We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday by the beach...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinondo Kwetu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinondo Kwetu
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2!
Ranked #2 of 19 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday by the beach...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We came here for our honeymoon after a safari in the masai mara. We stayed in one of their cottages. The way this the place is laid out and the individual decor in the rooms, and common areas make this place more like staying at someones home than at a hotel!. Each room and area is unique. It is very peaceful and you can always find a spot where you are totally alone.

The beach is a beautiful private sandy beach blocked from the main beach by a large rock that is passable at low tide. You can walk for miles down the beach in either direction!.
It has lovely grounds with sandy paths throughout - swept clean every morning - there are some amazing trees with colourful flowers - we had many sightings of monkeys jumping around the trees and cottage roofs. It has 2 great pools - a smaller one that seems to be just used by the cottage and a lovely large (very deep) pool, and includes a sauna.
There are large chairs, sun loungers, double covered sun loungers with cushions everywhere....so plenty of places to relax!. They bring fresh fruit drinks to you at times during the day . We went kayaking and snorkelling off the beach, and my wife went riding on one of their horses along the beach. There is a tennis court there and we could borrow rackets and they even lent us a pair of shoes. We went deep sea fishing - an extra activity - (they row you out to the fishing boat that passes the hotel!) although sadly we didn't even have a nibble although the day before we saw someone come back with a huge fish about 4 ft long!.
Staff were always available to help us out..it didnt matter who you talked to they were always willing to help or find an answer to a question you had. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The service was perfect..the place has an informal feel but you know you can go and ask any of the staff to help. You felt like a couple there that they knew rather than just a room number!

The cottage was great - we had cottage 2 - it has large decking on the front and back with places to sit down and relax. The cottages have been well designed to ensure you have privacy. Inside you have a large ceiling fan above a lovely canopied bed wih mosquito netting. Not sure if it was just the time of the year but we had no problems with mosquitos!. It has a large shower and bathroom area.
The food was lovely - always very fresh with alot of seafood - although you can ask for different menu if you don't like seafood. You were able to get fresh snacks between meals at the bar. Lunches and dinner are served in different places so often its the location is a surprise and one night we had our own private dinner up on a water tower overlooking the trees and beach..
As a honeymoon couple - We were worried initially when we saw some young children as some of the larger cottages have 2 rooms but the way the place is laid out meant that we just didn't even hear them or most of the time see them! They have their meals in a different area so you were assured of privacy.
For our honeymoon we looked at so many hotels by the beach in seychelles/mauritius etc. We felt they all looked a bit impersonal and most of them had reviews of indifferent service. We were so glad to come here and we could not fault the place and service. Well worth going - its worth the money!.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

it's like arriving in paradise. amazing rooms and interior throughout the whole resort. excellent and attentive service personal. don't want to mention the food and the wine (grilled lobster etc). it's more like being guest at a friend rather than being guest in a hotel.
The beach is great. Since it's a private beach and separated by a rock, you are really alone at the beach without any disturbance which is quite a difference to other hotels in Diani beach.

can't say how much we enjoyed the stay and the friendly people there. The lovely owners created really an amazing place where you can see in every corner the passion and the love they have for this place!

it's not cheap, but i didn't regret any penny i spent there. Worth the money and a no-brainer recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have just returned from Kenya, and Kinondo Kwetu was a truly marvellous choice of retreat for the family to relax and enjoy Kenya, after 3 days on Safari. It isn't cheap, but if you can afford it, it delivers a really relaxing experience and bespoke / personal service. Oddly the website doesn't show how good it really is. The owners/managers are hands on and the staff are so very attentive, helpful and attuned to each family (over 100 staff for a maximum of 40 guests). One extra 'joy' was the fact that there is no technology, no radio, tv, dvd/cd player - this is a straight gadget free experience. There is however a massive pool (and a small one), a lovely beach, kayaking, snorkelling, and other water sports.

Dinner the first night was Steak Bernaise and last night Lobster, and we had a variety of dishes in between. Our kids had whatever they wanted - nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are full of local artefacts, and there is real charm about the decor. We enjoyed the animal chess set in one of the communal areas.

This is probably the best all-round service we have received in a hotel - we were treated to complete personal and informal attention and our stay was organised around us - this is nothing like the cookie-cutter mass chains that just don't really get how to provide an individual feel to a stay.

The service couldn't be better, but a kids club might be something that might think about for those for younger children, to give the parents some time to themselves. Air conditioning would also be out of style, but you do need to be able to cope with the heat as the daytime temperatures are well into the 30's consistently.

We will be keen to go again....soon if we can

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

There is nothing you could reasonably wish for that the fantastic staff in Kinondo Kwetu will not go an extra mile to accommodate. They are the most professional, attentive staff I have ever experienced in Kenya and they are discretely always available when you need them but invisible when you want to be left alone. The atmosphere is relaxing and positive in this at the same time stylish and comfortable exclusive boutique resort. It is small and familiar and the food is excellent. Kids are just as well catered for as the adults and happy kids mean happy parents! There is plenty of space for a limited number of guests so honeymooners or over-worked executives need not to worry of being disturbed by noisy families.

The only down-side would be the lack of ceiling fans during the limited periods when the breeze dies and it gets very hot. And perhaps the not so splendid beach. The beach as such is perfectly beautiful to watch or walk along but if you go in for a swim, you would need to use the concrete pier laid out to save your feet from the rough old corals. Or use the very nice pool.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this well-managed new-comer at the Kenyan coast. It is perfect for an extended weekend for those based in the region, or as a place to relax and work on the sun tan after a safari for those travelling longer distances. It is not cheap, but considering it is inclusive of good food and drinks, it is competetive as compared to other up-market establishments in the region.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Kinondo Kwetu (NOT to be confused with Kinondo Retreat, which is something altogether different!) - is a private hotel, run by a young, sophisticated Swedish family, located right at the end of Diani, away from any of the huge, faceless, mass tourist type hotels.
Kinondo Kwetu has its own private beach so there is no bother from beach boys at all. The beach has soft white sand and a paved jetty right out through the coral rock, so even when it is low tide you can walk through the rock pools to get to the deeper water.

The hotel is made up of small, individual round houses that have bedrooms and bathrooms. There is also a large house next to a huge pool where there are more connecting bedrooms.

Kinondo Kwetu is breathtaking. The furnishing of the hotel is spectacular using authentic African furniture and antiques to fill it. You won't find a hotel like this in Kenya. Its truely unique. You'll be treated like royalty during your stay as the service is excellent. Anything you ask for is no trouble, from choosing where you want to eat or enjoying all the activities that are included in your stay.

You can scuba dive, play tennis, have massages, do yoga and even ride one of their beautiful Arab race horses on the beach. This you will not find anywhere else in Diani. There are two pools - a huge one and a smaller one, with very generously spaced out beach beds.

Ida and Filip who run the hotel are wonderful. The food is fantastic and you'll notice the attention to detail throughout your stay.

The overall feeling of this hotel is that you have discovered a hidden gem. Away from the sometimes 'tatty' side of Diani. There is an incredible feeling of serenity and relaxation, as the hotel never feels overcrowded and there is space to roam. It feels wrong to call this a hotel as really it feels like an amazing family beach estate that you've been lucky enough to be invited to.

Having stayed in many places in Kenya as I have lived there for two years - this is by far my favourite place. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

It's a wonderful place where you're completely by your self and excellent service, disretely carried out. Please go if you need to relax.....

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinondo Kwetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinondo Kwetu

Address: Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kinondo Kwetu 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinondo Kwetu is often described as a ‘home away from home’ - a paradise for those wanting a more personal experience on the Kenyan coast. Located on a tranquil private Galu beach on the south coast of Kenya.An all-inclusive boutique hotel - with room for no more than 38 guests, you will always find your own private spot at Kinondo Kwetu, which makes it a very special hideaway for honeymooners. It is also the perfect place to gather family or friends for a private celebration or wedding. In addition to relaxing in the sun and swimming in the Indian Ocean, Kinondo Kwetu offers an impressive selection of exciting activities – ranging from watersports such as Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Deep sea fishing and Scuba Diving, to land activities such as Game Drives, Horse Riding and Yoga weeks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinondo Kwetu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kinondo Kwetu to your Saves list