We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount for July&Aug
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent the first part of our holidays on safari in Maasai Mara and the second part was booked on Diani beach.The hotel which was booked for us by the agency had this impersonal and little bit worn out look.So we checked the web for other place, found Waterlovers Beach Resort,had Ricardo on the phone and eventually moved there.

We loved the place from the first moment with stepped in.its a great family run boutique hotel with such a warm approach towards the customer and attention to detail.There are 8 cottages on the territory,each has a name of an African animal. We stayed in a cute rhino cottage with an actual carved rhino in our room.
The style of the hotel is what they call Afro chic and we loved every bit of - the specially carved bar tables, cozy chairs in shape of whale tail, the little pond with flowers for washing the sand of your feet right next to your porch.
The meals were very fresh with a nice touch of a local flavor. You could also choose your setting for dinner whether it is a terrace of the restaurant or the beach or the table by the sea.
There is a gift shop right on the territory of the hotel which has these personalized items that you fall in love with in the hotel- cute wooden turtle shaped coasters,wooden sugar bowls,nice beach towels and turquoise color cozy bathrobes.Much more original and unique than the stuff sold outside.
Thank you to Ricardo and Valentina for making our stay so special! We would definitely like to come back one day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks to you! Such a pleasure to have you here with us.
And the fact that you stepped out of another hotel in the area and stayed here at WL
is been a big compliment for us. Nice to read that you enjoyed the details,
because at the end... everyone can make a room with the bed, but it's the detail that you bring with you as a memory.... as the ones from our little shop.
Hope to have the privilege to host you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
167
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had an amazing stay at Waterlovers last month. The staff, location, rooms and weather were all fantastic! I wish I was there now enjoying a cocktail in the sun!
The food was brilliant, we had breakfast and lunch each day and then ate in for 3 evenings and ate out for 3 evenings, the managers recommended where we should go out to eat and booked our taxis.
There are a few comments on here about beach boys, yes they are there but we asked them to leave us alone on our first day and weren't bothered again!
Hope to be able to go back again one day and visit Riccardo, Valentina and the team.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write these beautifull words for us.
We can see that you're a senior contributor to TA, therefore your appreciation is well kept in consideration.
Hope to have the chance to meet you again.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely 4 days at Waterlovers last week. We had been recommended a number of hotels in Diani by friends and shortlisted this with one other. We are so happy (relieved) that we chose this one. We went to visit the other one day for lunch, it was much larger and felt far less personal. Waterlovers is just the right size with an intimate boutiquey feel. The owners have done an amazing job, creating a real oasis in one of the best positions on the beach (other parts further down are more rocky / have more seaweed washing ashore).
This is a lovely destination for couples and young families (the owners live onsite with their young family, which adds to the family feel).
I can't recommend Waterlovers enough and would happily go back!! You will find other cheaper options, but you get what you pay for here and I think I would have been disappointed with myself for trying to save money elsewhere!
Hats off to Riccardo, Valentina, the management and staff- you are doing a really great job!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks for choosing us, It was really nice meeting you.
The family feel is there for all our guests, since we're happy to include them in the big family of the Waterlovers friends. How cool to see you enjoying the place like a home away from home.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed staying here very much. Two adults and one 4 year old boy, no shoes for a week, Beach, pool and food all high quality and very easy.
If you like kitesurfing its the ideal place to learn and improve.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for these enthusiastic words.
It was really a pleasure to meet you.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were at Waterlovers this time last week and had such a great time following a safari. Waterlovers is the perfect place to relax, the staff were fantastic as was the quality of the food. Riccardo, Valentina and Lucca all made as feel very welcome. Pete Courtis

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking the time post this wonderfull comment.
It's been a priviledge to meet you and to host you here.
Hope to have the pleasure to see you again.
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and as other reviewers have mentioned, this is a beautiful property where everything is really well thought out and well laid out with great attention to detail for a couples getaway. The sand is fine and powdery white almost like snow, the water is turquoise and clear, and the architecture is distinctly African in the best way. Riccardo and Valentina are very friendly and do a great job of being open to any requests and try to go out of their way to accommodate their guests. Most of the staff here are very warm, kind, and go to great lengths to make you comfortable. The rooms are perfect, and the whole resort is well designed to make it feel like a private getaway even when it is full. There are plenty of different beach chairs and places to sit down when eating to give the experience plenty of variety. It is in fact so easy to be out of the other guests' way that I wished there was more social interaction between the guests. But I realize this can be hard while trying to create a private experience, particularly with the age and cultural variations of their guests. Despite what is mentioned in the other reviews, there are actually plenty of activities that one can take part in, and they provide you the necessary information but do not force anything on you. But if you inquire, you will not run out of interesting things to do for at least 2 weeks. You can take a kayak out to the sandy bar during low tide and explore the surrounding reefs, which, while a bit battered from people casually walking on them during low tide, holds a good variety of marine life. Kitesurfing is also very good and popular here. The food was above average, but nothing to write home about. We are vegetarians, and there was an extensive vegetarian menu but some of the items, although interesting, did not taste great. In the end, we found that sticking to the standard items was a better bet than going for the exotic ones, which hit or miss. The Italian representation is a bit heavy on the menu, and it would be good to see other types of foods (Thai, Greek, etc.). The drinks were not good, although we only tried once so maybe it was an aberration. The place is a bit expensive for what you get compared to similar places I've stayed in (especially the food), but they are a small business with great service, so I think it's worth paying the extra to have what feels like your own private property on a beautiful stretch of Diani Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
It was really nice meeting you.
Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a nice feedback, and for your precious
suggestions , we like to listen to the point of view of our guest in order to improve our service for them.
Hope to have the chance to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

On short notice we spent a week here in early January and completely loved it. This is a family, designed, built and run resort and you really feel welcome. The rest of the staff (including excellent mangers and director) feel like an extension of that family and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We spent a good deal of time at the resort (but there was plenty of things we could have done if the beach, pool and service ever got boring!). Although not massive, we never ran out of things to do and then the Indian ocean (which was almost bath hot) was right on the doorstep...

We know where to stay the next time we are on the Kenyan coast

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floors of the villas have a slightly lager (and more private feeling) balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
... and our genuine hospitality is there for you anytime you decide to come back to Kenya.
This is your home away from home when you wish to come back.
No words to thank you enough for your pleasant stay here and your nice comment
All the best from
Valentina Riccardo Luca and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and Mp3 docking station, complimentary I-Pads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone and local line, private security 24/7 etc... The boutique hotel fitures also a Spa, a small artcraft shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...Leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.