unfortunately though things started to slip.

Despite having over 10 bikes none of them worked, instead they were pilled high rusting in the corner. Despite telling them to fix 2, the next day while cycling down the road the chain snapped in two - the young Dutch manager said. 'unfortunately they are expensive to maintain...'

So for the rest of the time we had to take local minibus taxis to and from the beach. 

Another perk we were told was complimentary afternoon tea with homemade cake every day at 4pm. 
When we returned at this time no one was around (I was now getting used to walking all over the compound to find a member of staff) 

The waitress seemed oblivious to the tea and cake routine, and when I challenged her, her attitude back clearly showed she wasn't interested. Could I get it to my room? Answer: we don't do room service. Why? I asked. I don't know she replied....

This place has the potential to be great. Peaceful, tennis court, amazing pool, great rooms, but it's clear the new young couple running the place have no idea what they're doing...and it shows. 

Here are a few pointers:

1. The client is ALWAYS right. Don't argue back, or give pathetic excuses. Say sorry and find a solution.
2. Make sure someone is always around to attend to the clients needs
3. Don't advertise a service you can't provide.  If there are bikes, make sure they're all working. If they're too expensive to maintain (which I don't agree with) then make a small charge - i wouldn't mind paying 100ksh for the day. That goes to the upkeep - easy money. 
4. Stand aside from your competition. A little gesture like room service costs nothing and makes me remember my stay. Additionally if bikes are not working make a complimentary 1 way shuttle service to the beach every morning at 10am. It costs  nothing but clients WILL remember.

If they get these small things right I'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timvanv, Owner at Forest Dream Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Tom and Anna,

We want to thank you for your honest feedback and are very sorry that your stay with us was not as you expected. Unfortunately we did have some troubles with our bicycles and we are working on fixing and replacing all of them. After your trip when the bicycles broke down, we picked them up and had them repaired so you could use them again during your stay if you wanted. When our director spoke to you about the broken bicycles this was meant as an apology for the inconvenience and an explanation, not as arguing back and we are very sorry if this was the way it came across. Your feedback about our services have been discussed with the various departments so we can improve this.
We hope to have convinced you that we really were trying to give you a wonderful stay and again are very sorry that this was not the case. We hope that if you should visit us again in the future, we can persuade you of our improvements.

Kind regards,
Forest Dream Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

One warm evening as we floated in the pool, pointing out the constellations to each other, I thought about how I'd review Forest Dream. I knew I wanted to do it justice and also wanted to keep it cliche free! However, cliche free isn't possible - this resort really is 'paradise', it really is 'heaven on earth' and it really is 'amazing, awesome, fantastic'!
We chose Forest Dream based on the fact that we wanted to be in Diani, we didn't want a big All Inclusive and we wanted somewhere with outside space. With two boys we were also attracted by the pool slide and free bicycles.
We stayed in Leopard Villa and had a chef. A taxi was provided to take us and the chef shopping for supplies on our first day and with what we bought he created an amazing array of different dishes, cooked breakfasts, pancakes, African doughnuts, fresh juices and smoothies, curries, delicious rice, cakes, desserts, fresh fish dishes ..... the food was superb and it was so relaxing not having to dress up and go out to eat. All we had to do was sit at the table in Leopard Villa's air conditioned living room, or at it's outside eating/seating area. We had complete privacy which was wonderful.
The villa was immaculate, with a massive bathroom, outdoor jacuzzi, mini fridges, well equipped kitchen (which we only poked our heads in, due to having a chef!). Beds had mossie nets (again immaculate) and all the windows were netted - of four of us, two weren't bitten at all and the others had only a couple of bites. There's an abundance of wildlife including baboons, Colobus monkeys, exotic birds, lizards, dragonflies, frogs and butterflies and the gardens are beautifully planted with native trees and flowers.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and obviously enjoyed working at Forest Dream. On arrival, as we sipped ice cold juices, we were told that the employees had decided all tips were to be shared, and we should tip at the end of our stay (if we wanted), and if we felt we wanted to give an individual tip too we could. I think this is a good way of doing things, especially here where there are acres of beautifully maintained grounds, so clearly lots of people are working 'behind the scenes'. Having read reviews of other places where people felt 'hassled' by people expecting a tip, it was nice not to have to worry until check out! And it was nice to know people weren't just being polite to get a tip.
We spent most of our days in and around the pool, which is lovely and deep, and very well looked after. Our boys particularly liked the swim up bar, where delicious juices and smoothies were made (and excellent Mai Tais I might add!!). The slide was great fun, fast, steep and exciting.
We were fortunate to have a tour of the cave where the water pump and filter is located - the resort has it's own water source - and where a colony of fruit bats has made its' home. There's also a nature reserve just for guest's use, where in addition to loads of monkeys you can see dik-diks.
We went to the beach a few times, getting a lift once and walking or cycling the other times. It's a very short distance, in fact embarrassingly so when we got a lift! We all felt a bit daft as we were in and out of the car in about a minute! Forest Dream isn't beach front, and after trying to escape some very persistent beach boys we were glad it wasn't!! Whilst we really loved the beach, it was a relief to escape to the tranquility of Forest Dream.
We've travelled fairly extensively, although this was the first time in Africa, and Forest Dream is the only place we've wanted to definitely return to - it just has everything we're looking for, and if you also like peace and quiet, good food, comfy beds, clean rooms, huge showers, plenty of hot water, beautiful furniture, privacy, tropical plants, being close to nature and doing right by the environment then you'll love it too.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schijndel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have stayed in Forest Dream and absolutely loved it! The place is really unique, not like all the other big resorts in Diani.This place has a good feel to it with good service, beautiful nature and the best food I have ever tasted. Being vegetarian has never been so great, their chef makes you the most wonderful dishes and even though we booked B&B we ate there every afternoon and night. You can tell that the cottages and rooms have been made with love and since the owner has designed everything himself you can feel the personal touch.
During our stay we did a tour of the whole place including the small nature reserve with the DikDiks! The only place in Diani where they are not chopping down trees but actually planting new ones and buying land to preserve the nature.The family that runs this resort really loves nature and they are working on becoming even more eco-friendly. A long review but this was the first time we really fell in love with a place on holiday! Definitely advising this to everyone and we are returning there next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Dream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dream Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | PO Box 787, Diani Beach, Ukunda 1000, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Dream, a special (family) resort of luxury villas and cottages(7) sits in 25 acres of subtropical forest,3 swimming pools, water slide, bar and restaurant, located in Diani beach on the south coast of Kenya. With the white sandy beach at only a 10 minutes walk, free beach shuttle,our guests have the unique combination of beach and forest. We offer a variety of eco-friendly accommodation like standard room, luxury rooms and suites but also complete cottages and villas with or without AC. All of our cottages and villas are set on its own 1 acre forest garden providing the most exclusive privacy. Best place on the coast to view the local wild-life. The owner of Forest Dream Resort is also the founder of the well know "Colobus trust Diani" and has designed the Colobus bridges over the Diani Road to save those endangered monkeys. We have a private nature reserve at the back of the resort. Some of the villas have their own private pools and are fully staffed. Free "tennis court in the shade of palm trees" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Forest Dream Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Dream Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.