We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, listless staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Beach Club

Blue Marlin Beach Club
Diani Beach Road | Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
+254 724 100629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 restaurants in Diani Beach
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: a small boutique hotel on Diani Beach. Blue Marlin Beach Club is known for its restaurant offering the freshest seafood and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean
Krusaa, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, listless staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our first visit, highly recommended by our hotel.
Warm welcomed, table very quick shown, menues given - and then: what do you want to drink.
As we inteded to eat fish, the reply: may we please have the winecard.
Wine chosen - waiter started pouring in the first glases and ended up with me, with allmost nothing left + question: Do you want another bottle?
Fish was served as delicat as hoped, and all in the group enjoyed that.
What for desert? Four members choosed the same, whereas the 2 lest choosed two different deserts. The four was served very quick, the two left out of sight + no members to ask.
After the four had eaten up, the two left were finally brought with a major excuse.
And then the clue: payment only in cash!! Black marketing or what, so our advise is, put questions at once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    49
    16
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Set on the beach at a resort, this casual, but classy place serves up lots of seafood. The lobster my friend ordered was enormous.
Our meals took ages to arrive even though there were very few other diners. Nice atmosphere. Other than the lobster our other meals were not too memorable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Food in Diani (and beyond!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I found the service professional and attentive; the quality and freshness of food is excellent and the seafood just amazing.
Simply the best dining experience in Kenya so far.

We spend a few nights in the spacious and comfortable rooms. I I highly recommend this beachfront hideaway resort to anyone who wants to relax in tropical surroundings and enjoy the pristine white sandy beach.

And did I mention the food is amazing....;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Sensational seafood, get whatever's on the specials board, jumbo prawns to die for and the swahili snapper also excellent, we went here twice in 4 days and loved it both times. It was enhanced by the excellent service from "Whitehall or Whitecliff" I apologise I can't remember his name but he was hilarious and entertained us. Definitely go here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely setting right on Diani Beach. We were the only guests there for dinner one night, and this kind of raised alarm bells but it shouldn't have. The staff were extremely attentive and the food was brilliant. I ordered the grilled King Prawns and they did not have these, but they gave me the same in Jumbo prawns at no extra cost. Several restaurants have a tendency to overcook prawns and seafood, but the Blue Marlin did it right. In comparison to other hyped up and pricier tourist eateries in Diani, the Blue Marlin is still a somewhat undiscovered gem. Lovely for sundowners beside the sea too. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Blue Marlin Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.