We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon of a lifetime!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almanara Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almanara Luxury Villas
Save
You added Almanara Luxury Villas to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off Ocean View Suite
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon of a lifetime!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend one full week at Almanara in December as the first part of our honeymoon in Kenya. We felt like royalty in our beautiful, spacious villa. The service we received was unlike no other. Wolex, our chef, was a master at his art! We had the most fresh and delicious food every day, 3 times a day. We still dream and rave about his cooking! Kennedy, our butler, was so kind, friendly and welcoming and so keen to help make our stay unforgettable. Jane, our housekeeper, always kept our villa spotless and added some stunning floral touches to top it all off! In addition, Jackie and Gemma were so very welcoming and nothing was too-much trouble for them. The beach is simply stunning. All-in-all, it's safe to say, we were very sad to leave!! We hope we can return in the not-too-distant future. An amazing piece of paradise with such wonderful people :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you both and i'm glad to hear that we managed to contribute to your amazing honeymoon.

Thanks also for your comments about Wolex, Ken and Jane. I'll be sure to pass those on. Gemma also sends her best and we both hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went to Almanara for Easter Break 2014. The compound has only 6 Villas so you can imagine how spoiled we were for those 4 nights. Each Villa is provided with dedicated service personnel (chef, waitress, housekeeper), and the beachfront is just as awesome as the property. We have been to Diani in the past, but this was by far the prettiest hotel, prettiest beachfront, prettiest and whitest sand we have enjoyed in the whole area.

Room Tip: Some Villas are closer to the beach than others. If you want quick access to the beachfront and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Antonio,

Thank you for your kind words and review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a lovely time at Almanara. The managers were fantastic, always coming in to check in on us and see that we were ok.
Food - have had better. The villas kitchen staff were quite unsure of the menu and the kitchen wasn't the cleanest. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.
Excellent pool and the main restaurant - Sails is amazing!
Lovely beach

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for 4 very spoiling nights at Almanara - in a luxury villa with amazing chef, waitress and maid. We feasted on lobster, calamari, gazpacho, home made samosas ...... Anything we wanted was served up for us beautifully. Stunning pool and fun at the beach for our kids with kite surfing lesson, boogie boards and beach combing. Sarah at the Spa does the best sports massages ever! We definitely want to return! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Who would have thought, tucked away on the East Coast of Africa would be this little gem. My boyfriend and I had never travelled to Africa, or Kenya before, so of course we were apprehensive about what to expect....but were more than pleasantly surprised.
We stayed in Villa 6, (one of the 6 executive villas) and it felt like a home from home right from the start. There was nothing the staff couldn't do for us, they accomodated our every need. The food was absolutely amazing, and having out own chef was something we got used to a little too easily.
The villas are set in lovely gardens, and nothing is too far away. The pool and the bar is perfect for soaking up the sun while enjoying a cocktail. There are lots of activities down on the beach too if you are looking for something more adventurous. We did wind surfing and body boarding which were great fun.
The beach itself is picturesque perfect, stunning white sand and crystal clear blue seas. You can also take a boat and go out to the reef and the sand bank for the morning....
We also took a couple of days to go on safari which was organised by our lovely hosts, so we got to see the best parts of Kenya in one trip
Can't wait for our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from six nights at Almanara and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The villa was perfect and the team looking after us - Dorcas, Boni and Emily - were delightful. Gemma and Jackie do a great job supervising everything and are very attentive without ever being in the way. Great food; a wonderful beach; lovely caring staff......what a simply great place to relax in luxury.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just returned from a glorious four days at Almanara and are already planning our next trip. Gorgeous gardens, bath-water warm pool, striking yet homey villas, stunning beach but most importantly, a wonderful group of people. The care and commitment of the Almanara team is tremendous - Jackie is so warm and welcoming it felt like seeing an old friend every time she stopped by; Ann's food is exquisite and her and Janet's smiles and laughs are infectious - Janet also looked after us from morning to night with such kindness; Mordy took such care to make our villa beautiful, always with a smile and incredible attention to detail; and Julius at the pool and by the beach is incredibly accommodating and chipper. I also have to mention Luke's fabulous food at Sails - everyone should try the crab au gratin, it is unreal. I cannot thank everyone sufficiently for making our stay so relaxed and special but thank you thank you thank you and see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback and review. It is so nice to hear all of the wonderful compliments towards those that looked after you. I will make sure i pass the comments on to each of them.

The girls in your villa be happy to hear they contributed to your experience. Jackie is also thrilled to read the review and hopes to see you back very soon. The Crab au Gratin will be on standby!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almanara Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.