We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming, great food, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“very welcoming, great food, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

All in all - homely, beautiful hotel/b&b on a stunning beach, with plenty of options for water sports, removed from the package resorts of Diani.

My girlfriend and I stayed at Kenyaways for a week in April. The low season was just beginning so it was quiet along the beach, and it's a little way from the main resorts of Diani so I imagine it's relaxed at any time of the year.

The spot is idyllic- we stayed in a cheaper double without a sea view and with shared bathroom, but it was very nicely done. You have fans to keep you cool and as it's so close to the sea there's almost always a breeze, so we slept well despite the heat and humidity. They have a garden running down to a raised terrace that drops straight onto the beach - plenty of options for just lazing about, from a hammock beneath the palms to sun-loungers.

The attached restaurant is really nice - relaxed but attentive staff and delicious food - as they say on the menu it's a small restaurant so the choice can be limited by availability of produce, but whatever they serve is incredibly fresh and perfectly cooked. I had fish most nights and was never disappointed.

The location seems perfect for kitesurfing as the reef is a little way offshore (about 1000m) leaving a big stretch of lagoon to learn in, plus the reef for the more experienced. For my part I booked Kenyaways because they mention they welcome surfers as well as kite-surfers - entirely true, as I found out. The owner, Linzi, was very helpful pointing out where the best spots were, and her and her boyfriend also invited me to join a trip up to the local rivermouth (10-15minutes drive) where there's a beachbreak. The waves were mellow (they build through to June), but that proved a good chance to try out surfing a reef - a long paddle or a boat ride with local fishermen.

Be ready for the highly amusing and kleptomaniac monkeys - we had one outside our window which we were merrily photographing. We thought it was wondering off but instead it had spotted some apples in a plastic bag next to the door which we'd foolishly left open - it came running in and nabbed one. Probably our closest encounter with wildlife after 3 months in Kenya. They also have a penchant for lifting the toast straight out of the toaster at breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
33
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This place really has it all. Lovely rooms and open areas, perfect location. We went with two young kids and they were able to roam about and play in the water very safely. Great staff. This is a great place to kite surf and wind surf, but if the conditions are right you can also surf the reef break, and there's a shore break later in the year.
On reflection I'd have preferred more Swahili food on the menu, but then that's just my taste.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Me and a friend who are both kitesurfers wanted to check out this place. It looked really nice on their home page, and the wind statistics looked good for january/february. And I can tell you we were not disappointed! We were there for two weeks and we had a blast. It was just amazing there. The hotel/pousada, was placed just in front of the beach with palm trees all around it. The beach is beautiful, with white sand. The hotel is really cosy and clean, with real soul and the staff is nice and helpful. There are also monkeys jumping around in the trees which i found really amusing.
The beach in front of the hotel, Galu beach, is suppose to be the best place to kitesurf in Kenya. At low tide the water gets really flat and there is alot of space for everyone. At high tide it's choppy. The two weeks we were there we had wind every day and I used a 9m hybrid kite all the time. The avrage size that people used was between 9-12m2. We also did some nice downwind trips from Diani beach to Gualu beach, and it's recommended to try this at high tide. At low tide it can be to shallow to kitesurf at Diani beach.
There was also nice snorkeling there with some corals here and there with alot of colorful small fish. The water temperature was 28 degrees celcius.
The local people was also very friendly, and were always greeting you and smiling and talking when taking the local busses.
We really didn't check out the nightlife that much since we really wanted to get as much time on the water as possible when travelling all the way from Norway to kitesurf. But we did go to a bar called "Forty thives" to fetch a few beers a couple of times, and it was a really cool beach bar.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Breathtaking location right on the beach front, with overwhelmingly beautiful views. You can make this holiday as active, lazy or romantic as you like - all the magic ingredients are there. Try an invigorating early morning beach walk, followed by a swim or some snorkling, perhaps a stroll to a nearby beach bar for lunch, then a spot of fishing or kitesurfing in the afternoon. Or simply sink into a cushion-filled hammock and dream away underneath the rustling palmtrees... Accommodation is vibrantly African in style and colours, food is simple yet luxurious and the location is paradise. Just settle back and let Kenyaways wind you down - you deserve it.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I am pro kite surfer and was looking for somewhere i could kite as much as I wanted but also chill out and have a few beers with like minded people. The accommodation was a pleasant surprise and the staff at Kenyaways were very friendly and extremely efficient, catering to all my needs and suggesting other things to do in the area. Literally everything is on your door step, beautiful beaches, nightlife, scuba, kiting, surfing, safari...the list goes on.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I highly recommend staying at Kenyaways- the hospitality is great, the location will blow your mind and the general vibe is awesome!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Simply glorious. I've never seen a beach like it and Kennaway's is right on the edge of it. Beautiful rooms and gardens. Amazingly helpful friedndly staff ,i felt very at home. Just wish i could go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.