We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing villas and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahari Dhow Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bahari Dhow Beach Villas to your Saves list
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Diani Beach Rd | P.O Box 5469 Diani, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Hawassa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing villas and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bahari Dhow for six nights in March 2012 with our two young children and babysitter. From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptionally helpful and catered to our every need in a friendly and relaxed manner. Many thanks to Richard, Janet and Mohammad for all their hard work on our behalf. The grounds themselves are stunning - incredibly spacious villas equipped with everything you need, fronting onto a wonderful set of swimming pools which are great for splashing with kids as well as serious exercise. The beach bar made it for us - a fantastic place to relax and watch the beach life go by, with reasonably priced drinks and great fresh food. We will definitely come back again and again whenever we need to recharge our batteries as this place suits us 100%! This is the kind of place where lasting memories are made! Laura and Nebiat

Room Tip: All are good - the villas are designed in such a way that they all feel very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was not a resident at hte Bhari Dhow but did use the facility of the beach bar As it is locally known as Wanda paradise
Why there and not at the many other places ,well it is a very friendly and familly orientated place Over Christmas and New Year they even had a Bouncy castle for the kids The staff are extremely courtoeus and friendly even the security guards were willing to help and on one occasion escorted our twin boys( www.50bob.org)to the play area We like to take them and some of the other orphans in our group for special days out. A good mix of tourists and locals relaxing together Only one small fault coffee at beach bar is rarely served hot and is lacking in quality but thats just me as I dont drink alcohol and do love my coffee

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I spent my Christmas at Bahari Dhow, and it was one of my best holidays ever. The staff is great and attentive to guest needs. On one occasion, my cousin had left his wallet at the beach-side bar when we went on a tour of Diani. The staff actually went to the trouble of calling my cousin to let him know that his wallet was found, and on recovering it, everything was intact.
...and yes, it is as it appears in pics. It's that beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahari-Dhow-GM, General Manager at Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Matthew,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you chose to celebrate Christmas with us, and that you had a memorable holiday.

The professionalism and integrity of our staff is one of our great strengths and I am glad our staff assited to recover your wallet; I will relay the positive comments to the team.

I look forward to host you at Bahari Dhow again.

Warm regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

from the extremely polite stuff to the most caring administration through to the world class accommodation and facilities, Bahari Dhow is an experience that you simply cant leave the coast region without experiencing. big up Allan and your team at the best bar and restaurant south of the Sahara, Big up Kevin for assembling such a great team. i miss you guys and Bahari Dhow. hoping to see you again soon.

Room Tip: the closer you are to the beach the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahari-Dhow-GM, General Manager at Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positve comments regarding your holiday with us.

I am glad to note that the combination of our products and services worked magic for you. Our warm and attentive staff are what make Bahari Dhow a great place. I was delighted to meet with you during your stay, and will surely pass the compliments to the management and staff.

I look forward to welcome you back to Bahari Dhow soon.

Many thanks and regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

this place is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and well kept. There are also baby-sitting services on prior arrangement. It is close to the ocean,giving you a chance to go the beach any time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahari-Dhow-GM, General Manager at Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Chicitakenia,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive comments, and indeed our spacious villas and proximity to the beach are some of our key strengths.

I look forward to welcome you back to Bahari Dhow soon.

Many thanks and regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

the villas are huge. quite clean and very well equipped. great restaurant too, easy access to the beach. 3 swimming pools.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahari-Dhow-GM, General Manager at Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear SOnki,

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the spacious and well equipped villas, and the 3 pools.
We are continuously improving our infrastracture and service, villa renovations, and also the African Oasis Beach bar and restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Bahari Dhow, and making your stay a delightful one.

Best regards,

Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed on the end unit (superior oncien view) was worth every penny. Nicest villa i haver ever stayed in. It was huge and can accomadate 3 families.Will definitely return some day.Staff and owner were great

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahari-Dhow-GM, General Manager at Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear Honnest-Kev,

Thank you for your comments and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in December, and we have been doing alot more to maximize our guests' experience while staying with us.

I hope you will be back to Bahari Dhow soon.

Many thanks and regards,

Kevin Kimutai,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahari Dhow Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Dhow Beach Villas

Address: Diani Beach Rd | P.O Box 5469 Diani, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahari Dhow Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas offers a perfect setting for the ultimate and unforgettable beach holiday; offering the perfect combination of a simple and comfortable home away from home. This is the ideal get-away for honeymooners, families, friends, and groups looking to relax and soak up the African sun.We are located along Diani Beach – known the world over for its pristine beauty and soft white sand, not to mention perfect conditions for a variety of water sports, created by the presence of several coral reefs off the coast of East Africa. We are just 10 minutes away from the Ukunda airstrip and 40KM from Mombasa, and to make it easier for you, we provide airport transfers at your convenience.We are ideally situated next to providers offering different types of activities from scuba diving to game drives to golf, and almost everything in between. Specialty restaurants abound as well as ample shopping facilities spread along the ever growing Diani Beach.We will certainly make your stay delightfully unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bahari Dhow Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahari Dhow Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.