We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“heaven on earth !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

our youngest son graduated from secundary school and as the family tradition wants,,the summer in between university , it was up to him to decide upon the family-holiday-destination.So ,as we've never been to Africa before, he'd chosen Kenya.
As we had friends living in Mombasa(diani beach)it was logical that we searched somehow in the neighbourhood.
We hate superbig touristic buildings with crowded beaches and crowds of loud people
so the website of waterlovers ,classified as an boutique hotel, lead us immediately into temptation.
A mail with the owner suggested that the best option for our family (parents and 3 grown up children 21/19/18 !) was the villa (room up to 8 people) with kitchen and 3 bathrooms.
they could even provide us with a cook ,if necessary.
So that was quickly decided and we haven't regretted for a second.
The friendly staff,the unique location,the fashionnable decoration,the cleanness,the delicious food and drinks and the very reasonnable prices made this holiday one never to forget... and we've had other superb holidays before!!!!!
a personnal contact with the owners (Ricardo and valentina Fortunato (what's in a name !!!!)) ande the ever so friendly staff made you feel immediatley like home and like heaven .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
Have a nice Christmas and happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

After reading the reviews on many resorts on the Kenyan coast near Mombasa we decided Waterlovers was the place to spend our honeymoon after Safari. From the initial email to Riccardo and Valentina enquiring about Waterlovers to the moment we left after staying for 6 glorious nights; Waterlovers has been perfect.

When the gates at the bottom of the short but bumpy path to Waterlovers opened my wife and I knew we were entering somewhere special. The welcome from Riccardo and Monique was warm and friendly and exactly in keeping with the ethos of the place. The cottage we stayed in was stunning in design and included everything you could ever want from air conditioning (Not needed), to the exquisite walk-in shower, to the simple but great water foot baths outside every cottage. It really felt that Riccardo and Valentina have taken all the small but great ideas experienced in different hotels around the world and combined them to amazing effect at Waterlovers.

The views offered by the hotel are stunning and when sitting on the swinging bed with swaying palm trees you would swear you were in the Caribbean. From the beautifully designed pool to the fantastic range of places to lounge and enjoy the sun or shade, Waterlovers has it all. WIth the beach being a mere six steps away from the edge of the hotel you have everything you could want in the one place.

Not only is the setting fantastic the staff are as well. From the simple greetings in the morning to the serving of your dinner, the staff really do give the impression of loving their job at the same time as trying to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. This makes for a refreshing change to the normal service given when in hotels back in Europe. Furthermore, Riccardo goes out of his way to speak to every guest at night and does so in a manner that makes you feel that you are more than just a paying guest.

Finally the food served in the restaurant is fantastic and enfuses Italian cooking with many local Swahili flavours and spices. Many of the dishes offered were unique in their taste and selection of ingredients. We also witnessed Riccardo bartering with a local fisherman for the sale of some Calamari so you know the ingredients are both fresh and sourced locally where possible. For those with less adventurous tastes or children with simpler palettes they offer a seperate menu and will endeavour to meet any requests made.

Waterlovers is one of the few places I have been in life where the reality exceeded my wildest expectations. Riccardo and Valentina along with their great staff have managed to create a beautiful boutique hotel that gives you the amazing homely feel. If I had one word to describe Waterlovers 'Paradise' would be the word I would choose.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
Have a nice Christmas and a great new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

"A little paradise" located on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Kenyan coast. We travelled quite a bit around the world (and Kenya) and Waterlovers is one of the best places we visited so far.
A great place to unwind and relax. Valentina and Riccardo managed to create a quite, romantic and intimate place where staying is a privilege. Beautiful furnished rooms, good food and a friendly local staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. In a scenery with the white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colourful local Kenyans. What more could you wish for………………like i said: “a little paradise”.
We hated to leave the place and we are certainly planning to go back.

Jet & Jack van Och
Eindhoven - Nederland

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

If you want to get away from it all and spend some time in beautiful, relaxed surroundings directly on the beach, Waterlovers it the place. The resort has only 8-9 spacious cabins, making it a small and personable place. The owners are Italian, so the food is far better than most places in the area.

It is also the place if you're into watersports. The owner himself goes kiting every afternoon, and you can rent boards and kites.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are booking because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We went to Diani Beach for Easter break and stayed at Waterlovers. The place was exactly what we expected: great service, great food, and perfect for a relaxing vacation. Each night the dining set up was different so that each guest could enjoy different views ranging from dining under the stars to dining on the "tower". The only thing we thought could be improved were the pillows and mattress, which were uncomfortable. The cottages were very well decorated with superior taste and quality. Overall, we had an amazing experience and would recommend this place over any other hotel in Diani Beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are booking because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and a happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I had a great time at Water Lovers. The place has a great beach, beautiful pool and rooms with a fantastic view of the sea.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas and New Year.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is the ultimate experience - wonderful, personalized service without the formality that sometimes comes along with it. Everything is built so tastefully, with incredible attention to detail and with respect for the nature emersing the buildings. Monkies live in the trees. The constant breeze makes this the perfect base both for beach vacations and water activities. The white sand is less hot than the typical beach sand and adds to the beach experience.

Ask the staff to teach you the local game of boa when you need a break from the sun. Go on the Pilli Pipa-excursion. I will never forget swimming with wild dolphins - ever! Also safaries are within close reach + there are direct flights to Nairobi, Masai Mara etc from Diani Beach.

staying at the place itself is an experience, adding the food, the staff, riccardo and valentina + the great activities within reach of the resort you have an unforgettable vacation ahead of you.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas and happu New Year.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small eco-friendly Hotel in the centre of Ukunda, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped (air conditioned, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, wi-fi internet, etc..). We also have a Restaurant, a Beach Bar and a Beach House and a parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.